Department of Asian Studies
Department of Asian Studies
Search for people

Core Faculty


Photo of Yukie Aida

Yukie Aida

Senior Lecturer

aiday@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6049 |
WCH 5.110

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Japanese language pedagogy / students beliefs about their own language performances

Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Professor

asdar@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7531, 471-3550 |
SAC 5.126

Education: Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Joel Brereton

Joel Brereton

Professor

jpb@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6024 |
WCH 4.122

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Sanskrit; Religious studies, Asian religions, Vedic studies

Photo of Kirsten Cather

Kirsten Cather

Associate Professor

kcather@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-0031 |
WCH 4.112

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: modern Japanese literature and film; censorship, suicide, and death in modern Japan; adaptations; translation theory and practice

Photo of Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Lecturer

elsa.chang@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6041 |
WCH 5.116

Education: MA, Univeristy of Texas at Austin

Interests: Chinese language

Photo of Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Professor

yvonne@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6036 |
WCH 4.124

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Chinese film and literature

Photo of Jeanette C Chen

Jeanette C Chen

Lecturer

jeanettechen@utexas.edu |
512-475-6041 |
WCH 5.116

Interests: Languages

Photo of Chikako H Cooke

Chikako H Cooke

Lecturer

hirayama_cooke@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1843 |
WCH 5.136

Interests: pedagogy

Photo of Donald R Davis

Donald R Davis

Associate Professor

drdj@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7921 |
WCH 4.114

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Sanskrit; Dharmaśāstra; Law and Religion; Medieval India; Malayalam

Photo of Oliver Freiberger

Oliver Freiberger

Associate Professor

of@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8239 |
WCH 4.104A

Education: Ph.D., Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany

Interests: Indian Buddhism | asceticism | comparison in the study of religion

Photo of Shahnaz Hassan

Shahnaz Hassan

Lecturer

snzhasan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-0304 |
WCH Hindi Urdu Flagship 4.104F

Education: B.A., University of the Punjab

Interests: Urdu Language and Literature

Photo of Junko Hatanaka

Junko Hatanaka

Lecturer

jhatanaka@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6042 |
WCH 5.124

Education: MA in Japanese, MS in Rhetoric and Technical Communications, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Michigan Technological University

Photo of Heather Hindman

Heather Hindman

Associate Professor

h.hindman@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-1667 |
WCH 4.104G

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Critical development, entrepreneurialism, expatriate communities, social theory, global labor and gender

Photo of Camilla H Hsieh

Camilla H Hsieh

Senior Lecturer

camilla@utexas.edu |
512-475-6046 |
WCH 5.132

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas

Interests: Chinese language pedagogy

S. Akbar Hyder

Associate Professor

syedakbarhyder@gmail.com |
512-475-6031 |
WCH 4.104E

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Islam in South Asia, Urdu language and literature, Aesthetics in South Asian and the Middle East.

Photo of Amy Hyne-Sutherland

Amy Hyne-Sutherland

Sanskrit Lecturer

amyhyne@gmail.com |
WCH 5.126

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Akemi Katayama

Lecturer

akataya@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6043 |
WCH 5.126

Education: MA, 2012, MA, 1996, The University of Alberta, Portland State University

Interests: Second language acquisition and language pedagogy

Boyoung Kim

Faculty

boyoung@utexas.edu |
WCH 5.138

Education: Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

Photo of Chiu-Mi Lai

Chiu-Mi Lai

Distinguished Senior Lecturer

cmlai@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5811 (DEPT.) |
WCH 5.112

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Janice Leoshko

Associate Professor

jleoshko@austin.utexas.edu |
232-2581 |
DFA 2.130

Education: Ph.D., Ohio State University

Interests: South and Southeast Asian art history and Buddhist art

Photo of Yi-Chun Lin

Yi-Chun Lin

Lecturer

yichunlin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6042 |
WCH 5.124

Education: M.A., Graduate Institute of Teaching Chinese as a Second Language, National Taiwan Normal University.

Photo of Claire Maes

Claire Maes

Faculty

claire.maes@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7965 |
WCH 5.104C

Interests: Indian Buddhism; Jainism; Monasticism

Photo of Darsana Manayathu Sasi

Darsana Manayathu Sasi

Lecturer

darsana@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6043 |
WCH 5.126

Education: PhD in Malayalam Literature, University of Kerala

Youjeong Oh

Assistant Professor

youjeong@utexas.edu |
512-475-6032 |
WCH 5.120A

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Urban processes in Korea and East Asia; Korean popular culture; Gender and space

Photo of Robert M Oppenheim

Robert M Oppenheim

Associate Professor

rmo@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7279 |
WCH 5.134

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Korean anthropology and history; science/tech/society; heritage; objects/materiality; history of anthropology

Photo of Kyung Park

Kyung Park

Senior Lecturer

pkyung@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6045 |
WCH 5.130

Education: MA, Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea

Interests: Korean Language

Photo of Sang-Hoon Park

Sang-Hoon Park

Lecturer

shoony@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6045 |
WCH 5.130

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Sankaran Radhakrishnan

Sankaran Radhakrishnan

Senior Lecturer

radha@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6048 |
WCH 5.103

Education: Ph.D., Annamalai University

Interests: Tamil language (modern and classical) and literatures (modern and classical); south Indian culture/history; Tamil teaching/learning material production

Photo of Tomoko Sakuma

Tomoko Sakuma

Lecturer

t.sakuma@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6041 |
WCH 5.136

Education: Ph. D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Martha Selby

Martha Selby

Professor

mas@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6040 |
WCH 4.134A

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Representations of women, birth, and disease in classical Indian medicine. Sanskrit poetry and poetics, Prakrit and Old Tamil poetry, and Sanskrit medical literature.

Gautami Shah

Senior Lecturer

gshah@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6033 |
WCH 4.104GA

Education: M.S., Purdue University

Interests: Language pedagogy (Hindi); Contemporary South Asian literature with a focus on communal conflicts, gender issues, caste, religion and immigrant experiences; Curriculum development; Innovative use of technology in language teaching; Program development; Less commonly taught languages

Photo of Ahmed Shamim

Ahmed Shamim

Faculty

ahmedshamim@utexas.edu |
5.114

Education: MA in Linguistics, Graduate Center, City University of New York

Photo of Jishnu Shankar

Jishnu Shankar

Senior Lecturer

jshankar@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1219 |
WCH 4.104B

Education: Doctorate, Syracuse University

Interests: Aghor Tradition of India; Comparing Religious Practices in South Asian Traditions

Photo of Nancy K. Stalker

Nancy K. Stalker

Associate Professor

nancy.stalker@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6044 |
WCH 4.130

Education: Ph.D., 2002, Stanford University

Interests: 20th-century cultural history, new religious movements, gender

Photo of Naoko Suito

Naoko Suito

Senior Lecturer

n.suito@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6029 |
WCH 4.110

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas

Interests: Japanese language; Curriculum and Instruction, Instructional Technology

Photo of Cynthia Talbot

Cynthia Talbot

Associate Professor

ctalbot@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-7229 |
GAR 3.406

Education: PhD, 1988, University of Wisconsin at Madison

Interests: Medieval and early modern history of South Asia

Photo of Midori Tanaka

Midori Tanaka

Lecturer

midori@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7104 |
WCH 5.138

Education: MA, University of Oregon

Interests: Japanese language and linguistics; pedagogy

Photo of Wen-Hua Teng

Wen-Hua Teng

Senior Lecturer

whteng@utexas.edu |
512-475-6047 |
WCH 5.128

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Pedagogical grammar of Chinese; curriculum design; technology-enhanced CFL pedagogy

Photo of Chien-hsin Tsai

Chien-hsin Tsai

Assistant Professor

tsai@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1302 |
WCH 5.104B

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Affiliate Faculty


Photo of Indrani Chatterjee

Indrani Chatterjee

Professor

ichatterjee@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7252 |
GAR 3.412

Education: Ph.D., History, 1996, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Lalitha Gopalan

Associate Professor

lalitha.gopalan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4071 |
CMA 6.118

Photo of Sumit Guha

Sumit Guha

Professor

sguha@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7236 |
GAR 2.140

Education: Ph.D., History, 1981, University of Cambridge

Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Associate Professor; Department of History

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9303 |
GAR 3.106

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Asian American studies, migration, transnationalism, and ethnic studies

Shanti Kumar

Associate Professor

shantikumar@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-3498 |
CMA 5.124

Education: Ph.D., Indiana University-Bloomington

Photo of Huaiyin Li

Huaiyin Li

Professor, Director of Center for East Asian Studies

hli@utexas.edu |
512-475-7910 |
GAR 3.202

Education: Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Los Angeles

Interests: Modern Chinese history; Contemporary Chinese economy, society, and politics; imperial China; gender and family; agrarian studies; Chinese culture and religions; and comparative studies of development and globalization.

Photo of Patricia Maclachlan

Patricia Maclachlan

Associate Professor

pmaclachlan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1724 |
BAT 3.150

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Interest group behavior in Japan; Japanese postal politics and reform; consumerism in advanced industrial democracies; comparative political institutions.

Madhavi Mallapragada

Assisant Professor

madhavim@austin.utexas.edu |
512 471 9239 |
CMA 5.148

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of Mark Metzler

Mark Metzler

Professor

mmetzler@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7262 |
GAR 3.404

Education: Ph.D., 1998, University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Paula Newberg

Paula Newberg

Professor

pnewberg@austin.utexas.edu |
232-7270 |
BATS 4.102

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Stephen Phillips

Stephen Phillips

Professor

stephen_phillips@utexas.edu |
512-471-5080 |
WAG 301

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Indian Philosophy; philosophy of religion; theory of value

Emeritus or Retired


Photo of James Brow

James Brow

Professor Emeritus

jbrow@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Photo of Kathryn Hansen

Kathryn Hansen

Professor Emerita

kgh@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6035 |
WCH 5.104A

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Temple Professor Emeritus of the Humanities in Government and Asian Studies

rlh@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Edeltraud Harzer

Edeltraud Harzer

Senior Lecturer (retired)

harzer@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Interests: Sanskrit, Indian philosophy and literature, Material culture

Photo of Robert King

Robert King

Professor Emeritus

rking@austin.utexas.edu |
512-923-3502 |
CAL 507

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Interests: Sociolinguistics of India

Richard W Lariviere

Professor Emeritus

rwlariviere@ku.edu |
471-4141 |
GEB 3.200

Interests: Sanskrit

Photo of Gail Minault

Gail Minault

Professor Emerita

gminault@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7214 |
GAR 3.118

Education: Ph.D., 1972, University of Pennsylvania

Interests: History of India and Pakistan; women's history, history of Islamic art

Photo of Rodney Moag

Rodney Moag

Associate Prof Emeritus

rmoag@mail.utexas.edu

Photo of Patrick Olivelle

Patrick Olivelle

Professor Emeritus

jpo@uts.cc.utexas.edu |
512-475-6032 |
WCH 5.120A

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Sanskrit; Ancient Indian religious history

Photo of Herman Van Olphen

Herman Van Olphen

Professor Emeritus

hvo@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Hindi Language and linguistics; language and nationalism