Program in Comparative Literature
Search for people

Professors


Photo of Katherine Arens

Katherine Arens

Professor of Germanic Studies and Women's and Gender Studies

arens@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-6363 |
BUR 320

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: 18th-21st century literature, Romanticism, cultural history, aesthetics, philosophy, theory, post-structuralism, critical discourse theory, psychology, feminist theory

Photo of Daniela Bini

Daniela Bini

Professor of Italian and Comparative Literature

bini@mail.utexas.edu |
471-5995 |
HRH 2.122

Education: PhD, University of Texas, Austin

Photo of Douglas G. Biow

Douglas G. Biow

Professor of French and Italian, Director of the Center for European Studies

biow@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7267 |
HRH 2.110B

Photo of Marc Bizer

Marc Bizer

Professor, French Studies

mbizer@utexas.edu |
512-471-7780 |
HRH 3.112B

Education: PhD, Princeton University

Interests: Nascent French identities: national, social, religious, authorial, gendered; tragedy and the tragic

Photo of Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Professor in Asian Studies

yvonne@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-6036 |
WCH 4.124

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Photo of Ann Cvetkovich

Ann Cvetkovich

Professor of English

cvet@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8374 |
PAR 323

Education: Ph.D., 1988, Cornell University

Photo of Héctor Domínguez-Ruvalcaba

Héctor Domínguez-Ruvalcaba

Professor of the Department of Spanish and Portuguese

ruvalcaba@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder

Photo of Alan W Friedman

Alan W Friedman

Professor of English

friedman@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8376 |
CAL 214

Education: Ph.D., 1966, University of Rochester

Photo of Sabine Hake

Sabine Hake

Professor of Germanic Studies

hake@austin.utexas.edu |
232-6379 |
BUR 332

Education: Ph.D., University of Hannover, Germany

Ernest Kaulbach

Professor of English

ekaulbach@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8365 |
CAL 17

Education: Ph.D., 1970, Cornell University

Photo of Naomi Lindstrom

Naomi Lindstrom

Gale Family Foundation Professor in Jewish Arts and Culture

lindstrom@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471.4936 |
BEN 4.144

Education: Ph. D., Arizona State University

Carol H MacKay

Professor of English

mackay@mail.utexas.edu |
471-8970 |
PAR 221

Education: Ph.D., 1979, University of California Los Angeles

Photo of Lisa L Moore

Lisa L Moore

Professor of English and Women's and Gender Studies

llmoore@austin.utexas.edu |
471-4991 |
PAR 108

Education: Ph.D., 1991, Cornell University

Photo of Wayne A Rebhorn

Wayne A Rebhorn

Celanese Centennial Professor, Department of English

warebhorn@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8759 |
PAR 328

Education: Ph.D., 1968, Yale University

Photo of Martha Selby

Martha Selby

Professor and Chair, Department of Asian Studies

mas@austin.utexas.edu |
475-6040 |
WCH 4.134A

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Jeffrey Walker

Jeffrey Walker

Professor & Chair, Department of Rhetoric & Writing

jswalker@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8744 |
PAR 3

Education: Ph.D., 1985, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: rhetorical theory, history of rhetoric, ancient rhetoric, rhetoric and poetics, modern rhetoric and literature

Photo of Alexandra K Wettlaufer

Alexandra K Wettlaufer

Professor of French

akw@austin.utexas.edu |
471-1442, 471-7289 |
CLA 2.102, HRH 3.104C

Education: PhD, Columbia University

Interests: 19th-century literature, visual arts, culture, and gender studies in France and Britain

Photo of Hannah C Wojciehowski

Hannah C Wojciehowski

Professor of English

gemelli@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8768 |
PAR 230

Education: Ph.D., 1984, Yale University

Interests: the history of subjectivity; group identity formation; globalization and transculturation; sixteenth-century travel literature; cognitive criticism; women writers in early modern Europe;

Photo of Marjorie Curry Woods

Marjorie Curry Woods

Blumberg Centennial Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Professor

marjoriewoods@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8383 |
CAL 301

Education: Ph.D., U. of Toronto

Interests: medieval literature; medieval and renaissance rhetoric and pedagogy; composition exercises in the premodern classroom; modern use of premodern compostion exercises

Associate Professors


Photo of Omoniyi Afolabi

Omoniyi Afolabi

Associate Professor of the Department of African and African Diaspora Studies

afolabi@austin.utexas.edu |
232-4510 |
BEN 3.110

Education: Ph.D, Luso-Brazilian Studies, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Lusophone Atlantic Triangle; Yoruba Diaspora Studies; Afro-Brazilian Cultural Studies; Lusophone African Literature; Comparative African Diaspora Studies; Latin American Cultural Studies

Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Associate Professor of Middle Eastern Studies

asdar@austin.utexas.edu |
471-7531, 471-3550 |
EPS 1.116

Education: Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Jason Borge

Jason Borge

Associate Professor of Latin American Film and Literature

jason.borge@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Pascale Bos

Pascale Bos

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages

pascalebos@austin.utexas.edu |
232-6373 |
BUR 314

Education: Ph.D. Comparative Literature, University of Minnesota (Twin Cities)

Interests: 20th-century Comparative Western European and US literature; cultural studies, gender and memory, autobiography, Holocaust (history/culture/literature), sexual violence in armed conflict

Photo of Matt Cohen

Matt Cohen

Associate Professor of English

matt.cohen@utexas.edu |
919 656-6364 |
PAR 20

Education: Ph.D., 2002, College of William and Mary

Photo of Tarek El-Ariss

Tarek El-Ariss

Associate Professor of Arabic and Comparative Literature

tarek.elariss@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8291 |
CAL 402

Education: Ph.D - 2004, Cornell

Interests: Contemporary Arabic Literature, Film, and Media; Arabic popular culture and new literary genres; 19th- and 20th-century Arabic travel writing; Translation studies and Post-structuralism

Photo of Alison K. Frazier

Alison K. Frazier

Associate Professor of History

akfrazier@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6375 |
GAR 2.109

Education: Ph.D., 1997, Columbia University

Photo of Thomas Garza

Thomas Garza

University Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor of Slavic and Eurasian Studies

tjgarza@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3607 |
BUR 458

Education: Ed.D., Harvard University, 1987

Interests: Russian language teaching methodology/Applied linguistics/Contemporary Russian culture/The Chechen wars and the media/Post-Soviet youth culture/Language teaching pedagogy/Russian popular culture/Modern Russian language/Contemporary Russian media

Photo of John Morán González

John Morán González

Director, Center for Mexican American Studies; Associate Professor, Department of English

jmgonzal@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-8117 |
PAR 321

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Latino/a Literature; Chicano/a Literature; Late Nineteenth-Century American Literature; Narrative Theory; Postcolonial Studies

Photo of Karen Grumberg

Karen Grumberg

Associate Professor of Middle Eastern Studies

keren@austin.utexas.edu |
471-5134 |
WMB 6.116

Education: Ph.D.- 2004, University of California- Los Angeles

Photo of Michael P Harney

Michael P Harney

Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese

harney@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4936 |
BEN 3.148

Education: Ph.D.-Comparative Literature, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Comparative literature, literary theory, cultural theory. Medieval & Early Modern literature. Film and media.

Photo of Geraldine Heng

Geraldine Heng

Associate Professor of English

heng@austin.utexas.edu |
471-7480 |
PAR 213

Education: Ph.D., Cornell University

Photo of Neville Hoad

Neville Hoad

Associate Professor of English

nhoad@mail.utexas.edu |
PAR 215

Education: Ph.D., 1998, Columbia University

S. Akbar Hyder

Associate Professor of Asian Studies and Islamic Studies

syedakbarhyder@gmail.com |
475-6031 |
WCH 4.134

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of David Kornhaber

David Kornhaber

Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature; Graduate Adviser, Program in Comparative Literature

david.kornhaber@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8712 |
PAR 22

Education: Ph.D., 2009, Columbia University

Interests: Modern and contemporary drama, intersections of theatre and philosophy, critical theory, modernism and the avant-garde

Wayne Lesser

Associate Professor of English

lesser@mail.utexas.edu |
471-8754 |
PAR 108

Education: Ph.D., 1975, University of Chicago

Photo of Keith Livers

Keith Livers

Associate Professor of Russian

kalivers@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9128 |
CAL 5

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Photo of Gabriela Polit

Gabriela Polit

Faculty

gabriela@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Guy P Raffa

Associate Professor of Italian

guyr@utexas.edu |
512-232-5492 |
HRH 3.104A

Education: PhD, Indiana University

Interests: Dante Studies, medieval Italian literature and culture, digital humanities, history and philosophy of science, Italo Calvino and Umberto Eco

Photo of Cory A Reed

Cory A Reed

Associate Professor of Spanish

creed@austin.utexas.edu |
BEN 4.140

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests: Cervantes, Spanish Drama, Early Modern Mediterranean World, Transatlantic Studies, Cognitive Studies, and Comparative Literature

Photo of Peter Rehberg

Peter Rehberg

Adjunct Associate Professor

rehberg@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D. Dept. of Germanic Languages and Literatures, New York University

Photo of Elizabeth Richmond-Garza

Elizabeth Richmond-Garza

Associate Professor; Director, Program in Comparative Literature

emrg@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-5708 |
PAR 119

Education: Ph.D., 1992, Columbia University

Interests: Nineteenth and twentieth century European drama, Renaissance drama, Oscar Wilde, the Gothic and Orientalism, Decadence, Aesthetic and literary theory, literature and the fine arts

Photo of Sonia Roncador

Sonia Roncador

Associate Professor of Brazilian Literature and Culture

roncador@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.4525 |
BEN 3.132

Education: Ph. D., New York University

Photo of César A. Salgado

César A. Salgado

Associate Professor of Latin American and Comparative Literature

cslgd@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.4517 |
BEN 3.140

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of Snehal Shingavi

Snehal Shingavi

Faculty

snehal.shingavi@utexas.edu |
512-471-8114 |
PAR 29

Education: Ph.D., 2009, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Anglophone South Asian literature, Hindi/Urdu literature, Literature in Translation and Translation Theory, Theories of “the nation” (anticolonialism, nationalism, statism, postcolonialism, postnationalism, cosmopolitanism, globalization, transnationalism, internationalism), Classical Marxism

Photo of Lynn R Wilkinson

Lynn R Wilkinson

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages

lrw@austin.utexas.edu |
232-6370 |
BUR 360

Education: Ph.D. Comparative Literature, University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Jennifer M. Wilks

Jennifer M. Wilks

Associate Professor of English and African American Studies

jmwilks@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471.8702 |
PAR 329

Education: Ph.D., 2003, Cornell University

Helena Woodard

Associate Professor of English

hwood@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8703 |
PAR 331

Education: Ph.D., 1991, English, University of North Carolina

Assistant Professors


Photo of Blake Atwood

Blake Atwood

Assistant Professor

atwood@austin.utexas.edu |
CAL 406

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Middle Eastern Cinema, Film and Technology, Film Historiography

Photo of Michael Pesenson

Michael Pesenson

Assistant Professor of Russian and Eurasian Studies

mpesenson@utexas.edu |
232-9132 |
CAL 404

Education: Ph.D, Yale University

Photo of Chien-hsin Tsai

Chien-hsin Tsai

Assistant Professor of Chinese

tsai@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1302 |
WCH 5.104B

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Professors Emeriti


Photo of Aaron Bar-Adon

Aaron Bar-Adon

Professor of Middle Eastern Studies

bar-adon@austin.utexas.edu |
471-3594 |
WMB 6.132

Education: Ph.D., Hebrew University

Photo of Mohammad Ghanoonparvar

Mohammad Ghanoonparvar

Professor Emeritus of Persian and Comparative Literature

mrghanoonparvar@utexas.edu |
475-6605 |
WMB 5.132

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas- Austtin

Dina M Sherzer

Professor Emerita of French and Comparative Literature

dsherzer@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph. D., University of Pennsylvania

Photo of Janet K Swaffar

Janet K Swaffar

Professor Emerita of Germanic Studies and Comparative Literature

jswaffar@austin.utexas.edu |
232-6376 |
BUR 318

Education: Ph.D., German, University of Wisconsin (Madison)

Interests: German literature post 1945, German media, applications of literary theory to reading and writing in a foreign language, foreign language acquisition and advanced learners

Photo of Seth Wolitz

Seth Wolitz

L. D., Marie and Edwin Gale Chair Emeritus of Judaic Studies and Professor Emeritus of French, Slavic, Jewish Studies, and Comparative Literature

slwolitz@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-5531 |
HRH 3.114A

Education: Ph.D., Yale University