Department of English
Photo collage of recent graduates

2017 Academic Career Launches

Fri, Jul 21, 2017




2017 English Faculty Award Winners

2017 Faculty Teaching Awards

Mon, Jun 26, 2017






Keith on graduation day

Documentary Film Director Keith Maitland's 2017 English Department Convocation Speech

Hook 'Em!

Tue, May 23, 2017

Keith Maitland, Director and Producer of Tower, and a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin, gave the English department's 2017 convocation speech on Friday, May 19.


Christina Breitbeil

Christina Breitbeil Wins J.J. Pickle Citizenship Award

Plan II Major Wins Prestigious Award for Service

Fri, May 12, 2017

Plan II major Christina Breitbeil has won the J.J. Pickle Citizenship Award for her contributions to campus life.




Professor Wayne Rebhorn

Wayne Rebhorn Wins Chad Oliver Teaching Award

Congratulations Professor Rebhorn!

Fri, Apr 28, 2017





Barry Maxwell, Life Changer

Barry Maxwell Awarded “Best Life Changer” by the Austin Chronicle

UT English Student Recognized by the Austin Chronicle

Fri, Dec 2, 2016



Professor David Kornhaber

Professor David Kornhaber has a New Book on Nietzsche and Modern Drama

The Birth of Theater from the Spirit of Philosophy: Nietzsche and the Modern Drama

Fri, Oct 21, 2016

David Kornhaber, Assistant Professor of English and Comparative Literature has a new book from Northwest University Press.


Thomas Whitbread

Remembering Thomas Whitbread

UT English mourns the passing of a beloved writer and friend

Fri, Oct 14, 2016

The world lost a great poet and friend on October 1.


Deb Olin Unferth

Deb Unferth and Karan Mahajan Recognized by American Short Fiction

Thu, Oct 13, 2016

Mark your calendars for a great event November 3 at the Zilker Clubhouse recognizing two Michener Center writers.


Will & Jane is open through November at the Folger Shakespeare Library

Exhibition Curated by Professor Janine Barchas opens at the Folger Shakespeare Library

Will & Jane opens in Washington, D.C.

Tue, Aug 30, 2016

Professor Janine Barchas has co-curated a unique exhibition that brings William Shakespeare and Jane Austen together in one space.



Faculty Teaching Awards 2016

2016 Faculty Teaching Awards

Mon, Aug 1, 2016