Department of Geography and the Environment
Search for people

Professor


Photo of Paul C. Adams

Paul C. Adams

Professor

paul.adams@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1599 |
CLA 3.410

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Place Images in the Media, Technologically-Mediated Gathering, Topologies of Communication, Geopolitical Discourses, Formation of Subjectivity

Photo of Eugenio Arima

Eugenio Arima

Assistant Professor

arima@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-0714 |
CLA 3.416

Education: Ph.D., Michigan State University

Interests: Human-environment interactions, land change science, GIS/Science, applied quantitative methods, Latin America.

Photo of Timothy Beach

Timothy Beach

Professor - C. B. Smith, Sr., Centennial Chair

beacht@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-2064 |
CLA 3.306

Education: Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Interests: Geoarchaeology, Soil Geomorphology, and Paleoenvironments of the Maya World and Mediterranean

Photo of Kelley A. Crews

Kelley A. Crews

Associate Professor & Graduate Advisor

kelley@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.424

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Interests: Muddy Boots Remote Sensing, Land Change Science, & Healthy Socio-ecological Systems in Developing States

Photo of William E. Doolittle

William E. Doolittle

Professor - Erich W. Zimmermann Regents Professor in Geography

dolitl@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 3.704

Education: Ph.D., University of Oklahoma

Photo of Caroline Faria

Caroline Faria

Assistant Professor

cvfaria@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 3.414

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington, WA

Interests: Feminist political and economic geographies; feminist methodologies; Africa and the African diaspora

Photo of Gregory W. Knapp

Gregory W. Knapp

Associate Professor and Director, Sustainability Studies

gwk@utexas.edu |
512.232.1588 |
CLA 3.712

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison

Interests: Adaptive dynamics, cultural landscapes, archaeology, and sustainability of Andean agriculture; regional identities, ethnogeography, linguistic geography and ethnic territoriality; mapping; modernization as contextualized in historical cultural ecology and feminist political ecology; history of geographic thought; Latin America.

Photo of Edgardo M. Latrubesse

Edgardo M. Latrubesse

Professor

latrubesse@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 3.418

Education: Ph.D., National University of San Luis, Argentina

Interests: Fluvial Geomorphology, Latin America, mega-geomorphology, paleogeography, river management

Photo of Sheryl Luzzadder-Beach

Sheryl Luzzadder-Beach

Professor and Chair; Fellow of the C.B. Smith, Sr. Centennial Chair in United States - Mexico Relations #2

slbeach@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1583 |
CLA 3.718

Education: Ph.D., University of Minnesota-Minneapolis

Interests: Geoarchaeology; Hydrology and Water Quality; Geomorphology; Spatial Statistics; Gender, Science, and Human Rights; Mesoamerica; Mediterranean and Near East; Iceland.

Photo of Jennifer A. Miller

Jennifer A. Miller

Associate Professor, Honors Advisor, Director of GIScience Center, Associated Faculty, Department of Statistics and Data Sciences

jennifer.miller@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1587 (prefer contact through email) |
CLA 3.428

Education: Ph.D., San Diego State University/UC-Santa Barbara

Interests: GIScience, Movement pattern analysis, Spatial statistics, Biogeography

Photo of Carlos E. Ramos Scharrón

Carlos E. Ramos Scharrón

Assistant Professor

cramos@austin.utexas.edu |
512/232-2067 |
CLA 3.406

Education: Ph.D., Colorado State University

Interests: Hydro-geomorphology; terrestrial carbon and sediment budgets; watershed analyses; land use change

Photo of Rebecca M. Torres

Rebecca M. Torres

Associate Professor

rebecca.torres@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 3.426

Education: Ph.D., University of California at Davis

Interests: Migration, Rural Development, Agriculture, Gender, Tourism, Activist Scholarship

Photo of Kenneth R. Young

Kenneth R. Young

Professor

kryoung@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8311 |
CLA 3.422

Education: Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder

Interests: Biogeography; Landscape Ecology; Climate Change; Sustainability; Tropical Environments

Senior Lecturers


Photo of Troy M. Kimmel Jr.

Troy M. Kimmel Jr.

Senior Lecturer

tkimmel@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1590 |
CLA 3.412

Education: B.S., Texas A&M University

Interests: Broadcast meteorology; Severe/inclement weather forecasting; Aviation meteorology

Lecturers


Photo of Erick Akins

Erick Akins

Lecturer

eakins@alamo.edu |
471-5116

Interests: Non-Profit Management; Grant Research, Development and Writing; Grant Management; Policy Development and Community Development

Photo of Jules R. Elkins

Jules R. Elkins

Lecturer

jules@austin.utexas.edu |
n/a

Education: Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Photo of Rich Heyman

Rich Heyman

Lecturer

heyman@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 3.404

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Interests: Cultural Geography, Urban Geography, Critical Theory and Marxism, History of Geography, Pedagogy, Public Space

Photo of Donald J. Huebner

Donald J. Huebner

Lecturer

djhuebner@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: American Southwest, Desert and Mountain Environments, Coastal Environments, Surveying, GIS

Photo of Bella B. Jordan

Bella B. Jordan

Lecturer

belka@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9127 |
Department of Slavic Languages and Literature, BUR 470

Education: Ph.D., UT Austin

Photo of Thoralf Meyer

Thoralf Meyer

Lecturer

meyer@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 3.402, also SAC 4.160

Education: Ph.D., University of Virginia

Photo of Molly Polk

Molly Polk

Associate Director of Sustainability Studies and Lecturer

mollypolk@utexas.edu |
512-232-6892 |
CLA 3.430

Education: Ph.D. in Geography, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Land Change Science, Sustainability, Mountain Geography, Human Dimensions of Global Change, Landscape Ecology, Conservation

Photo of Jayme Walenta

Jayme Walenta

Lecturer

jwalenta@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.422

Education: Ph.D., University of British Columbia

Interests: Economic Geography, Feminist Geography, Environment and Business Relations

Research Fellows


Photo of Samia Aquino da Silva

Samia Aquino da Silva

Lab Tech II

samia@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1596 |
CLA 3.510

Education: PhD, Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brasil

Interests: Fluvial Geomorphology, Environmental Dynamics, Amazon Fluvial Basin

Photo of Elisabeth K Butzer

Elisabeth K Butzer

Research Fellow

Photo of David Guillet

David Guillet

Research Fellow

Education: Ph.D. Anthropolgy, University of Texas

Photo of Blanca León

Blanca León

Research Fellow

leon@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6159 |
Plant Resources Center, Main Building Rm 127, 110 Inner Campus Drive Stop F0404

Education: Ph.D., Aarhus University, Denmark

Interests: biogeography, plant conservation

Professor Emeriti


Photo of Alfred W. Crosby Jr.

Alfred W. Crosby Jr.

Professor Emeritus of Geography, History, and American Studies

crosby@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1961, Boston University

Photo of Robin Doughty

Robin Doughty

Professor Emeritus

rdoughty@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 3.502

Education: Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Interests: Cultural Geography; Environmental Resource Management; Landscape Ecology and Biogeography

Photo of Robert Holz

Robert Holz

Professor Emeritus

Education: Ph.D., 1963, Geography, Michigan State University

Photo of Ian Manners

Ian Manners

Professor Emeritus

imanners@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Oxford University

Photo of Francisco L. Pérez

Francisco L. Pérez

Professor Emeritus, Soils Lab Director Emeritus

makena@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.1582 |
CLA 3.708

Education: Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley

Interests: Mountain Geoecology, Geomorphology, Vegetation Ecology, Soils

Affiliate Faculty


Nancy C. Aguirre

Recently Graduated- Doctorate

cnaguirre@mail.utexas.edu

Photo of David Eaton

David Eaton

Faculty

eaton@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471.8972 |
SRH 3.204

Education: PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Steven D Hoelscher

Steven D Hoelscher

Affiliated Faculty

hoelscher@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-2567 |
BUR 430

Education: Ph.D., Geography, 1995, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of Naya Jones

Naya Jones

Recently Graduated- Doctorate

geonaya@gmail.com

Education: MA Latin American Studies; PhD Geography and the Environment (in progress), University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Children/youth geographies, food systems, environmental knowledge, community-based scholarship, critical food studies, participatory action research, Black feminist theory, Black Diaspora (United States and Mexico)

Photo of Robert Lemon

Robert Lemon

Urban and Social Researcher

rdlemon@gmail.com

Education: MCRP, The Ohio State University; MLA, The University of California, Berkeley;, PhD, University of Texas at Austin (Geography)

Interests: Social Practices; Urban Landscape Representation; Streetscapes (Public and Semi-Public Spaces); Culinary Practices and the food system; Latino spaces

Photo of Joshua Rudow

Joshua Rudow

Recently Graduated- Doctorate

jorudow@gmail.com |
CLA 3.400

Education: M.A., Geography, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Human-Environment Interactions,Cultural/Political Ecology, Agriculture, Latin America

Photo of Kathleen Shafer

Kathleen Shafer

Recently Graduated- Doctorate

kathleenshafer@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.306

Interests: Cultural Geography, Geography of Airfields, Aviation History, Military Aviation, Aerial Geography, Land and Environmental Art, Site-Specificity, Architecture, Urban Planning.

Photo of Bjorn Sletto

Bjorn Sletto

Faculty

bjorn@utexas.edu |
512.471.5153 |
SUT 3.124B

Education: Ph.D., Cornell University

Interests: Geographic Information Systems, Latin American planning and development, participatory planning, environmental and social justice, social theory

Photo of Frederick Steiner

Frederick Steiner

Faculty

fsteiner@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471.1922 |
GOL 2.308

Education: PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Environmental Impact Assessment, Landscape Analysis, and Landscape Architecture Theory

Photo of Peter Ward

Peter Ward

Professor, Dept. of Sociology, LBJ School; C.B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair # 1 in US-Mexico Relations

peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471-6302 |
CLA 3.730, SRH 3.228

Education: Ph.D., University of Liverpool