History Department
History Department
Search for people

History Faculty


Photo of Robert H. Abzug

Robert H. Abzug

Professor; Director, Schusterman Center for Jewish Studies; Audre & Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair of Jewish Studies

zug@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7240 |
GAR 3.310

Education: Ph.D., History, 1977, University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Daina Ramey Berry

Daina Ramey Berry

Associate Professor

drb@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3261 |
GAR 1.104

Education: Ph.D., 1998, United States History, University of California, Los Angeles

Photo of Miriam Bodian

Miriam Bodian

Professor

bodian@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4358 |
GAR 2.104A

Education: Ph.D., 1988, Hebrew University

Photo of Henry W. Brands

Henry W. Brands

Professor; Jack S. Blanton Sr. Chair in History

hwbrands@austin.utexas.edu |
GAR 3.306

Education: Ph.D., 1985, University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Benjamin Claude Brower

Benjamin Claude Brower

Associate Professor

benbrower@utexas.edu |
512-475-6813 |
GAR 3.204

Education: Ph.D., 2005, Cornell University

Photo of Jonathan C. Brown

Jonathan C. Brown

Professor

j.brown@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7218 |
GAR 1.114

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Erika M. Bsumek

Erika M. Bsumek

Associate Professor

embsumek@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7253 |
GAR 2.104C

Education: Ph.D., 2000, Rutgers University

Photo of Matthew Butler

Matthew Butler

Associate Professor

mbutler@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7972 |
GAR 3.414

Education: Ph.D., University of Bristol

Photo of Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Professor; Alice Drysdale Sheffield Professor of History

canizares-esguerra@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7694 |
GAR 2.108

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Photo of Mehmet Celik

Mehmet Celik

Lecturer

celik@utexas.edu |
GAR 3.224

Education: Ph.D. (History), University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Urban life, multiculturalism, ethnic conflict and gender in Southeastern Europe and the Middle East

Photo of Ruramisai Charumbira

Ruramisai Charumbira

Assistant Professor

r-c@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8361 |
GAR 0.136

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Global History; Memory Studies; Feminist Theory; Ethno-archaeology

Photo of Indrani Chatterjee

Indrani Chatterjee

Professor

ichatterjee@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7252 |
GAR 3.412

Education: Ph.D., History, 1996, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Photo of Judith G. Coffin

Judith G. Coffin

Associate Professor

jcoffin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7235 |
GAR 2.206

Education: Ph.D., 1985, Yale University

Photo of David Crew

David Crew

Professor; Distinguished Teaching Professor

dfcrew@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7232 |
GAR 2.126

Education: Ph.D., 1975, Cornell University

Photo of Susan Deans-Smith

Susan Deans-Smith

Associate Professor

sdsmith@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7205 |
GAR 3.302

Education: Ph.D., Cambridge University

Photo of Lina Del Castillo

Lina Del Castillo

Assistant Professor

delcastillo@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7258 |
GAR 3.216

Education: Ph.D., 2007, University of Miami

Photo of Yoav Di-Capua

Yoav Di-Capua

Associate Professor

ydi@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7850 |
GAR 3.222

Education: Ph.D., 2004, Princeton University

Christopher Ernst

Lecturer

cernst@austin.utexas.edu |
GAR 3.206

Education: Ph.D., 2011, University of Toronto

Photo of Toyin Falola

Toyin Falola

Professor; Jacob & Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities; University Distinguished Teaching Prof.

toyinfalola@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7224 |
GAR 2.142

Education: Ph.D., 1981, History, University of Ife

Photo of George B. Forgie

George B. Forgie

Associate Professor and Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor

forgie@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7231 |
GAR 3.212

Education: Ph.D., 1972, Stanford University

Photo of Alison K. Frazier

Alison K. Frazier

Associate Professor

akfrazier@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6375 |
GAR 2.109

Education: Ph.D., 1997, Columbia University

Photo of Joshua Frens-String

Joshua Frens-String

Assistant Professor

jfstring@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Photo of Seth W. Garfield

Seth W. Garfield

Professor; Director, Institute for Historical Studies

sgarfield@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7269 |
GAR 2.120

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of Virginia Garrard-Burnett

Virginia Garrard-Burnett

Professor

garrard@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7822 |
GAR 2.204

Education: Ph.D., Tulane University

Photo of Laurie B. Green

Laurie B. Green

Associate Professor

lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7245 |
GAR 2.116

Education: Ph.D., 1999, University of Chicago

Photo of Sumit Guha

Sumit Guha

Professor; Frances Higginbotham Nalle Centennial Professorship in History

sguha@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7236 |
GAR 2.140

Education: Ph.D., History, 1981, University of Cambridge

Photo of Julie Hardwick

Julie Hardwick

Professor

jhardwick@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7221 |
GAR 3.112

Education: Ph.D., 1991, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Professor

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9303 |
GAR 3.106

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of Bruce J. Hunt

Bruce J. Hunt

Associate Professor

bjhunt@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6109 |
GAR 2.106

Education: Ph.D., 1984, Johns Hopkins University

Interests: History of science and technology

Photo of Robert Icenhauer-Ramirez

Robert Icenhauer-Ramirez

Lecturer

rirlawyer@gmail.com |
GAR 1.104

Interests: The American Civil War, Lincoln, The Politics of Slavery, The American Revolution, British History

Photo of Jacqueline Jones

Jacqueline Jones

Chair of the History Department and Walter Prescott Webb Chair in History and Ideas/Mastin Gentry White Professor of Southern History

jjones@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3261 |
GAR 1.106A

Education: Ph.D., 1976, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Photo of Peniel E. Joseph

Peniel E. Joseph

Professor; Barbara Jordan Chair in Ethics and Political Values

peniel.joseph@austin.utexas.edu |
475-7241 |
GAR 3.114/SRH 3.231

Education: Ph.D., Temple University

Photo of Neil D. Kamil

Neil D. Kamil

Associate Professor

kamil@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6110 |
GAR 2.146

Education: Ph.D., 1989, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Cheryl Kaufman

Cheryl Kaufman

Lecturer

ckaufman@utexas.edu |
GAR 3.210

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Monastic and church reform, Augustinian canons, and material culture in medieval European history

Photo of Mark Atwood Lawrence

Mark Atwood Lawrence

Associate Professor

malawrence@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9304 |
GAR 3.220

Education: Ph.D., 1999, Yale University

Photo of Brian P. Levack

Brian P. Levack

Professor; John E. Green Regents Professor in History; Distinguished Teaching Professor

levack@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7204 |
GAR 3.502

Education: Ph.D., 1970, Yale University

Photo of Philippa Levine

Philippa Levine

Professor; Mary Helen Thompson Centennial Professor in the Humanities; Co-Director, Program in British Studies

philippa@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1236 |
HRC 3.202B

Education: D.Phil., 1984, Oxford University (St. Antony's College)

Photo of Huaiyin Li

Huaiyin Li

Professor

hli@utexas.edu |
512-475-7910 |
GAR 3.202

Education: Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Los Angeles

Interests: Modern Chinese history; Contemporary Chinese economy, society, and politics; imperial China; gender and family; agrarian studies; Chinese culture and religions; and comparative studies of development and globalization.

Photo of Tatjana Lichtenstein

Tatjana Lichtenstein

Associate Professor

lichtens@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6171 |
GAR 0.110

Education: Ph.D. 2009, University of Toronto, Canada

Photo of Wm. Roger Louis

Wm. Roger Louis

Professor; Kerr Chair in English History and Culture; Distinguished Teaching Professor

britishstudies@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9274 |
HRC 3.202

Education: D.Phil., 1962, and D.Litt., 1979, Oxford University

Interests: History of the British Empire and Commonwealth, the Middle East, India, and end of empires

Photo of Iris Ma

Iris Ma

Lecturer

iris.ma@austin.utexas.edu |
GAR 3.102

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Photo of Alberto A. Martínez

Alberto A. Martínez

Professor

almartinez@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9426 |
GAR 0.138

Education: Ph.D., 2001, University of Minnesota

Photo of Valerie Martínez

Valerie Martínez

Lecturer

vamartinez@utexas.edu |
GAR 2.202

Education: Ph.D. (History), University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Mexican-American/Latino History; Borderlands; Women and Gender's Studies; Labor; Military History; Race, Ethnicity, Identity

Photo of Tracie M. Matysik

Tracie M. Matysik

Associate Professor

matysik@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7251 |
GAR 3.402

Education: Ph.D., 2001, Cornell University

Photo of Mark Metzler

Mark Metzler

Professor of History and Asian Studies

mmetzler@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7262 |
GAR 3.404

Education: Ph.D., 1998, University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Steven Mintz

Steven Mintz

Professor

smintz@utsystem.edu |
512-499-4210 |
GAR 3.312

Education: Ph.D., Yale University, 1979

Photo of Leonard N. Moore

Leonard N. Moore

George Littlefield Professor of American History; Senior Associate Vice-President, Division of Diversity and Community Engagement

leonardmoore@austin.utexas.edu |
GAR 512-475-7254/ SSB 512-232-2913 |
GAR 2.111/ SSB 4.118

Education: Ph.D., 1998, History, Ohio State University

Photo of Joan Neuberger

Joan Neuberger

Professor

neuberger@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7219 |
GAR 2.102

Education: Ph.D., 1985, Stanford University

Photo of Mary Neuburger

Mary Neuburger

Professor

burgerm@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9123 |
GAR 3.410 / BUR 452

Education: Ph.D., 1997, University of Washington

Photo of Martha G. Newman

Martha G. Newman

Associate Professor in the Departments of History and Religious Studies

newman@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-2264/ 512-475-8660 |
GAR 3.408

Education: Ph.D., 1988, Stanford University

Photo of Robert A. Olwell

Robert A. Olwell

Associate Professor

rolwell@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7226 |
GAR 3.108

Education: Ph.D., 1991, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Assistant Professor

osseo@utexas.edu |
GAR 0.112

Education: Ph.D. History of Science, Harvard University

Interests: history and sociology of science, technology, and medicine, global health, Africa: Ghana, Madagascar, South Africa, nuclear energy, medical isotopes, biotechnology, plants and society, drugs, pharmaceuticals

Photo of Megan Raby

Megan Raby

Assistant Professor

meganraby@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7925 |
GAR 0.114

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: History of Science, Environmental History, US and Caribbean, 19th and 20th c.

Penne L. Restad

Distinguished Senior Lecturer

restad@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7233 |
GAR 2.144

Education: Ph.D., 1994, University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Megan Seaholm

Megan Seaholm

Senior Lecturer

seaholmm@gmail.com |
512-475-7243 |
GAR 3.214

Education: Ph.D., 1988, Rice University

Denise A. Spellberg

Professor

spellberg@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7202 |
GAR 3.208

Education: Ph.D., 1989, Columbia University

Photo of Michael B. Stoff

Michael B. Stoff

Associate Professor; Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor; Director, Plan II Honors

planiidirector@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7217 / 512-471-1442 |
GAR 2.138 / CLA 2.102

Education: Ph.D., 1977, Yale University

Photo of Jeremi Suri

Jeremi Suri

Professor; Mack Brown Distinguished Chair for Leadership in Global Affairs

suri@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7242 |
GAR 2.122/ SRH 3.378

Education: Ph.D. in History, 2001, Yale University

Photo of Cynthia Talbot

Cynthia Talbot

Professor

ctalbot@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7229 |
GAR 3.406

Education: PhD, 1988, University of Wisconsin at Madison

Photo of Alan Tully

Alan Tully

Professor; Eugene C. Barker Centennial Professorship in American History

tully@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-6320 |
GAR 3.504

Education: Ph.D., 1973, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Ann Twinam

Ann Twinam

Professor

anntwinam@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7213 |
GAR 2.114

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of James M. Vaughn

James M. Vaughn

Assistant Professor

jmvaughn@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8268 |
GAR 3.218

Education: Ph.D., 2008, University of Chicago

Photo of Sam Vong

Sam Vong

Assistant Professor

svong@austin.utexas.edu |
GAR 0.134

Education: Ph.D., 2013, Yale University

Photo of Juliet E. K. Walker

Juliet E. K. Walker

Professor

jekwalker@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5581 |
GAR 2.136

Education: Ph.D., 1976, American History, University of Chicago

Photo of Charters Wynn

Charters Wynn

Associate Professor; Director of Normandy Scholar Program on World War II

wynn@utexas.edu |
512-475-7234 |
GAR 1.120

Education: Ph.D., 1987, Stanford University

Photo of Emilio Zamora

Emilio Zamora

Professor

e.zamora@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-8706 |
GAR 2.104B

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Affiliated Faculty


Photo of Kamran Scot Aghaie

Kamran Scot Aghaie

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Middle Eastern Studies

kamranaghaie@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6400 |
WMB 6.102

Education: Ph.D., 1999, University of California at Los Angeles

Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Professor

asdar@austin.utexas.edu |
512 471 7531 |
SAC 4.102

Education: Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Douglas G. Biow

Douglas G. Biow

Professor, Superior Oil Company-Linward Shivers Cenntenial Professor of Medieval and Renaissance Studies, and Director of the Center for European Studies

biow@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7267; 512-232-3470 |
HRH 2.110B

Photo of Don E. Carleton

Don E. Carleton

Senior Lecturer; Executive Director, Briscoe Center for American History

d.carleton@austin.utexas.edu |
512-495-4527 |
SRH 2.106; ANB 2.101

Education: Ph.D., 1978, University of Houston

Photo of Janet M. Davis

Janet M. Davis

Associate Professor

janetmdavis@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1848 |
BUR 432

Education: Ph.D., History, University of Wisconsin (Madison)

Photo of James R. Denbow

James R. Denbow

Professor

jdenbow@austin.utexas.edu |
512 471 8512 |
SAC 4.152

Education: Ph.D., University of Indiana

Photo of Jennifer V Ebbeler

Jennifer V Ebbeler

Associate Professor

jebbeler@austin.utexas.edu |
512 471 7570 |
WAG 14CA

Education: PhD 2001, University of Pennsylvania

Photo of William Forbath

William Forbath

Professor, Lloyd M. Bentsen Chair in Law, School of Law; Department of History

wforbath@law.utexas.edu |
512 232 1326 |
JON 6.216

Photo of Lauren Gutterman

Lauren Gutterman

Faculty

lgutterman@austin.utexas.edu |
BUR 406

Education: Ph.D, New York University

William Inboden

Associate Professor, LBJ School; Executive Director, Clements Center; Distinguished Scholar, Strauss Center

inboden@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of Minkah Makalani

Minkah Makalani

Faculty

makalani@austin.utexas.edu |
+1 512 471 4745 |
BLS 3.114

Education: Ph.D., 2004, History, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Photo of Al Martinich

Al Martinich

Professor; Roy Allison Vaughan Centennial Professorship in Philosophy

martinich@austin.utexas.edu |
512-484-8186 |
WAG 416A

Education: PhD, University of California at San Diego

Photo of Tshepo Masango Chery

Tshepo Masango Chery

Assistant Professor; Fellow, Lee and Joseph D. Jamail Chair in African American Studies

tmchery@austin.utexas.edu |
GWB 3. 108

Education: Ph.D., 2012, History, University of Pennsylvania

Photo of A. Azfar Moin

A. Azfar Moin

Faculty

amoin@utexas.edu |
+1 512 232 7224 |
BUR 518

Education: PhD, History, University of Michigan

Photo of Mark C. Smith

Mark C. Smith

Associate Professor

mcsmith@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-2015 |
BUR 428

Education: Ph.D., American Studies, 1980, University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Nancy K. Stalker

Nancy K. Stalker

Associate Prof. Asian Studies and History, Affiliated, Ctr. Women & Gender Studies

nancy.stalker@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5811 |
WCH 4.130

Education: Ph.D., 2002, Stanford University

Professors Emeriti


William R. Braisted

Professor Emeritus

512-453-8013

Education: Ph.D., 1950, University of Chicago

Photo of Alfred W. Crosby Jr.

Alfred W. Crosby Jr.

Professor Emeritus

crosby@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-7277

Education: Ph.D., 1961, Boston University

Robert A. Divine

Professor Emeritus; George W. Littlefield Professor Emeritus in American History

rdivine@austin.rr.com

Education: Ph.D., 1954, Yale University

Photo of Lewis L. Gould

Lewis L. Gould

Professor Emeritus; Eugene C. Barker Centennial Professor Emeritus in American History

lludlowgould@outlook.com

Richard Graham

Professor Emeritus; Frances Higginbotham Nalle Centennial Professor Emeritus in History

rgraham@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1961, University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Michael G. Hall

Michael G. Hall

Professor Emeritus

mghall@mail.utexas.edu |
512-475-6785 |
HRC 3.102G

Education: Ph.D., 1956, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Antony G. Hopkins

Antony G. Hopkins

Professor; Walter Prescott Webb Chair Emeritus of History

tony.hopkins@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1964, University of London

John E. Lamphear

Professor Emeritus

lamphear@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1972, University of London

Clarence G. Lasby

Professor Emeritus

clasby@austin.rr.com

Education: Ph.D., 1962, University of California, Los Angeles

Photo of Abraham Marcus

Abraham Marcus

Associate Professor Emeritus

amarcus@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1979, Columbia University

Standish Meacham Jr.

Professor Emeritus; Alice Jane Drysdale Sheffield Regents Professor Emeritus in History

meachsalz@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1961, Harvard University

Photo of G. Howard Miller

G. Howard Miller

Professor Emeritus

hmiller@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1970, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Photo of Gail Minault

Gail Minault

Professor Emerita

gminault@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3261

Education: Ph.D., 1972, University of Pennsylvania

Photo of Sidney Monas

Sidney Monas

Professor Emeritus

smonas@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-5001 |
HRC 3.325

M. Gwyn Morgan

Professor Emeritus

512-471-5742 |
WAG 109

Education: Ph.D., 1962, University of Exeter, U.K.

Photo of David M. Oshinsky

David M. Oshinsky

Jack S. Blanton, Sr. Chair Emeritus in History

oshinsky@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1971, Brandeis University

Photo of Richard H. Pells

Richard H. Pells

Professor Emeritus

richard.pells@gmail.com

Education: Ph.D., 1969, Harvard University

Photo of Edward J. M. Rhoads

Edward J. M. Rhoads

Professor Emeritus

erhoads@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1970, Harvard University