Linguistics Department
Search for people

Professors


Photo of David I Beaver

David I Beaver

Professor, Director of the Cognitive Science Program

dib@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.708

Education: PhD, Edinburgh

Photo of Nora C. England

Nora C. England

Dallas TACA Centennial Professor in the Humanities

nengland@austin.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-9014 |
CLA 4.732

Education: Ph.D., University of Florida

Interests: linguistic description, grammar writing, language and identity, language politics, language ideologies, Mayan linguistics, American languages

Photo of Patience L. Epps

Patience L. Epps

Professor

pattieepps@austin.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-9015 |
CLA 4.736

Education: Ph.D., University of Virginia

Photo of Ian Hancock

Ian Hancock

Harold C. and Alice T. Nowlin Regents Professor in Liberal Arts

xulaj@mail.utexas.edu |
+1-512-232-7684 |
CAL 420

Education: Ph.D., London University

Interests: Romani; Creole; English; Human rights

Hans Kamp

Visiting Professor

hanskamp@austin.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-4880 |
CLA 4.704

Education: PhD, University of California at Los Angeles

Interests: Language and Thought, Philosophy of Language (Propositional Attitudes)

Photo of Elizabeth L. Keating

Elizabeth L. Keating

Professor

elizabeth.keating@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8518 |
SAC 4.156

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Interests: Linguistic Anthropology, Language and Status, American Sign Language, New Communication Technologies, Multimodal Communication, Visual Anthropology

Photo of Richard P Meier

Richard P Meier

Department Chair and Robert D. King Centennial Professor of Liberal Arts

rmeier@austin.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-9031 |
CLA 4.720

Education: Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

Interests: Linguistics of signed languages, American Sign Language, first language acquisition

Photo of Scott P Myers

Scott P Myers

Professor

s.myers@mail.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-9032 |
CLA 4.726

Education: Ph.D., University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Interests: Bantu languages

Photo of Harvey M Sussman

Harvey M Sussman

R. P. Doherty, Sr. Centennial Professorship in Communication

sussman@austin.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-9002 |
CLA 4.730

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin (Madison)

Photo of Stephen M Wechsler

Stephen M Wechsler

Professor

wechsler@austin.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-9026 |
CLA 4.702

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Photo of Anthony C. Woodbury

Anthony C. Woodbury

Professor

woodbury@austin.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-1701 |
CLA 4.728

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Associate Professors


Photo of John T Beavers

John T Beavers

Undergraduate Faculty Advisor and Associate Professor

jtbeavers@utexas.edu |
+1-512-232-7683 |
CLA 4.706

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Syntax, Lexical Semantics

Photo of Megan J. Crowhurst

Megan J. Crowhurst

Associate Professor

mcrowhurst@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471.9027 |
CLA 4.712

Education: Ph.D., University of Arizona

Photo of Katrin E Erk

Katrin E Erk

Associate Professor

katrin.erk@mail.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-9020 |
CLA 4.734

Education: Ph.D., Saarland University, Germany

Photo of David Quinto-Pozos

David Quinto-Pozos

Associate Professor

davidqp@austin.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-9030 |
CLA 4.714

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Rajka Smiljanic

Rajka Smiljanic

Associate Professor

rajka@austin.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-9029 |
CLA 4.724

Education: Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Assistant Professors


Photo of Danny Law

Danny Law

Assistant Professor

dannylaw@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 4.432

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Historical Linguistics, Language Contact, Mayan Languages, Writing Systems

Senior Lecturers


Photo of Franky L Ramont

Franky L Ramont

Senior Lecturer

franky-ramont@austin.utexas.edu |
+1-512-471-1701 |
CLA 4.622

Education: MA, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Photo of Deborah E White

Deborah E White

Senior Lecturer

debbiewhiteasl@gmail.com |
CLA 4.620

Education: MA, Gallaudet University

Lecturers


Photo of Sheena McFeely

Sheena McFeely

Lecturer

sheenamcfeely@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.618

Education: MA, Gallaudet University

Viorica Alexandra Teodorescu

Lecturer

alex.teodorescu@gmail.com |
CLA 4.428

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Suzanne V.H. van der Feest

Suzanne V.H. van der Feest

Research Associate & Lecturer

suzanne@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 4.430

Education: Ph.D., University of Nijmegen, the Netherlands

Other faculty


Photo of Hans C Boas

Hans C Boas

Professor; Raymond Dickson, Alton C. Allen and Dillon Anderson Centennial Professor; Director, Linguistics Research Center; Director, Texas German Dialect Project

hcb@austin.utexas.edu |
512 232 6358 |
BUR 328

Education: Ph.D., Linguistics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Interests: Syntax, Lexical Semantics, Computational Lexicography, Language Contact & Variation, Contrastive Linguistics, Corpus Linguistics, Pragmatics, Morphology, Endangered Languages, Phonology

Photo of Bharath Chandrasekaran

Bharath Chandrasekaran

Associate Professor

bchandra@mail.utexas.edu |
512 471 2035 |
CMA 4.120A

Education: Ph.D., Purdue University

Photo of Zenzi M Griffin

Zenzi M Griffin

Professor - Department of Psychology

zgriffin@utexas.edu |
SEA 5.214

Education: PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Interests: Language production, speech errors, personal names, and psycholinguistics

Photo of Na'ama Pat-El

Na'ama Pat-El

Associate Professor

npatel@austin.utexas.edu |
512 232 8292 |
CAL 501C

Education: Ph.D.- 2008, Harvard University

Photo of Anthony K. Webster

Anthony K. Webster

Professor

awebster@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Professors Emeriti


John Bordie

Professor Emeritus

jgbordie@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Robert T Harms

Robert T Harms

Professor Emeritus

HARMS@AUSTIN.UTEXAS.EDU

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Robert King

Robert King

Audre and Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair Emeritus of Jewish Studies and Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus

rking@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Interests: Historical linguistics; DNA and the origins of spoken language; language and politics;language and people issues.

Bjorn E Lindblom

Professor Emeritus

lindblom@ling.su.se

Education: Fil dr (= Ph.D.), Lund University

Robert E Wall

Professor Emeritus

robertewall@yahoo.com

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

In Memoriam


Carlota S. Smith

Professor