Department of Middle Eastern Studies
Department of Middle Eastern Studies

Fall 2016 Orientation, Academic Advising, and Language Placement


All events are REQUIRED unless otherwise notated.



EVENT DATE TIME  LOCATION  COMMENTS
 
Pre-Registration for incoming students (except international) Jun 08 - Jul 15 Check RIS   Course Schedule
 
International Student Orientation Fri, Aug 12 9:30 AM - 2:30 PM Student Union (TX Union Ballroom), UNB 3.202 Visit website
 
C+DMES Orientation (MES & MELC programs) Mon, Aug 15 9 - 11 AM Calhoun 516, Reading Room General program requirements and course policies. Light refreshments provided. Led by David Justh
 
C+DMES new employee       meeting Aug 15 11 - 11:30 PM CAL 516
Required of students with TA/AI assignments. Discussion of tuition/health benefits
 
DMES/MELC: Group meeting Aug 15 2 - 3 PM CAL 516 with DMES Graduate Advisers and David Justh
 
CMES: Group meeting Aug 15 3 - 4 PM CAL 516 with CMES Graduate Advisers and David Justh
 
CMES: Individual advising, Day 1 Tue, Aug 16 TBA CAL 515 Specific times to be assigned
 
CMES Language Placement Exam
Wed, Aug 17 9 AM - 12 PM            9 AM - 12 PM MEZ 1.102 - Arabic                   MEZ 1.216 - Persian, Turkish, Hebrew Self-registration required
 
CMES: Individual advising, Day 2 Thurs, Aug 18 TBA CAL 515 Specific times to be assigned
 
MES Library Orientation
Aug 18 TBA TBA MES librarians: Dale Correa & Uri Kolodney
 
 
1st day of registration.    General schedule Fri, Aug 19 starts at 8 AM Online See your RIS to view access periods and identify remaining bars that prevent registration.
 
College of Liberal Arts TA Orientation Mon, Aug 22 1-3 PM TBA Required of new TAs
 
Graduate School orientation (optional)
Tue, Aug. 23 TBA Hogg Memorial Auditorium RSVP required
 
1st class day Wed, Aug 24      
 
4th class day: Tuition &     add/drop deadline Mon, Aug 29 ends at 5 PM   Add/drop deadline. Classes dropped if tuition not paid by 5 PM. View bill.
 
Labor Day holiday Mon, Sep 05     University closed
 
12th class day Fri, Sep 09 ends at 5 PM   Graduate Coordinators can add/drop classes until this date

  •   Map
  • Middle Eastern Studies

    The University of Texas at Austin
    204 W 21st Street Stop F9400
    Calhoun Hall (CAL) 528
    Austin, TX 78712
    +1-512-471-3881