Department of Psychology
Department of Psychology
Search for people

Behavioral Neuroscience


Laura Agee

Graduate student

laagee@utexas.edu

Photo of Courtney Alexander

Courtney Alexander

Graduate student

calexander3@utexas.edu

Education: M.S. in Psychological Sciences, Pacific University

Interests: Long distance running, soccer, international travel, copious amounts of coffee, reading and keeping up to date with the latest Neuro research!

Photo of Emily Hilz

Emily Hilz

Graduate student

Julia Martz

Graduate student

jmartz@utexas.edu |
512-471-0272 |
SEA 6.114B

Interests: Neural-endocrine regulation of motivated behaviors and associated disorders such as addiction, anxiety, and depression

Evan Nudi

Graduate student

etnudi@gmail.com

Krystal Schaar Valenzuela

Graduate student, Schallert Lab

ksvalenzuela@utexas.edu

Clinical Psychology


Photo of Scarlett Baird

Scarlett Baird

Graduate student

scarlett.baird@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.600

Education: B.A., Southern Methodist University

Interests: CBT, Veteran Reintegration, Determinants of Treatment Adherence, Physical Activity

Alex Birdsill

Graduate student

acbirdsill@gmail.com |
SEA 4.111D

Photo of Emily Carl

Emily Carl

Graduate student

emilycarl@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.600

Education: M.A., Boston University

Interests: Novel treatments, anxiety treatment, GAD, exercise, eating, smoking, rumination, mindfulness, personalized medicine, ecological momentary assessment, augmentative treatment strategies

Julia Chafkin

Graduate student

Julia.Chafkin@utexas.edu |
SEA 3.412

Interests: Neuroendocrinology, Perinatal Mental Health, Postpartum Mental Health, Neonatal and Child Development, Adolescent Endocrinology

Adam Cobb

Graduate student

adamrcobb@yahoo.com

Photo of Justin Dainer-Best

Justin Dainer-Best

Graduate student

dainerbest@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Haverford College

Photo of Michelle Davis

Michelle Davis

Graduate student

mldavis8@gmail.com

Education: M.A., Southern Methodist University

Darius Dawson

Graduate student

dariusblake@utexas.edu |
512-471-9116 |
SEA 2.314

Education: M.A., San Diego State University

Interests: Ethnic Differences in Substance Use Behaviors; Behavioral Change Mechanisms

Photo of Ariel Handy

Ariel Handy

Graduate student

arielbhandy@gmail.com |
SEA 3.318

Education: BA, University of Vermont

Interests: Brief interventions for sexual dysfunction, sexuality in special populations, sexuality across cultures

Photo of Jolene Jacquart

Jolene Jacquart

Graduate student

jolene.jacquart@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.600

Education: B.S., The University of Wisconsin - Madison

Interests: Health Behaviors, CBT & Exposure Therapy, Exercise, Mindfulness, the Relaxation Response

Photo of Ellie Shuo Jin

Ellie Shuo Jin

Graduate Student

ellieshuojin@utexas.edu |
512-232-2215 |
SEA 3.426F

Education: B.A., McGill University

Interests: Psychoneuroendocrinology

Photo of Chelsea Kilimnik

Chelsea Kilimnik

Graduate student

chelseakilimnik@utexas.edu |
SEA 3.318

Education: M.Sc, Trent University

Interests: Sexual violence, non-consensual sexual experiences and subjective identification, sexual well-being and functioning, sexual self-schemas

Photo of Natalie Kretsch

Natalie Kretsch

Graduate student

natalie.kretsch@gmail.com

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Cynthia Lancaster

Cynthia Lancaster

Graduate student

cindy.lancaster@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Trinity University

Photo of Travis Mallard

Travis Mallard

Graduate student

travis.mallard@utexas.edu

Interests: Genetics, alcohol and drug abuse, addiction, externalizing psychopathology

Elise Marino

Graduate student

emarino@utexas.edu

Photo of Johnna Medina

Johnna Medina

Graduate student

johnnam@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Southern Methodist University

Michael Mullarkey

Graduate student

michael.mullarkey@utexas.edu |
Seay 4.310

Interests: Emotion Regulation, Distress Tolerance, Beliefs About Emotions, Brief Interventions

Stephanie Oleson

Graduate student

stephanieoleson@utexas.edu |
SEA 4.111D

Education: MA, San Diego State University

Interests: Vascular mechanisms of cognitive decline; identifying modifiable risk factors for dementia

Photo of Santiago Papini

Santiago Papini

Graduate student

spapini@utexas.edu

Education: MA, CUNY-City College

Interests: experimental psychopathology, latent growth mixture modeling, network analysis, machine learning

Megan Patterson

Graduate student

mwp241@nyu.edu

Photo of Rahel Pearson

Rahel Pearson

Graduate student

rahelpearson@gmail.com

Education: M.S., The University of Amsterdam

Photo of Derek Pisner

Derek Pisner

Graduate student

dpisner@utexas.edu |
703-200-8389 |
CLA 4.600

Education: B.A., The University of Virginia

Interests: Clinical Diagnostics and Treatment, Personalize Medicine, Machine Learning/ Data Mining, Diffusion Tensor Imaging, rsfMRI, BCI's, Connectomics

Photo of Carey Pulverman

Carey Pulverman

Doctoral Candidate

pulverman@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-4805 |
SEA 3.318

Education: MA, Hunter College, CUNY

Interests: Sexual violence and sexual functioning.

Photo of Leslie Rice

Leslie Rice

Graduate student

lrice@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Wake Forest University

Interests: Neuropsychological rehabilitation, neuropsychoendocrinology, stress-linked mental illness, first responders, CBT and functional impairment

Photo of Mikael Rubin

Mikael Rubin

Graduate student

mikaelrubin@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The City College of New York

Photo of Amelia Stanton

Amelia Stanton

Graduate student

amelia.stanton@gmail.com

Interests: Sexual dysfunction, childhood sexual abuse

Photo of Annie Steele

Annie Steele

Graduate student

Photo of Aliza Stein

Aliza Stein

Graduate Student

atstein@utexas.edu |
CLA 4.600

Education: B.A., Boston University

Interests: Novel Interventions for Mood and Anxiety Disorders, PTSD, CBT, Expsosure Therapy

Emily Wilhite

Graduate student

ewilhite@utexas.edu |
SEA 2.302B

Photo of Eric Zaizar

Eric Zaizar

Graduate student

eric.zaizar@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., University of Texas

Interests: Anxiety disorders, exposure therapy, translational research.

Cognitive Neuroscience


Photo of Mary Abbe Roe

Mary Abbe Roe

Graduate student

maroe@austin.utexas.edu |
SEA 2.204B

Education: B.S., University of Rochester

Interests: Developmental disorders, neuroimaging, brain networks, typical and atypical developmental trajectories of executive functions

Photo of Nathaniel Blanco

Nathaniel Blanco

Graduate student

nathanblanco@gmail.com |
SEA 4.120

Photo of Jessica Cooper

Jessica Cooper

Graduate student

jessica.cooper@gmail.com |
SEA 4.120E

Interests: Decision-making, learning, cognitive aging, depression, category learning, working memory, cognitive training, computational modeling

Photo of Guadalupe Gonzalez

Guadalupe Gonzalez

Graduate student

lupitagon@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Bethel College

Photo of Nicholas Griffin

Nicholas Griffin

Graduate student

ngriffin@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Michigan State University

Hyo Jeong Kim

Graduate student

komury2@gmail.com

Photo of Seth Koslov

Seth Koslov

Graduate student

seth.maddoxlab@gmail.com

Education: B.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Remington Mallett

Graduate student

remym@utexas.edu |
314-983-8671 |
SEA 2.218

Interests: working memory

Linnea Marks

Graduate student

lrmarks@utexas.edu

Photo of Robert Molitor

Robert Molitor

Graduate student

rjmolitor@utexas.edu |
NHB 3.340

Education: B.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Interests: Cognitive neuroscience of memory, attention, category learning

Photo of Sharon Noh

Sharon Noh

Graduate student

smnoh@utexas.edu

Tehila Nugiel

Graduate student

Emily Viehman

Graduate student

evman@utexas.edu

Cognitive Science


Photo of Jessie-Raye Bauer

Jessie-Raye Bauer

Graduate Student, Booth Lab

jessie.raye@utexas.edu |
512-471-2055 |
SEA 1.318E

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: scientific literacy, STEM, causal reasoning, executive function, early childhood education, early intervention

Photo of Justin Busch

Justin Busch

Graduate Student, Legare Lab

justin.ta.busch@gmail.com

Interests: causal reasoning, science understanding, reasoning about the supernatural, folk biology

Lydia Crooks

Graduate Student, Gilden Lab

lydiacrooks@utexas.edu |
SEA 5.118E

Interests: embodied cognition, human time perception, philosophy of science / queer science, affect theory

Frances Morales

Graduate Student, Legare Lab

frmorales@utexas.edu |
1.316B

Evan Stein

Graduate student

estein@utexas.edu

Photo of Nicole Wen

Nicole Wen

Graduate Student; Cognition, Culture, & Development Lab (Legare)

nicole.wen@utexas.edu |
512-232-1289 |
SEA 1.318B

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Cognitive development, cultural learning, social cognition, mechanisms of cultural transmission

Daniel Willard

Graduate Student, Markman Lab

daniel.fx.willard@gmail.com

Developmental Psychology


Jessica Jankowitsch

Graduate Student, Langlois Lab

jessjank@utexas.edu

Education: B.S., Carnegie Mellon University

Photo of Kelsey Kelley

Kelsey Kelley

Graduate Student, Woolley Lab

kelsey.kelley@utexas.edu |
SEA 1.316 C

Education: B.A., University of San Francisco

Interests: children's explanatory preferences; reasoning about the natural and supernatural; teleological reasoning

Haeyeon Lee

Graduate student

haeyeon.lee@utexas.edu |
SEA 1.318A

Education: B.A. in Psychology, Seoul National University

Interests: Adolescent social cognitive development; Social/academic stress and health outcomes in adolescence; Sensitivity to social status; Psychological intervention and behavioral change in adolescence

Photo of Fortunato Medrano

Fortunato Medrano

Graduate student

fmedrano@utexas.edu

Education: B. S., Northwestern University

Interests: Social Cognitive Development; Adolescent Psychological Interventions; Scalable Interventions; Psychological Measurement

Brooke Miller

Graduate Student, Woolley Lab

brooke.schepp@gmail.com

Photo of Jenny Nissel

Jenny Nissel

Graduate student

jenny.nissel@utexas.edu |
1.316C

Education: B.A., Yale University

Interests: Development of imagination, fantasy-reality distinction

Photo of Joseph O'brien

Joseph O'brien

Graduate student

joseph.obrien@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., North Carolina State University

Photo of Mayra Chantal Ramirez

Mayra Chantal Ramirez

Graduate student

mayrachantal@utexas.edu |
SEA 1.318C

Education: B.A., Texas A&M University

Interests: Bilingual language processing and development, learning strategies in early bilinguals and second language learners, dual language education

Photo of Dolly Rojo

Dolly Rojo

Graduate student

drojo@utexas.edu |
SEA 1.318C

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social and Cognitive Psychology, Language Development, Language Processing, Spanish-English Bilinguals, Dual-Language Education

Photo of Margaret Shavlik

Margaret Shavlik

Graduate Student, Booth Lab

margaretshavlik@utexas.edu |
1.316B

Education: B.A., Northwestern University

Interests: Early language learning, individual differences, and the effects of socioeconomic status on school readiness and literacy

Individual Differences and Evolutionary Psychology


Photo of Kelly Asao

Kelly Asao

Graduate student

kasao@utexas.edu |
SEA 3.324B

Photo of Daniel Conroy-Beam

Daniel Conroy-Beam

Graduate student

dconroybeam@gmail.com

Interests: Evolutionary psychology, mate preferences, mate selection, agent-based modeling

Laura Engelhardt

Graduate student

lauraeng@utexas.edu |
512-471-2221 |
SEA 2.204

Education: B.A. Indiana University, M.A. University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Frank Mann

Frank Mann

Graduate student

frankdmann@utexas.edu |
518-471-3516 |
SEA 3.314

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Anna Sedlacek

Anna Sedlacek

Graduate student

agbs@utexas.edu |
7327353911 |
SEA 3.324F (E as of Fall 2016)

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Evolutionary psychology of self-esteem, perceptions of physical attractiveness, religiosity, and much more

Photo of Joy Wyckoff

Joy Wyckoff

Graduate student

jwyckoff@utexas.edu |
SEA 3.324

Education: BA, MA, PhD, University of California Santa Barbara, The College of William & Mary, University of Texas at Austin

Perception, Brain and Behavior


Yoon Bai

Graduate student

yoonbai@utexas.edu

Photo of Can Oluk

Can Oluk

Graduate student

cnoluk@gmail.com

Issac Rhim

Graduate student

issacrhim@utexas.edu

Social and Personality Psychology


Photo of Amy Arndt

Amy Arndt

Graduate student

amynarndt@gmail.com

Interests: prosocial behavior, perspective taking, media influence and interaction

Photo of Ashwini Ashokkumar

Ashwini Ashokkumar

Graduate student

ashwinia@utexas.edu |
SEA 3.426A

Interests: identity fusion, group identity, intergroup conflict, morality, online research methods

Ryan Boyd

Graduate student

ryanboyd@utexas.edu

Interests: language, social processes, behavioral assessment of personality, motivational processes, mental health, computational psychology

Photo of Skylar Brannon

Skylar Brannon

Graduate student

skylar_brannon@utexas.edu

Interests: Social Cognition, Belief Updating, Cognitive Consistency, Morality, Impression Formation

Leah Fredman

Graduate student

leahafredman@gmail.com |
SEA 3.426F

Haesung Jung

Graduate student

hsjung@utexas.edu

Photo of Anastasia Rigney

Anastasia Rigney

Graduate student

ana.rigney@gmail.com

Interests: social cognitive neuroscience, self-perceptions, motivated biases

Photo of Sanaz Talaifar

Sanaz Talaifar

Graduate student

stalaifar@gmail.com |
SEA 3.426 HA

Interests: identity fusion, the self, relationships between health and identity, morality, psychology of physical spaces

Photo of Mohini Tellakat

Mohini Tellakat

Graduate student

mtellakat@utexas.edu |
SEA 3.426 C

Interests: social behaviors, social perception, mental health, computational psychology, language

Postdoctoral and other Research Personnel


James Ashenhurst

Postdoctoral Fellow, SAHARA (Fromme) Lab

james.ashenhurst@gmail.com |
512-471-7276 |
2.302F

Education: PhD, UCLA

Photo of Alejandro De La Vega

Alejandro De La Vega

Postdoctoral Fellow, Psychoinformatics Lab

delavega@utexas.edu |
5.108C

Education: PhD, University of Colorado Boulder

Photo of Gabriella Harari

Gabriella Harari

Postdoctoral Fellow, Gosling Lab

gabriella.harari@gmail.com

Jessica Koski

Postdoctoral Fellow, Self Regulation Lab

jessica.koski@utexas.edu

Tracy Wang

Postdoctoral Fellow, Lewis-Peacock Lab

tracy.wang@utexas.edu

Photo of Rachel Watson-Jones

Rachel Watson-Jones

Postdoctoral Researcher, Legare Lab; Project Coordinator, Booth Lab

watsonjones@austin.utexas.edu |
936-217-2466 |
SEAY 1.214 and 1.308B

Education: Ph.D., University of Oxford

Interests: Cognitive and evolutionary approaches to understanding religion, cultural transmission, social learning, and ritual.

Photo of Jacob Westfall

Jacob Westfall

Postdoctoral Fellow, Psychoinformatics Lab

jake.westfall@utexas.edu |
SEA 5.108C

Aiyana Willard

Postdoctoral Fellow, Cognition, Culture, and Development Laboratory

aiyana.willard@gmail.com


  •   Map
  • Department of Psychology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    SEA 4.208
    108 E. Dean Keeton Stop A8000
    Austin, TX 78712-1043
    512-471-1157