Department of Sociology
Search for people

Core Faculty


Photo of Ari Adut

Ari Adut

Associate Professor

ariadut@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-4284 |
CLA 3.518

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Ronald J. Angel

Ronald J. Angel

Professor

rangel@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6315 |
CLA 3.530

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Photo of Javier Auyero

Javier Auyero

Professor

auyero@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8073 |
CLA 3.624

Education: Ph.D., The New School for Social Research

Interests: Political ethnography, urban politics, environmental sociology

Photo of Sarah Brayne

Sarah Brayne

Assistant Professor

sbrayne@utexas.edu |
512-475-8641 |
CLA 2.408J

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Photo of John S. Butler

John S. Butler

Professor

john.butler@mccombs.utexas.edu |
512-232-6328 |
CLA 3.606

Education: Ph.D., Northwestern University

Photo of Ben Carrington

Ben Carrington

Associate Professor

bcarrington@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6341 |
CLA 3.734

Education: Ph.D., Leeds Metropolitan University

Interests: Post/colonial Theory; Sociology of Race; Cultural Sociology; Sociology of Sport, Media and Popular Culture; Cultural Studies; Masculinity and Gender Studies

Photo of Shannon E. Cavanagh

Shannon E. Cavanagh

Associate Professor

scavanagh@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8319 |
CLA 2.708A

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of Mounira Charrad

Mounira Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@utexas.edu |
512-232-6311 |
CLA 3.526

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization; Middle East and North Africa.

Photo of Diane Coffey

Diane Coffey

Assistant Professor

coffey@utexas.edu |
512-232-6915 |
CLA 2.620D

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Photo of Robert Crosnoe

Robert Crosnoe

Professor and Chair of Sociology; C.B. Smith, Sr. Centennial Chair #4

crosnoe@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3255 (Chair's Office), 512-471-8329 (PRC) |
CLA 2.406F

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Human Development, Education, Family, Health, Immigration

Photo of Sheldon Ekland-Olson

Sheldon Ekland-Olson

Professor

seo@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-5224 (CLA), 512-232-5879 (GEA) |
CLA 3.614, GEA 115

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Photo of Daniel Fridman

Daniel Fridman

Assistant Professor

dfridman@utexas.edu |
512-232-4811 |
CLA 3.634

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Economic Sociology; Ethnography; Sociology of Finance; Neoliberalism; Consumption; Sociology of Money; Latin America.

Photo of Jennifer Glass

Jennifer Glass

Professor

jennifer-glass@utexas.edu |
512-471-8355 |
CLA 2.702F

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Interests: work and family issues, telecommuting and new labor practices, STEM labor force retention

Photo of Gloria González-López

Gloria González-López

Professor

gloria@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6343 |
CLA 3.504

Education: Ph.D., University of Southern California

Photo of Mark D. Hayward

Mark D. Hayward

Professor of Sociology & Centennial Commission Professor in the Liberal Arts

mhayward@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-8382 |
CLA 2.622E

Education: Ph.D., Indiana University Bloomington

Interests: Life course origins of health disparities, morbidity and mortality, biodemography

Photo of William R Kelly

William R Kelly

Professor

wkelly@mail.la.utexas.edu |
512-232-4142 |
CLA 3.512

Education: Ph.D., Indiana University Bloominton

Photo of Ken-Hou Lin

Ken-Hou Lin

Assistant Professor

lin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9412 |
CLA 2.702D

Education: Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Amherst

Interests: Inequality, Economy and Society, Finance, Organization, Race, and Methods.

Photo of Leticia Marteleto

Leticia Marteleto

Associate Professor

marteleto@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-8302 |
CLA 2.708D

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Photo of Chandra L. Muller

Chandra L. Muller

Professor

cmuller@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8377 |
CLA 2.408G

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Marc A. Musick

Marc A. Musick

Professor

musick@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4271 |
GEB 2.200

Education: Ph.D., Duke University

Photo of Pamela Paxton

Pamela Paxton

Professor

ppaxton@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-6323 |
CLA 3.738

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of Becky Pettit

Becky Pettit

Professor

bpettit@utexas.edu |
512-471-9850 |
CLA 2.622H

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests: Social Inequality, Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Labor Markets, Research Methods

Photo of Joseph E. Potter

Joseph E. Potter

Professor

joe@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-8341 |
CLA 2.620C

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Photo of Daniel A. Powers

Daniel A. Powers

Professor

dpowers@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6335 |
CLA 2.622J

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Interests: Demography, Infant Mortality, Fertility, Statistics and Methods

Photo of Tetyana Pudrovska

Tetyana Pudrovska

Associate Professor

tpudrovs@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 2.622D

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Interests: Population Health Disparities, Gender and Health, Work and Health, Biopsychosocial Stress, Biodemography, Aging

Photo of Kelly Raley

Kelly Raley

Professor

kelly.raley@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-6333 |
CLA 2.702E

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Interests: Demography, Family, Race and Ethnic Relations, Education, Work Occupations and Organizations, Gender

Robert Reece

Assistant Professor (beginning fall 2017)

512-232-6318 |
CLA 3.736

Education: Ph.D., Duke University

Photo of Mark Regnerus

Mark Regnerus

Associate Professor

regnerus@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-6307 |
CLA 3.524

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of Néstor P. Rodríguez

Néstor P. Rodríguez

Professor

nrodriguez@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8072 |
CLA 3.528

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Mary Rose

Mary Rose

Associate Professor

mrose@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6336 |
CLA 3.630

Education: Ph.D., Duke University

Interests: Juries and Jury Decision Making, Empirical Analysis of the Law, Social Psychology

Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Professor; Director, Center for Asian American Studies

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6310 |
CLA 3.628

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Photo of Harel Shapira

Harel Shapira

Assistant Professor

hshapira@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8075 |
CLA 3.636

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Photo of Debra J. Umberson

Debra J. Umberson

Professor

umberson@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-6330 |
CLA 2.708B

Education: Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Interests: Social Ties & Population Health, Aging & the Life Course, Marriage & Family, Same-Sex Unions, Gender & Race, Blended Methods

Photo of Peter Ward

Peter Ward

Professor, Dept of Sociology, C. B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair # 1 in US-Mexico Relations

peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6319 |
SOC CLA 3.730; LBJ = SRH 3.229

Education: Ph.D., University of Liverpool

Interests: Academic: Housing and Governance in Mexico and Latin America. Non academic: Opera & Longhorn Football.

Photo of E. Mark Warr

E. Mark Warr

Professor

mwarr@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6317 |
CLA 3.612

Education: Ph.D., University of Arizona

Interests: Crime, Delinquency, Deviance.

Photo of Alexander Weinreb

Alexander Weinreb

Associate Professor

aweinreb@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-0437 |
CLA 2.620E

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Social and political demography, data collection methods

Photo of Abigail Weitzman

Abigail Weitzman

Assistant Professor (beginning fall 2016, on leave 2016-17)

aweitzman@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Photo of Christine L Williams

Christine L Williams

Professor

cwilliams@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6321 |
CLA 3.608

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: gender, sexuality, workplace inequality, qualitative research methods, theory

Photo of Michael P Young

Michael P Young

Associate Professor

myoung@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6331 |
CLA 3.514

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Senior Lecturers


Photo of Penny A Green

Penny A Green

Senior Lecturer

pennygreen@utexas.edu |
512-232-6306 |
CLA 3.602

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Classical Sociological and Modern Evolutionary Theory, Globalization, Widening Income Inequality

Photo of Hossein Haghshenas

Hossein Haghshenas

Senior Lecturer

mehdiha@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8064 |
CLA 3.604

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Lecturers


Kelly Fulton

Lecturer

kgfulton@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4825 |
CLA 4.604

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Jiwon Jeon

Jiwon Jeon

Lecturer

JiwonJeon@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4825 |
CLA 4.604

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Photo of Stephanie Osbakken

Stephanie Osbakken

Lecturer

osbakken@utexas.edu |
512-232-6338 |
CLA 3.506

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Lynette Osborne

Lecturer

LOsborne@utexas.edu |
512-471-1533 |
CLA 4.606

Education: Ph.D., Purdue University

Interests: Gender, Education, Women/Minorities in STEM, Deviance, Research Methods/Statistics, Evaluation Research

Photo of Nina Palmo

Nina Palmo

Lecturer

npalmo@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Scott Swearingen

Lecturer

swear@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1533 |
CLA 4.606

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Ori Swed

Ori Swed

Lecturer

oriswed@utexas.edu |
512-4718452 |
CLA 4.612

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Political Sociology, Law and Society, Human Rights, Social Movements, Globalization, Theory, Mixed Methods.

Affiliated Faculty


Photo of Jacqueline L. Angel

Jacqueline L. Angel

Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs (Affiliated)

jangel@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-2956 |
SRH 3.217

Education: Ph.D., Rutgers University

Photo of Simone A. Browne

Simone A. Browne

Associate Professor, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies (Affiliated)

sbrowne@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Toronto

Photo of Wenhong Chen

Wenhong Chen

Assistant Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication (Affiliated)

wenhong.chen@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4952 |
CMA 5.142

Education: Ph.D., University of Toronto

Photo of Toni Falbo

Toni Falbo

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education (Affiliated)

toni@prc.utexas.edu |
512-471-8020 |
CLA2.622F

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Photo of Yasmiyn Irizarry

Yasmiyn Irizarry

Assistant Professor, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies (Affiliated)

yirizarry@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Indiana University Bloomington

Photo of Dhiraj Murthy

Dhiraj Murthy

Associate Professor, School of Journalism, Moody College of Communication (Affiliated)

dhiraj.murthy@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1845 |
BMC 3.338

Education: Ph.D., University of Cambridge

Photo of Catherine Riegle-Crumb

Catherine Riegle-Crumb

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education (Affiliated)

riegle@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-8642 |
MAI 2312

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Stephen Russell

Stephen Russell

Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences (Affiliated)

stephen.russell@utexas.edu |
SEA 2.444

Education: Ph.D., Duke University

Photo of Lauren Schudde

Lauren Schudde

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Administration, College of Education (Affiliated)

schudde@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Photo of Eric Tang

Eric Tang

Associate Professor, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies (Affiliated)

erictang@utexas.edu |
BLS 3.136

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Photo of Paul von Hippel

Paul von Hippel

Associate Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs (Affiliated)

paulvonhippel@austin.utexas.edu |
512-537-8112 |
SRH 3.251

Education: Ph.D., Ohio State University

S. Craig Watkins

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication; Department of African and African Diaspora Studies, College of Liberal Arts (Affiliated)

craig.watkins@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-6676 |
CMA 6.118

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Emeritus Faculty


Harley L Browning

Professor Emeritus

harleybwaldib@yahoo.com

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of W. Parker Frisbie

W. Parker Frisbie

Professor Emeritus

frisbie@prc.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of Omer R. Galle

Omer R. Galle

Professor Emeritus

org@prc.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of John Higley

John Higley

Professor Emeritus

jhigley@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Connecticut

Samuel D Mclemore

Professor Emeritus

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of John Mirowsky

John Mirowsky

Professor Emeritus

mirowsky@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-7064 |
CLA 2.622G

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of Thomas Pullum

Thomas Pullum

Professor Emeritus; Director of Research, The Demographic and Health Surveys Program, ICF International

tom.pullum@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Bryan R. Roberts

Bryan R. Roberts

Professor Emeritus

brr@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-6329 |
CLA 3.522

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Catherine E. Ross

Catherine E. Ross

Professor Emeritus

cross@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-7064 |
CLA 2.622G

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of Gideon A Sjoberg

Gideon A Sjoberg

Professor Emeritus

gsjoberg@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Washington State University

Photo of Teresa A Sullivan

Teresa A Sullivan

Professor Emeritus

tas6n@virginia.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Antonio Ugalde

Professor Emeritus

augalde@mail.la.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    CLA 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300