Department of Sociology
Search for people
Photo of Anima Adjepong

Anima Adjepong

Graduate student

adjepong@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor. Cube 1

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Sexualities, Immigration, Diaspora, Postcolonial Studies, and Qualitative Methodology

Photo of Marta Ascherio

Marta Ascherio

Graduate student

marta.ascherio@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Vermont

Riad Azar

Graduate student

Anna Banchik

Graduate Student

abanchik@gmail.com

Education: M.A., University of Texas, Austin

Photo of Nino Bariola

Nino Bariola

Graduate student

nbariola@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214C

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: economic sociology, political sociology, work and organizations, inequality, fiscal sociology, health, ethnography

Carlos Barreto-Beck

Graduate student

Photo of Claude Bonazzo

Claude Bonazzo

Graduate student

cbonazzo@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Texas State University

Photo of Eric Enrique Borja

Eric Enrique Borja

Graduate student

ericeborja@gmail.com

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Media, Social Movements, Collective Action, Race and Ethnicity in Brazil, Political Sociology, Education, Quantitative Methods, Qualitative Methods.

Photo of Amanda Bosky

Amanda Bosky

Graduate student

abosky@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.702B

Education: J.D., Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Interests: Education, Social Stratification and Mobility, Work and Occupations

Photo of Rebekah Kathleen Broussard

Rebekah Kathleen Broussard

Graduate Research Assistant and PRC Trainee

rkbroussard@prc.utexas.edu |
CLA 2.620B

Education: M.A., University of Chicago

Interests: Maternal and Reproductive Health, Gender, Demography, Development and Social Policy

Photo of Letisha Brown

Letisha Brown

Doctoral Student

letisha12@utexas.edu

Interests: Race/Ethnicity, Body/Embodiment, Social Relationships, Food Practices, Intersectionality

Photo of Shantel Buggs

Shantel Buggs

Graduate student

sgbuggs@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214B

Education: Ph.D. Candidate, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Race & Ethnicity; Family and Romantic Intimate Relationships; Gender; Sexualities; Critical Mixed-Race/Multiracial Studies; Popular Culture; Theory; Qualitative Methodology

Photo of Caitlin Canfield

Caitlin Canfield

Graduate student

ccanfield@prc.utexas.edu |
CLA 2.620B

Education: M.P.H., Tulane University School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine

Interests: Demography, Reproductive and Sexual Health, Disparities in Health Access & Outcomes, Mixed Methods, Community-Engaged Research.

Photo of Phillip Cantu

Phillip Cantu

Graduate student

cantuphillip@utexas.edu

Education: B.A., Southwestern University

Caitlin Carroll

Graduate student

caitlin_carroll@utexas.edu |
608-620-5658 |
CLA 3rd Floor, Cube 4

Education: M.A., Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of Jamie Carroll

Jamie Carroll

Graduate student

jmcarroll@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.408E

Education: M.A., University of New Orleans

Interests: Education, Work Occupations and Organizations, Creativity, Civic Participation

Photo of Shih-Yi Chao

Shih-Yi Chao

Graduate student

sychao@utexas.edu

Photo of Yu Chen

Yu Chen

Doctoral Student, PRC Graduate Student Trainee

chenyu@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Urbanization, housing, informal economy, comparative and historical sociology; China, Mexico, Cuba

Photo of Candrianna Clem

Candrianna Clem

Graduate student

candiclem@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Purdue University

Photo of Thatcher Combs

Thatcher Combs

Graduate student

Photo of Elizabeth Cozzolino

Elizabeth Cozzolino

Graduate student

elizabeth.cozzolino@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406G

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender, The Family, Stratification, Criminal Justice

Photo of Jacinto Cuvi

Jacinto Cuvi

Graduate student

jacintocuvi@austin.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Sciences Po

Interests: Urban Studies, Development, Social Policy, Mixed Methods, Latin America

Photo of Kevin Dahaghi

Kevin Dahaghi

Graduate student

kdahaghi@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor. Cubicle 7

Education: B.A., Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Interests: Policing; incarceration; crime victimization; neighborhoods; inequality; residential segregation

Photo of Jorge Derpic

Jorge Derpic

Graduate student

jderpic@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Political Sociology, Law and Society, Criminology, Urban Sociology, Qualitative Methods, Latin America

Photo of Rachel Donnelly

Rachel Donnelly

Graduate student

redonnelly@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.622A

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Demography; Health and Health Disparities; Aging and the Life Course; Gender; Intergenerational Transmission of Health and Inequality; Quantitative Methods and Statistics

Photo of Mateo Farina

Mateo Farina

Graduate student

matthew.p.farina@gmail.com

Education: M.A., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Brandyn Paige Gabriel

Brandyn Paige Gabriel

Graduate student

paige.gabriel@utexas.edu

Interests: Gender, Family, Work, Qualitative Methods

Photo of Marc Garcia

Marc Garcia

Graduate student

marcagarcia@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., Texas A&M University

Michael Garcia

Graduate student

Jessica Goldstein-Kral

Graduate student

Photo of Carmen Gutierrez

Carmen Gutierrez

Graduate student

carmen.gutierrez@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406G

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Hyun Jeong Ha

Hyun Jeong Ha

Graduate student

hjha@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Seoul National University

Interests: Political sociology, ethnic and racial relations in the Middle East, ethnic violence, religion and politics, sociology of emotions, gender, Islamic family law, Qualitative methods

Photo of Caitlin Hamrock

Caitlin Hamrock

Graduate student

CaitlinHamrock@gmail.com

Education: B.A., University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

Maricarmen Hernandez

Graduate student

Photo of Kathy Hill

Kathy Hill

Graduate student

hillkathy@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Asia/Asian America; Intimate Markets; Labor Markets; Immigration; Social Inequality; Social Stratification

Photo of Koit Hung

Koit Hung

Graduate student

hung.koit@gmail.com

Education: MPhil, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Daniel Jaster

Graduate student

jaster@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., University of Oregon

Interests: Political sociology; social movements; comparative and historical sociology; rural sociology; theory

Janice Jeang

Graduate student

jpj@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Department of Sociology

Photo of Katherine Jensen

Katherine Jensen

Graduate student

kajensen@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214E

Education: M.A, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Race/Racism, the State, Immigration, Ethnography, Asylum and Refugee Studies, Latin America, African Diaspora

Photo of Paul Kasun

Paul Kasun

PRC Graduate Student Trainee; PhD Candidate

frpaul@utexas.edu |
5127697513 |
PRC

Education: M.A., Kenrick-Glennon Seminary

Photo of Andrew Krebs

Andrew Krebs

Graduate student

andrew.krebs@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., DePaul University

Interests: Law and Society

Karen Lee

Graduate student

Sarah Lowe

Graduate student

Photo of Shannon Malone

Shannon Malone

Graduate student

shannonmalone@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Gender, Race & Ethnicity, Social Networks, Stratification, Mobility, and Social Policy

Vrinda Marwah

Graduate student

vrinda.marwah@utexas.edu

Interests: Reproductive health and technologies, Gender and labor, Surrogacy, Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity, Qualitative Methodology, Contemporary India, Social Movements, State

Jennifer McMorris

Graduate student

Jennifere.mcmorris@gmail.com

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Corey McZeal

Corey McZeal

Graduate student

cmczeal@utexas.edu

Photo of Megan Neely

Megan Neely

Graduate student

mtneely@utexas.edu |
Sociology Department, CLA 3rd Floor

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender, Race, and Class; Work and Organizations; Income Inequality; Economic Sociology; Gender and Politics

Jamie O'quinn

Graduate student

joquinn@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle 10

Education: M.A., San Francisco State University

Interests: Sexualities; Gender; Sexuality Education; Feminist Theory; Queer Theory; Qualitative Methodologies

Photo of Julie Skalamera Olson

Julie Skalamera Olson

Graduate student

julie.skalamera@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Emily Paine

Graduate student

e.paine@utexas.edu |
CLA PRC 2.214B

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Health, Gender & Gender Identity, Sexualities, Race & Ethnicity, Intersectionality, Mixed Methods, Social Movements.

Photo of Cristian Paredes

Cristian Paredes

PhD Candidate

clparedese@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Houston

Photo of Evangeleen Pattison

Evangeleen Pattison

Graduate student

epattison@prc.utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Ruijie Peng

Ruijie Peng

Graduate student

ruijie.peng@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.306

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin, Department of Sociology

Interests: Labor; Rural Development; Political Economy; Qualitative Methods; Theory; China

Photo of Lilla Pivnick

Lilla Pivnick

Graduate student

lpivnick@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. in Psychology, Rice University

Interests: Education, Work and Occupations, Early Childhood, Adolescence, Demography.

Photo of Alejandro Ponce De Leon

Alejandro Ponce De Leon

Graduate Student

poncedeleoncalero@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214B

Education: M.A. in Cultural Studies, Universidad de los Andes

Interests: Colombia; Armed Violence; Cultural Studies; Ethnography.

Photo of Juan Portillo

Juan Portillo

Graduate student

juanra85@gmail.com

Education: PhD, Sociology (class of 2016), The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Chicana feminism, decolonial methodologies, college students, media

Beth Prosnitz

Graduate student

bprosnitz@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The New School

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Citizenship, Gender

Md Rafiul Al Rahman

Graduate student

Photo of Nicholas E. Reith

Nicholas E. Reith

Doctoral Candidate

nreith@utexas.edu |
646-821-1880

Education: M.A., Georgetown University

Photo of Robert Ressler

Robert Ressler

Graduate student

rwress@utexas.edu |
512-270-1404 |
2.406A

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Non-profits, education, stratification, inequality, bike riding, making pizza, happy hours

Photo of Brandon Robinson

Brandon Robinson

Graduate student

barobinson@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Gender & Sexualities; Race & Ethnicity; Health & HIV/AIDS; LGBTQ Studies; Cyberspace; Poverty & Homelessness; Qualitative & Mixed Methodologies

Photo of Katherine Rogers

Katherine Rogers

Graduate student

katierogers@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor #14

Education: B.A., Colorado College

Interests: Gender, Sexualities, Race & Ethnicity, Youth, Qualitative Methods, Theory

Photo of Luis Romero

Luis Romero

Graduate student

luis.a.romero@icloud.com |
3rd Floor CLA

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Race and Ethnicity, Immigration, Political Sociology, Social Movements, Research Methodology

Photo of Vivian Shaw

Vivian Shaw

Graduate student

vivianshaw@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Asian & Asian American Studies; Culutral Studies; Ethnography and Qualitative Methods; Gender; Race & Ethnicity; Science and Technology; Japan

Photo of Connor Sheehan

Connor Sheehan

Graduate student

connor.sheehan@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., University of Colorado at Boulder

Photo of Gracia Sierra

Gracia Sierra

Graduate student

gracia.sierra@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Duke University

Photo of Samantha Simon

Samantha Simon

Graduate student

samanthasimon@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Robert Sitko

Graduate student

bobsitko@gmail.com

Photo of Ilya Slavinski

Ilya Slavinski

Graduate student

ilya.slavinski@utexas.edu

Education: M.S., London School of Economics

Interests: Mass Incarceration, Prison Policy, Race, Inequality

Photo of Chelsea Smith

Chelsea Smith

PhD Candidate

chelsea.c.smith@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.406B

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Families; Children, Youth, and Adolescents; Demography; Longitudinal Quantitative Methods

Photo of Katherine Sobering

Katherine Sobering

Graduate student

ksobering@utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Political Sociology; Social Movements; Work and Organizations; Gender; Qualitative Methods; Latin America

Emily Spangenberg

PhD Candidate

spangenberg@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.214D

Education: M.A., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Environmental Inequality; Ethnography; GIS & Geospatial Analysis; Health; Human Rights; Latin America

Photo of Mary Ellen Stitt

Mary Ellen Stitt

Graduate student

mstitt@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Latin American Studies, Tulane University

Interests: Education, community-based participatory research

Haley Stritzel

Graduate student

haley-stritzel@utexas.edu |
2.406G

Education: B.A., University of Tulsa

Interests: Family demography, quantitative methods, social stratification, social policy, neighborhood effects, adolescent and child health

Photo of Kara Takasaki

Kara Takasaki

Graduate student

kara.takasaki@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor, Cubicle 31

Education: M.A., The University of Chicago

Interests: Gender, Family, Race, Ethnicity, Work, Social Welfare Policy, Asian America

Jessica Thomas

Graduate student

jessica.m.thomas@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor Sociology, Cubicle #32

Education: B.A., University of California, Davis

Interests: Gender; Work & Occupations; Political Economy; Neoliberalism; Organizations

Photo of Kristopher Velasco

Kristopher Velasco

Graduate student

krisvelasco@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor | #33

Education: B.A., University of Kansas

Interests: Social Movements, Political Sociology, Transnationalism, Globalization, Sexualities, Qualitative Methods

Mario Venegas

Graduate student

mario.venegas@utexas.edu

Interests: Social Movements, Neoliberal governance, intellectual classes-organic and traditional

Photo of Aida Villanueva

Aida Villanueva

Graduate student

aidavm@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Pontifical Catholic University of Peru

Interests: Social mobility, Gender & Work, Latin America

Photo of Inbar Weiss

Inbar Weiss

Graduate student

inbar.weiss@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor. Cube 8

Education: M.A, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Interests: Demography, Formal Demography, Historical Demography, Migration, Integration Processes, Family

Photo of Timothy Werwath

Timothy Werwath

Graduate student

twerwath@utexas.edu |
CLA 2.408K

Education: M.A., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Sociology of Mental Health, Educational Inequality and Opportunity

Minle Xu

Graduate student

minlexu22@gmail.com

Education: M.S., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Marriage; Health; Parenthood; Division of Labor; Work and Family Conflict; Quantitative Methods

Photo of Maro Youssef

Maro Youssef

Graduate student

Maro@utexas.edu |
CLA 3rd Floor. Cube 22

Education: M.A., George Washington University

Interests: Gender, Qualitative Methods, Comparative-Historical, Political Sociology, Theory, Culture, Social Movements, Organizations, Media, North Africa and the Middle East


  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    CLA 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086
    512-232-6300