South Asia Institute
South Asia Institute
Search for people

Anthropology


Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Director - South Asia Institute / Professor

asdar@austin.utexas.edu |
512.475.6039 |
WCH 4.132B

Education: Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Jason Cons

Jason Cons

Assistant Professor

jasoncons@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-3832 |
SAC 5.138

Education: Ph.D., Cornell University

Photo of Ward Keeler

Ward Keeler

Associate Professor

ward.keeler@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8520 |
SAC 4.128

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Architecture


Patricia Wilson

Professor

patriciawilson@utexas.edu |
512.471.0130 |
SUT 3.122

Education: Ph. D., Cornell University

Art History


Michael Charlesworth

Professor

mick@mail.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-2345 |
DFA 2.126

Education: Ph.D., University of Kent, Canterbury, England

Janice Leoshko

Associate Professor

jleoshko@austin.utexas.edu |
232-2581 |
DFA 2.110

Education: Ph.D., Ohio State University

Asian Studies


Photo of Joel Brereton

Joel Brereton

Associate Professor

jpb@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6024 |
WCH 4.114

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of Donald R Davis

Donald R Davis

Associate Professor

drdj@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7921 |
WCH 4.114

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Sanskrit; Dharmaśāstra; Law and Religion; Medieval India; Malayalam

Photo of Oliver Freiberger

Oliver Freiberger

Associate Professor

of@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8239 |
WCH 4.104A

Education: Ph.D., Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany

Interests: Indian Buddhism | asceticism | comparison in the study of religion

Photo of Shahnaz Hassan

Shahnaz Hassan

Lecturer

snzhasan@austin.utexas.edu |
471-0304 |
HRH 3.102

Education: B.A., University of the Punjab

Photo of Heather Hindman

Heather Hindman

Associate Professor

h.hindman@mail.utexas.edu |
471-1667 |
WCH 5.103

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

S. Akbar Hyder

Associate Professor

syedakbarhyder@gmail.com |
475-6031 |
WCH 4.134

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of Darsana Manayathu Sasi

Darsana Manayathu Sasi

Lecturer

darsana@austin.utexas.edu |
WCH 5.126

Education: PhD in Malayalam Literature, University of Kerala

Photo of Carla Petievich

Carla Petievich

Visiting Professor

petievichc@mail.utexas.edu |
475-6035 |
WCH 4.122

Photo of Sankaran Radhakrishnan

Sankaran Radhakrishnan

Senior Lecturer

radha@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6048 |
WCH 5.136

Education: Ph.D., Annamalai University

Photo of Martha Selby

Martha Selby

Professor

mas@austin.utexas.edu |
475-6040 |
WCH 4.134

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Gautami Shah

Senior Lecturer

gshah@austin.utexas.edu

Education: M.S., Purdue University

Photo of Ahmed Shamim

Ahmed Shamim

Lecturer

ahmedshamim@utexas.edu

Education: MA in Linguistics, Graduate Center, City University of New York

Photo of Jishnu Shankar

Jishnu Shankar

Senior Lecturer

jshankar@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1219 |
WCH 5.105

Education: Ph. D., Syracuse University

Photo of Snehal Shingavi

Snehal Shingavi

Assistant Professor

snehal.shingavi@utexas.edu |
512-471-8114 |
PAR 29

Education: Ph.D., 2009, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Anglophone South Asian literature, Hindi/Urdu literature, Literature in Translation and Translation Theory, Theories of “the nation” (anticolonialism, nationalism, statism, postcolonialism, postnationalism, cosmopolitanism, globalization, transnationalism, internationalism), Classical Marxism

Comparative Literature


Photo of Snehal Shingavi

Snehal Shingavi

Assistant Professor

snehal.shingavi@utexas.edu |
512-471-8114 |
PAR 29

Education: Ph.D., 2009, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Anglophone South Asian literature, Hindi/Urdu literature, Literature in Translation and Translation Theory, Theories of “the nation” (anticolonialism, nationalism, statism, postcolonialism, postnationalism, cosmopolitanism, globalization, transnationalism, internationalism), Classical Marxism

Economics


Photo of Leigh Linden

Leigh Linden

Assistant Professor

leigh.linden@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Photo of Dean Spears

Dean Spears

Assistant Professor

dspears@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Princeton

Electrical & Computer Engineering


Vijay Garg

Professor

garg@ece.utexas.edu |
512.471.9424 |
ACE 5.436

Sriram Vishwanath

Professor

sriram@ece.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-1190 |
ENS 439A

English


Photo of Mia Carter

Mia Carter

Associate Professor

miac@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8733 |
PAR 123

Education: Ph.D., English and Modern Studies, 1992, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Brian Doherty

Senior Lecturer

bfd@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8798 |
PAR 326

Education: Ph.D., 1994, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Ernest Kaulbach

Professor

ekaulbach@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8365 |
CAL 17

Education: Ph.D., 1970, Cornell University

Photo of Snehal Shingavi

Snehal Shingavi

Assistant Professor

snehal.shingavi@utexas.edu |
512-471-8114 |
PAR 29

Education: Ph.D., 2009, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Anglophone South Asian literature, Hindi/Urdu literature, Literature in Translation and Translation Theory, Theories of “the nation” (anticolonialism, nationalism, statism, postcolonialism, postnationalism, cosmopolitanism, globalization, transnationalism, internationalism), Classical Marxism

Photo of Hannah C Wojciehowski

Hannah C Wojciehowski

Professor

gemelli@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8768 |
PAR 230

Education: Ph.D., 1984, Yale University

Interests: globalization and transculturation in pre-modernity; medieval and Renaissance travel literature; neurocriticism

Ethnomusicology


Stephen Slawek

Professor

slawek@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-0671 |
MBE 3.202

Government


Photo of Gary J. Jacobsohn

Gary J. Jacobsohn

Professor

gjacobsohn@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1444 |
MEZ 3.110

Education: Ph.D., Cornell University

Photo of Paula Newberg

Paula Newberg

Professor

pnewberg@austin.utexas.edu |
232-7270 |
BATS 4.102

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

History


Photo of Indrani Chatterjee

Indrani Chatterjee

Professor

ichatterjee@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., History, 1996, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Photo of Sumit Guha

Sumit Guha

Professor

sguha@austin.utexas.edu |
474-7236 |
2.140 GAR

Education: Ph.D., History, 1981, University of Cambridge

Photo of Philippa Levine

Philippa Levine

Professor

philippa@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.1236 |
HRC 3.202B

Education: D.Phil., 1984, Oxford University (St. Antony's College)

Interests: Asian colonies of the British Empire

Photo of Wm. Roger Louis

Wm. Roger Louis

Professor

britishstudies@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9274 |
HRC 3.202

Education: D.Phil., 1962, and D.Litt., 1979, Oxford University

Interests: History of the British Empire and Commonwealth, the Middle East, India, and end of empires

Photo of Cynthia Talbot

Cynthia Talbot

Associate Professor

ctalbot@austin.utexas.edu |
475-7229 |
GAR 3.406

Education: PhD, 1988, University of Wisconsin at Madison

Interests: Medieval and early modern history of South Asia

Photo of James M. Vaughn

James M. Vaughn

Assistant Professor

jmvaughn@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2008, University of Chicago

Information, Risk & Operations Management


Journalism


Photo of Robert W. Jensen

Robert W. Jensen

Professor

rjensen@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Education: Ph. D., University of Minnesota

Law


Photo of Karen Engle

Karen Engle

Professor

kengle@law.utexas.edu |
512.232.7066

Education: J.D., Havard University

Marketing


Kate Gillespie

Associate Professor

kate.gillespie@mccombs.utexas.edu |
512.471.5438 |
CBA 7.258

Education: Ph.D., London Business School

Vijay Mahajan

Professor

vijay.mahajan@mccombs.utexas.edu |
+1 512 471 1128 |
CBA 7.202

Rajagopal Raghunathan

Professor

raj.raghunathan@mccombs.utexas.edu |
471-2987 |
CBA 7.232

Interests: Affect and Decision Making, Hedonic and Utilitarian Consumption

Middle Eastern Studies


Photo of Faegheh Shirazi

Faegheh Shirazi

Professor

fshirazi@austin.utexas.edu |
232-9416 |
WMB 6.128

Education: Ph.D., Ohio State University

Philosophy


Photo of Daniel A Bonevac

Daniel A Bonevac

Professor

bonevac@austin.utexas.edu |
(5120 232-4333 |
WAG 403

Education: PhD, University of Pittsburgh

Interests: Philosophy; Logic; Moral Issues; Ethics; Philosophy in Popular Culture; Christian Philosophy.

Photo of Stephen Phillips

Stephen Phillips

Professor

stephen_phillips@utexas.edu |
471-5080 |
WAG 301

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Public Affairs


Photo of David Eaton

David Eaton

Professor

eaton@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471.8972 |
SRH 3.204

Education: Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Erin Lentz

Erin Lentz

Assistant Professor

erinclentz@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Cornell University

Photo of Leigh Linden

Leigh Linden

Assistant Professor

leigh.linden@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Photo of Varun Rai

Varun Rai

Assistant Professor

raivarun@gmail.com |
512-471-5057 |
SRH 3.256

Education: Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University

Radio, Television & Film


Lalitha Gopalan

Associate Professor

lalitha.gopalan@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-9374 |
CMA 6.174

Shanti Kumar

Associate Professor

shantikumar@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-3498 |
CMA 6.128A

Education: Ph.D., Indiana University-Bloomington

Madhavi Mallapragada

Assistant Professor

madhavim@austin.utexas.edu |
471-9239 |
CMA 6.172

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of Karin Wilkins

Karin Wilkins

Professor

karin.wilkins@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Religious Studies


Photo of A. Azfar Moin

A. Azfar Moin

Associate Professor

amoin@utexas.edu |
512 232-7224 |
BUR 518

Education: PhD, History, University of Michigan

Interests: Sufism and Sainthood in Islam; Sacred Kingship; Early Modern Iran, Central Asia, and South Asia

Sociology


Photo of Diane Coffey

Diane Coffey

Assistant Professor

coffey@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Professor

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu |
232-6310 |
BUR 574

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Emeritus Faculty


Photo of J.K. Aggarwal

J.K. Aggarwal

Professor Emeritus, Electrical & Computer Engineering

aggarwaljk@mail.utexas.edu

John Bordie

Professor Emeritus, Linguistics

jgbordie@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of James Brow

James Brow

Professor Emeritus, Anthropology

jbrow@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Harry Cleaver, Jr.

Associate Professor Emeritus, Economics

hmcleave@austin.utexas.edu |
512.475.8535 |
BRB 3.162

Donald Davis, Jr.

Professor Emeritus, Library and Information Science

Education: Ph.D. in library science, University of Illinois at Urbana

Photo of Mohammad Ghanoonparvar

Mohammad Ghanoonparvar

Professor Emeritus, Middle Eastern Studies

mrghanoonparvar@utexas.edu |
475-6605 |
WMB 5.132

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas- Austtin

Photo of William Glade

William Glade

Professor Emeritus

gladew@att.net |
512.471.3211 |
BRB 1.116

Photo of Kathryn Hansen

Kathryn Hansen

Professor Emeritus, Asian Studies

kgh@austin.utexas.edu |
475-6035 |
WCH 4.122

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Professor Emeritus, Government

rlh@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Robert King

Robert King

Professor Emeritus, Linguistics

rking@austin.utexas.edu |
923-3502 |
CAL 507

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Photo of Gail Minault

Gail Minault

Professor Emeritus, History

gminault@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7214 |
GAR 3.118

Education: Ph.D., 1972, University of Pennsylvania

Photo of Patrick Olivelle

Patrick Olivelle

Professor Emeritus, Asian Studies

jpo@uts.cc.utexas.edu |
512-475-6032 |
WCH 4.112

Education: Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Photo of Thomas Pullum

Thomas Pullum

Professor Emeritus, Sociology

tom.pullum@utexas.edu |
232-6314 |
BUR 518

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Rupert Snell

Rupert Snell

Professor Emeritus, Asian Studies

rupertsnell@austin.utexas.edu |
471-7955 |
WCH 4.130

Education: Ph.D., University of London

E. C. George Sudarshan

Professor Emeritus, Physics

sudarshan@physics.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-5229 |
RLM 9.328

Interests: Elementary particle physics; quantum optics; quantum field theory; gauge field theories; fibre bundles; classical mechanics; foundations of physics

Photo of Herman Van Olphen

Herman Van Olphen

Professor Emeritus, Asian Studies

hvo@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin