College of Liberal Arts

Declaring a Liberal Arts Major

The first step to declaring most Liberal Arts majors is to make an appointment with an academic advisor in that department. If you are currently a student in another college at the University of Texas at Austin, please see the following about internal transfer. 

Some Liberal Arts majors require that you first attend an information session. Below is a list of current semester sessions and links to the departments' internal transfer or advising policies. 

Economics

Starting in spring 2016, current UT students will need to submit an application (available in January 2016) to the Economics Department by stated deadlines and meet eligibility requirements in order to declare an Economics major.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS:

Completion of the following courses with a grade of at least C minus in each:

  • ECO 304K & ECO 304L
  • M 408K & M 408L (or M408C and M408D, or M408N and M408S)

APPLICATION DEADLINES

  • Fall admission: May 1
  • Spring admission: December 1

Optional Information Session Dates:

Thursday, February 9, 5:30-6:30pm, CLA 1.302E

Tuesday, March 7, 10:00-11:00am, CLA 1.302B

Wednesday, March 22, 5:30pm-6:30pm, CLA 1.302B

Wednesday, April 19, 5:30-6:30pm, CLA 1.302B

Monday, May 8, 3:00-4:00pm, CLA 1.302B

Environmental Science

Information Sessions

Tuesday, January 24th, 10:00-11:00am, in JGB 4.102

Wednesday, February 8th, 2:00-3:00pm, in JGB 4.102

Thursday, February 16th, 3:00-4:00pm, in JGB 4.102

Government

Thursday, March 2, 9:00 – 10:00am, in BAT 5.108

Tuesday, March 212:00 – 3:00pm, in BAT 5.108

Wednesday, March 29, 11:00am – 12:00pm, in BAT 5.108

 

Tuesday, April 4, 8:30 – 9:30am

Thursday, April 133:30 -4:30pm

Friday, April 2111:00am – 12:00pm

Wednesday, April 269:00 - 10:00am

 

To RSVP for a session: https://utexas.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_5C1xbopVLo4XZRj

International Relations and Global Studies

Internal transfer students must meet GPA criteria and have taken certain courses to apply. The application deadline for admission to the spring 2017 semester is Dec 1, 2016.

Information Sessions

Friday, Feb 10, 3:00 - 4:00pm, CLA 1.302D

Thursday, Feb 23, 11:00am - 12:00pm, CLA 1.302D

Monday, March 6, 10:00 - 11:00am, CLA 1.302D

Tuesday, March 21, 2:00 - 3:00pm, CLA 1.302D

Wednesday, April 5, 12:00 - 1:00 pm, CLA 1.302D

Thursday, April 20, TBA

Monday, May 1, 4:00 - 5:00p, CLA 1.302D

Psychology

Application Deadlines:

Summer/Fall: May 1, 11:59pm

Spring: November 1, 11:59pm

Internal transfer students must meet GPA criteria and have taken a psychology class in residence.  

Information session dates: 

Tuesday, March 28, 2:00 - 3:00pm, CLA 1.302D

Wednesday, April 5, 10:00 - 11:00am, BUR 214

Thursday, April 13, 10:00 - 11:00am, BUR 214

Monday, April 17, 9:00 - 10:00am, BUR 214

Friday, April 28, 1:00 - 2:00pm, BUR 214

Monday, May 1, 3:00 - 4:00pm, BUR 214