Air Force ROTC
Air Force ROTC

Welcome to Longhorn Airman Country

The University of Texas Detachment 825 AFROTC program was established in 1947, shortly after the creation of the United States Air Force.  In the 70-plus-year history of the detachment, we have enjoyed the strong support from University leadership.  The support of current University President Gregory Fenves has been exceptional.  Cadets interact with President Fenves on multiple occasions throughout the academic year.

Our detachment has a long tradition of producing world-class second lieutenants for America’s Air Force.  To date, our distinguished alumni include retired three-star Kenneth Eickmann, the first female fighter pilot in the Air Force, Brig Gen Jeannie M. Leavitt, Operation ENDURING FREEDOM/IRAQI FREEDOM veterans like Maj Christopher Cooper, Purple Heart recipient Captain John Simpson, former NCAA track and field stars Capt Quincy Boles and Capt Kelly Heinbaugh, and a member of the 2005 National Champion football team, Capt Brad Poronsky.

We are privileged to have the 13th Secretary of the Air Force and former Chancellor of The University of Texas, Dr Hans Mark, on faculty in Austin.  In addition to teaching cadets in the aerospace engineering degree program, Dr Mark spends several hours with all detachment cadets every semester.

Our detachment has a rich culture that breeds excellence in our cadets – from day one in our program through graduation.  Prior to new commissionees’ departure, Det 825 cadets and cadre take part in a “Remove Before Flight” ceremony to remind our grads one last time to accept nothing less than excellence.  We don’t just commission second lieutenants, we ensure they are ready for takeoff into America’s Air Force.

It starts here:  Longhorn Airman to American Airman!

Our new home is the 5th floor of  the spectacular flagship Robert L. Patton Hall located on the East Mall.  Come visit us the next time you are on campus.