College of Liberal Arts


tower with fall color leaves in foreground

Twenty graduating liberal arts seniors have been named Dean’s Distinguished Graduates for 2020.

The College instituted this award in 1980 to recognize graduating Liberal Arts students who have distinguished themselves in the areas of scholarship, leadership, and service to the College and University community. It is the highest award the College offers and truly reflective of the remarkable caliber of liberal arts graduates. The college has honored this year’s highly accomplished pool of nominees by selecting twenty Dean’s Distinguished Graduates and ten Honorable Mention recipients.

This year marks the 41st anniversary of the Dean’s Distinguished Graduates, which has yielded more than 400 alumni who represent the best and the brightest graduates of the College of Liberal Arts. In 2009, the College created the Dean’s Distinguished Graduate Alumni Association in an effort to better connect alumni to one another and the college.

While the Spring of 2020 has brought unexpected events and postponement of many Longhorn and College traditions, this year’s remarkable DDG class offers an opportunity to celebrate the work and excellence of these scholars and citizens. Please joined Dean Stevens in congratulating these remarkable students.

2020 Dean's Distinguished Graduates

  • Margaret Siu: Plan II / Concentration in Chinese Studies
  • Jacob Hood: Sociology, African and African Diaspora Studies, English
  • Ethan Russo: Plan II, Philosophy (Honors), Classics / Minor in English / Mathematics
  • Syed Rizvi: Government and Philosophy
  • Avery Largent: Humanities + Psychology / Minor in African & African Diaspora Studies
  • Carol-Armelle Ze-Noah: Government, Women's & Gender Studies; African and African Diaspora Studies / Minor in Russian Language
  • Ishaana Talesara: Economics and Mathematics
  • Nishita Pondugula: Religious Studies, Neuroscience
  • Michaela Lavelle: Psychology, Humanities
  • Daniela Cos: International Relations and Global Studies, Honors / Italian, Honors
  • Angela Kvitek: Asian Studies, with Korean Minor
  • Isabella Fanucci: Psychology
  • Gabriela Coelho: Plan II, Generic All Level Special Education / Minor in Philosophy
  • Ian Sims: International Political Economy, Latin American Studies
  • Grace Schrobilgen: Health and Society, Iberian and Latin American Languages and Cultures / Minor Sociology
  • Sam Ross: Archaeology, Classical Languages
  • Matt Maldonado: Government, Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies / Minor in Russian Language
  • Kensey Kirby: English / Minor in Communication Studies
  • Paul Cockrum: Asian culture and Languages, Chinese with Honors, Linguistics, Iberian and Latin American Language and Culture, Spanish
  • Drew Burd: Economics and Mathematics

2020 DDG Honorable Mention recipients

  • Lyle Paul: Classics Honors / Minor in History
  • Grace Metz: Psychology, Honors
  • Chloe Kersh: International Relations and Global Studies, French / Liberal Arts Honors Program
  • Kristen Kelly: Iberian & Latin American Languages and Cultures, Linguistics 
  • Sarah Hyden: Urban Studies, Humanities Honors / Minor in Sociology
  • Emily Frazier: Plan II, Linguistics, Spanish / Minor in History
  • Roshni Edalur: Health and Society / Minor in Health Communications
  • Sarah Boatwright: Plan II , Sustainability Studies / Minor in English
  • Sarah Beech: Government and Psychology
  • Jesus Adolfo Hermosillo: Linguistics