Department of Asian Studies
Department of Asian Studies

Awards for Best Telugu Language Students

Wed, April 23, 2008

The Telugu Association of North America has announced two BEST STUDENT awards for the first year and second year Telugu classes at UT-Austin. Celebrating the successful completion of the first year of Telugu language courses at UT, the Telugu Association of North America (TANA) convened a gathering and congratulated this year's Telugu students. To promote and encourage Telugu language study at UT-Austin, TANA announced that it would present two awards to meritorious students each academic year.

“It is a great pleasure to see the students interest in Telugu language and culture. We are particularly happy with Dr. Afsar’s conscientious effort in motivating them to learn our Telugu. We certainly continue our efforts,” said Prabhakar Chowdary, President TANA.

“We are proud of this program’s achievements. We certainly feel that even non-Telugus are now motivated to take Telugu.” said Prasad Thotakura, Secretary TANA. Both of them expressed their happiness for the continuous support from the Asian Studies faculty to develop the Telugu language program.

Bookmark and Share