Department of Asian Studies
Department of Asian Studies

Congratulations to our Award-Winning Undergraduates in Asian Studies

Wed, May 29, 2013

Several of our majors have been awarded scholarships through the department and through national competitions. Please join us in congratulating the following students:

Jessica Hernandez (Japanese and psychology) and Benjamin Parker (Chinese and architecture) have been awarded the Unrestricted Endowed Presidential Scholarship for academic year 2013-2014. The UEPS program, established in 1973, is considered one of the most notable scholarships available to UT students. Both students will be going abroad next year: Jessica plans to study Japanese at Obirin University, and Ben will study architecture at Tsinghua University in Beijing. Ben will also be attending the Harvard IMUSE conference in Beijing and Hong Kong this summer. Both Ben and Jessica hope to capitalize on their language studies through professional careers abroad. 

Three of our majors, Steven Burt (Korean and Asian Studies), Billy Yates (Asian Studies and IRG), and Christie Nguyen (Japanese) were awarded a U.S. State Department Critical Language Scholarship to study a critical language during the summer of 2013. The CLS Program is part of a U.S. government effort to expand dramatically the number of Americans studying and mastering critical foreign languages. CLS Program participants are expected to continue their language study beyond the scholarship and apply their language skills in their future professional careers.

Chinese and Finance major Jessica Briseno won the Bill and Tomiko Kennedy Endowed Presidential Scholarship in Chinese Studies. This scholarship supports undergraduate students who study Chinese language, literature, culture, and history at UT. After graduation, Jessica would like to use her knowledge of Chinese to serve in the Foreign Service or to pursue a career in translation for American companies.

Robert Van Patten (IRG and Asian Studies) has been awarded the Louise J. Faurot Memorial Endowed Presidential Scholarship in Chinese Studies. This scholarship supports undergraduate students in their research and scholarly efforts with a focus on Chinese Studies. Robert plans to move to Taiwan or Mainland China after graduation in hopes of doing translation work or else work as an interpreter in the finance sector.

Florence Kerns (Hindi) has been awarded the Aggarwal Endowed Presidential Scholarship in Indian Studies. Florence is part of the Hindi-Urdu Flagship and has just returned from her year abroad in India. Once she graduates, Florence plans to attend graduate school to study modern Hindi literature.

Farhana Maredia (Asian Studies) won the Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowship Award, a highly competitive fellowship funded by the U.S. Department of Education, for summer 2013. She will be studying Persian at UT’s Persian Summer Language Institute offered through the Department of Middle Eastern Studies. Additionally, Farhana will be entering the department’s graduate program where she will be pursuing a Masters in Asian Studies starting fall 2013. 

Sophia Anwar (Hindi) was awarded the Mahatma Gandhi Memorial Scholarship by the South Asia Institute for her work in India Studies. The purpose of this scholarship is to encourage the study of culture, history, religions, and languages of India. Upon graduation, Sophia hopes to eventually work for the Foreign Service.

Chinese majors Caleb Williams and Karson Elmgren (Chinese and Linguisitcs) have been awarded the Ministry of Education of the Republic of China Huaya Enrichment Scholarship. This scholarship was established to encourage international students to undertake Mandarin Chinese language study in Taiwan. Both Caleb and Karson plan to spend at least two long semesters abroad.  

The China Studies Scholarship for Study Abroad was awarded to Chinese major Adrian Gonzales in fall 2012 and to Benjamin Parker (Chinese and architecture) and Dillon Kolacz (Chinese) in Spring 2013. Adrian studied abroad in Shanghai through CET; Benjamin plans to study at Tsinghua's School of Architecture while Dillon will be attending CET’s Intensive Chinese Language program in Beijing.

Jessica Hernandez also won the Mitsubishi Study Abroad Scholarship, which was made possible through the Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Endowment in Japanese Studies.

Korean major Chloe Cauley as well as Asian Studies majors Conner Morgan and Katherine Younke have been awarded the POSCO Korean Studies Scholarship for studying abroad this fall in Korea. Chloe will be attending Seoul National University; Conner plans to enroll in Hanyang University; and Katherine plans to attend the CIEE Program of Arts and Sciences at Yonsei University.


Bookmark and Share