John L Warfield Center

Black Essence Awards Banquet

Sat, April 10, 2010 | Texas Union Ballroom

6:30 PM - 10:00 PM


On behalf of the Black Student Advisory Committee, I would like to invite you to this year's "Black Essence Awards Banquet "The Diaspora: The diffusion of a diverse people."

The Black Student Advisory Committee (BSAC) at The University of Texas at Austin is a committee that serves as an instrumental voice for political change and social justice; advocates academic achievement and excellence as well as enhances leadership skills through programs and events that unify the campus community; seeks to build and support positive relationships between The Warfield Center, the university faculty and staff and The University of Texas graduate and undergraduate student body; and supports the student body as well as the greater Austin community through planned outreach that acknowledges and meets their needs and concerns. 

This April we will be hosting our annual Black Essence Awards Ceremony. This is an event dedicated to honoring academic excellence and achievement within the black student community as well as displaying thanks and appreciation to the black faculty and staff. The award ceremony is intended to recognize the most outstanding students and organizations for their scholastic achievement, community efforts, and their ability to create a sense of community on campus for African and African American students. Additionally, the Black Essence Awards recognizes black faculty on campus that have achieved success both inside and outside of the classroom. Our event will take place on April 10, 2010 from 7:00pm-9:00pm at the Union Ballroom in the Texas Union on campus. Tickets are $7 and will go sale tomorrow, March 30th to April 8th, in Jester concourse from 11am-1pm. Tickets will not be sold at the door. Please feel free to contact if you have any questions or concerns regarding the event. 

Please email to RSVP for the Black Essence Awards and inform us of any special dietary needs.


The Black Student Advisory Committee


Sponsored by: The John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies

Bookmark and Share