Department of Classics
Search for people
Photo of David Armstrong

David Armstrong

Professor Emeritus

davidarm@austin.utexas.edu |
471-5742 |
WAG 110

Education: PhD, The University of Texas Austin

Interests: Latin Poetry, Ancient Literary Criticism, Hellenistic and Roman Literature

Photo of Deborah Beck

Deborah Beck

Associate Professor

deborah.beck@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-5834 |
WAG 21

Education: PhD 1997, Harvard University

Interests: Formulas and oral aesthetics in early Greek poetry; cognitive theories of reading and image processing; speech and speech representation in Homeric epic; representations of art and interpretation in Augustan Latin poetry

Photo of Marc Bizer

Marc Bizer

Professor, French Studies

mbizer@utexas.edu |
512-471-7780 |
HRH 3.112B

Education: PhD, Princeton University

Interests: Reception of Classical Texts in Early Modern France, Renaissance Latin Literature; Classical Tradition, Tragedy and the Tragic

Photo of Joseph C Carter

Joseph C Carter

Centennial Professor of Classical Archaeology; Director, Institute of Classical Archaeology

j.carter@austin.utexas.edu |
232-9321 |
MCC 1.406

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests: Greek and Roman Art and Archaeology

Photo of Cristina Carusi

Cristina Carusi

Assistant Professor

carusi@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-7890 |
WAG 13

Education: PhD 2006, Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa

Interests: Greek History; Greek Epigraphy; Law, Economy, and Institutions of Greek City-States; Salt Studies; Documentary Papyrology

Pramit Chaudhuri

Associate Professor

pramit.chaudhuri@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5742 |
WAG 107, WAG 123

Education: Ph.D., Classics and Comparative Literature, Yale University

Photo of John R Clarke

John R Clarke

Professor - Art History

j.clarke@austin.utexas.edu |
DFA 2.114

Education: PhD, Yale

Interests: Greek & Roman Art and Architecture

Photo of Todd A. Curtis

Todd A. Curtis

Lecturer

todd.curtis@mail.utexas.edu |
WAG 200A

Education: PhD, Newcastle University, UK

Interests: Ancient medicine and its reception, Rhetoric of ancient science

Photo of Penelope Davies

Penelope Davies

Associate Professor - Art History

pdavies@mail.utexas.edu |
ART 3.435

Education: PhD, Yale University

Interests: Roman Art and Architecture

Photo of Lesley A Dean-Jones

Lesley A Dean-Jones

Associate Professor; Department Chair

ldjones@austin.utexas.edu |
471-2352 |
WAG 123B

Education: Ph.D., Stanford

Interests: Ancient Medicine, Ancient Philosophy, Greek Literature, Women in Antiquity

Photo of Jennifer V Ebbeler

Jennifer V Ebbeler

Associate Professor

jebbeler@austin.utexas.edu |
471-7570 |
WAG 14CA

Education: PhD 2001, University of Pennsylvania

Photo of Ingrid M Edlund-Berry

Ingrid M Edlund-Berry

Professor Emerita

iemeb@austin.utexas.edu |
471-3071 |
WAG 110

Interests: Etruscan and Italian archaeology and culture

Photo of Steven J. Friesen

Steven J. Friesen

Professor of Religious Studies and Classics: Louise Farmer Boyer Chair in Biblical Studies

friesen@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-8629 |
BUR 418

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Religious Studies; Poverty and Inequality in Early Roman Empire; Apocalyptic Literature; Imperial Cults

Photo of Michael Gagarin

Michael Gagarin

James R. Dougherty, Jr. Centennial Professor Emeritus

gagarin@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8864 |
WAG 15

Interests: Greek Law, Literature, and Philosophy

Photo of Karl Galinsky

Karl Galinsky

Professor: Floyd A. Cailloux Centennial Professor, University Distinguished Teaching Professor

galinsky@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8504 |
WAG 215

Education: Ph.D., Princeton

Interests: Roman Literature and Civilization; Cultural Memory in Ancient Rome; Classical Tradition in Popular Culture

Peter M Green

James R. Dougherty, Jr. Centennial Professor Emeritus of Classics

peter-green-1@uiowa.edu |
471-5742 |
WAG 123

Interests: Greek History, Greek Literature, Roman Satire and Elegy

Joann Gulizio

Lecturer

(512)471-1830 |
WAG 211

Education: Ph.D. 2011, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Greek Archaeology; Ancient Greek Religion; Linear B Studies; Mycenaean Ceramic Studies; Minoan and Mycenaean Religion; Latin Pedagogy

Photo of Ayelet Haimson Lushkov

Ayelet Haimson Lushkov

Associate Professor

ayelet.haimsonlushkov@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-7296 |
WAG 109

Education: PhD 2009, Yale University

Interests: Roman History and Latin Literature

Robert J Hankinson

Professor of Philosophy and Classics

rjhankinson@mail.utexas.edu |
471-5572 |
WAG 409

Education: PhD, Cambridge

Interests: Ancient Philosophy and Medicine, Philosophy of Science

Photo of Ulf R Hansson

Ulf R Hansson

University Affiliate - Research Fellow

ulf.hansson@austin.utexas.edu |
471-5742

Education: PhD, University of Gothenburg

Interests: Etruscan Art and Archaeology; Sphragistics; History of Archaeology; 18th- and 19th-Century Reception of Ancient Art and Culture

Photo of Thomas K Hubbard

Thomas K Hubbard

Professor

tkh@mail.utexas.edu |
471-0676 |
WAG 9

Education: PhD; 1980, Yale

Interests: Greek lyric poetry; Attic drama; Roman elegy and lyric; lesbian and gay studies

Sara E Kimball

Associate Professor of English

skimball@uts.cc.utexas.edu |
471-8363 |
PAR 108

Education: Ph.D., 1983, Linguistics, University of Pennsylvania

Interests: Hittitology

John H Kroll

Professor Emeritus

jhkroll@mail.utexas.edu

Interests: Greek Archaeology and History, Numismatics

Steven J Lundy

Lecturer

steven.lundy@utexas.edu |
(512)471-8724 |
WAG 227

Education: Ph.D. 2013, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Intellectual & Cultural History of the Late Republic & Early Principate; Latin Prose, esp. Philosophy; Roman Political History; Historiography of Linguistics

M. Gwyn Morgan

Professor Emeritus of Classics and History

512-471-5742

Education: Ph.D., 1962, University of Exeter, U.K.

Interests: Roman History, Latin Literature

Photo of Alexander Mourelatos

Alexander Mourelatos

Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Classics

apdm@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-6749 |
WAG 200C

Education: PhD, Yale

Interests: Ancient Philosophy, Early Greek Science, Linguistic Theory, Modern Greek Studies

Photo of William R Nethercut

William R Nethercut

Professor

nethercut@austin.utexas.edu |
471-3839 |
WAG 113

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Greek and Roman Literature, Egyptology

Photo of Thomas G Palaima

Thomas G Palaima

Professor: Robert M. Armstrong Centennial Professor and Director, Program in Aegean Scripts and Prehistory (PASP)

tpalaima@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5742 or 512-471-8837 |
WAG 14AA WAG 123B

Education: Ph.D. 1980, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Aegean scripts & prehistory, Greek language, war & violence studies, public intellectual writing, music as social criticism, Dylanology

Photo of Amy Papalexandrou

Amy Papalexandrou

Lecturer - Art History

apapalex@mail.utexas.edu |
Department of Art and Art History

Education: Ph.D., Princeton

Interests: Late Antique and Byzantine Art, Architecture, and Culture

Photo of Athanasio Papalexandrou

Athanasio Papalexandrou

Associate Professor - Art History

papalex@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5021 |
ART 3.404

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

James Patterson

Lecturer

james_patterson@utexas.edu |
WAG 205

Education: Ph.D. 2015, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Greek and Latin Literature, Religion, Intellectual History, Late Antiquity

Photo of Paula J Perlman

Paula J Perlman

Professor

p.perlman@mail.utexas.edu |
471-7402 |
WAG 119

Education: PhD 1984, The University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Greek history of the Archaic and Classical periods, Greek historiography, ancient law, ancient religion, Greek epigraphy

Kevin Pluta

Research Fellow, Program in Aegean Scripts and History (PASP); Lecturer

kpluta@austin.utexas.edu |
WAG 14A

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Bronze Age Archaeology; Greek Alphabet, World Scripts, and Literacy; Indo-European Linguistics; IT and Archaeological Database Design and Implementation

Photo of Adam T Rabinowitz

Adam T Rabinowitz

Associate Professor; Assistant Director, Institute of Classical Archaeology

arabinow@utexas.edu |
471-0197 |
WAG 17

Education: PhD 2004, University of Michigan

Interests: Greek colonization, cultural interaction, ancient food and drink, archaeology of daily life, digital approaches to archaeology

Andrew M Riggsby

Lucy Shoe Meritt Professor and Graduate Adviser in Classics, Professor of Art History

ariggsby@mail.utexas.edu |
471-7442 |
WAG 103

Education: Ph.D., UC Berkeley

Photo of Cynthia W Shelmerdine

Cynthia W Shelmerdine

Robert M. Armstrong Centennial Professor Emerita of Classics

cwshelm@gmail.com |
471-5742 |
N/A

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Aegean Bronze Age

Photo of Rabun M Taylor

Rabun M Taylor

Professor and Faculty Undergraduate Advisor

rmtaylor@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-0677 |
WAG 14B

Education: PhD 1997, University of Minnesota

Interests: Greek and Roman art, architecture, archaeology, urbanism, social history, and material culture

Photo of D. Alex Walthall

D. Alex Walthall

Assistant Professor

dwalthall@austin.utexas.edu |
WAG 213

Education: PhD 2013, Princeton University

Interests: Archaeology of ancient Sicily, Numismatics, Hellenistic monarchy

Photo of L. Michael White

L. Michael White

Professor of Classics and Religious Studies: Ronald Nelson Smith Chair in Christian Origins

lmwhite@utexas.edu |
512-232-1438 |
BUR 502-12

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: New Testament and Christian Origins, Jews & Christians in the Roman World, Graeco-Roman Religions, Archaeology

Photo of Stephen A White

Stephen A White

Professor of Classics and Philosophy

sawhite@utexas.edu |
512 475-7457 |
WAG 117

Education: PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Ancient philosophy, Greek literature

Photo of Paul B Woodruff

Paul B Woodruff

Professor of Philosophy and Classics; Dean of Undergraduate Studies

paul.woodruff@austin.utexas.edu |
475-7000 |
FAC 406

Education: PhD, Princeton

Interests: Ethics, Plato, Sophocles, Thucydides, aesthetics, philosophy and literature

Photo of Marjorie Curry Woods

Marjorie Curry Woods

Blumberg Centennial Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Professor

marjoriewoods@austin.utexas.edu |
471 8383 |
CAL 301

Education: Ph.D., U. of Toronto

Interests: Latin Palaoegraphy, Medieval Manuscripts, Medieval and Neo-Latin, History of Rhetoric, and the Classical Tradition (esp. in Pedagogy)