Program in Comparative Literature
Search for people

Tia Butler

Graduate student

tia.butler@utexas.edu

Education: B.A Foreign Languages and Literatures, Spanish, Whitman College

Photo of Kimberly Canuette Grimaldi

Kimberly Canuette Grimaldi

Graduate student

kcgrimaldi@utexas.edu

Interests: Arabic Literature, Persian Literature, Disability Studies, Digital Humanities

Zainab Cheema

Graduate student

zebun82@gmail.com

Photo of Marlena Cravens

Marlena Cravens

Graduate student

marlena.cravens@gmail.com

Interests: Early Modern and Medieval Iberian literature, travel literature, translation theory

Photo of Jamila Davey

Jamila Davey

Graduate student

jdavey@utexas.edu

Education: M.A in Middle Eastern Studies, University of Texas

Interests: early Arabic poetry, Arab literary history, classical Islamic studies, narratives of Islam, gender studies, Francophone literature in Islamic contexts.

Kathleen Field

Graduate student

Liza Goodstein

Graduate student

lizagoodstein@gmail.com

Interests: contemporary North African literature, gender and sexuality, "in-betweenness," memory, the fantastic

Photo of Rama Hamarneh

Rama Hamarneh

Graduate student

rhamarneh@utexas.edu

Interests: modern Arabic literature, Canadian literature, identity, Indigenous cultures and practices, Indigenous representation, mobility

Hamza Iqbal

Graduate student

hmi4@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Honours Philosophy, University of St Andrews, UK

Caroline Kraft

Graduate student

Photo of Abraham Layman

Abraham Layman

Graduate student

abrahamlayman@yahoo.com

Education: B.A. Russian Language and Literature, University of South Carolina

Photo of Boya Lin

Boya Lin

Graduate student

boyalin@utexas.edu

Photo of Claudio Moura de Oliveira

Claudio Moura de Oliveira

Graduate student

claudioeduardo@utexas.edu

Education: MA Comparative Literature, University College London

Interests: Hermeneutics; psychoanalysis; semiotics; post-structuralism; education; rhetoric studies; Medieval Iberian Peninsula; Women and Gender Studies

Photo of Reinhard Mueller

Reinhard Mueller

PhD Candidate, University Graduate Continuing Fellow 2018-2019

rgmueller@utexas.edu |
CAL 423 A

Education: Master of Arts and "Staatsexamen", University of Alabama / Ernst-Moritz-Arndt Universität Greifswald

Interests: Literary theory, connections between literature and philosophy, English and German Modernity, Friedrich Nietzsche, James Joyce, Niklas Luhmann, Jacques Derrida, and the Philosophy of Orientation

Bianca Quintanilla

Graduate student

Photo of Michael Reyes

Michael Reyes

Graduate student

michael.reyes@utexas.edu

Interests: Caribbean and Latin American literature, Afro/Latina/o and Black Diasporas, French Atlantic, Carceral Narratives. Languages: English, Spanish, French.

Sarah Ropp

Graduate student

sarah.ropp@utexas.edu

Interests: 20th and 21st century Hispanophone, Dutch and multi-ethnic United States literature; children and childhood; memory and trauma; pedagogy; translation

Photo of Nika Setek

Nika Setek

Graduate student

setekn@utexas.edu

Interests: My interests include medieval literature, Spanish Golden Age, dystopian fiction, science fiction and medievalism. I work primarily in Spanish and English.

Kaitlin Shirley

Doctoral Candidate

kshirley@austin.utexas.edu

Interests: My research interests include 18th and 19th century French, Russian, and German literature with a focus on Dostoevsky and Rousseau.

Photo of Diana Silveira-Leite

Diana Silveira-Leite

Graduate Student

dianaleite@utexas.edu

Interests: Romanticism; 19thC Poetry and Prose; English, Scottish, Brazilian and German Literature; Cognitive Studies and Theory of the Mind.

Mark Smith

Graduate student

ctidmark@gmail.com

Photo of Nina Sport

Nina Sport

Graduate student

nina.sport@utexas.edu |
FAC 16

Education: B.A. in French and Spanish, University of Texas at Arlington

Interests: 19th-20th Century Poetry and Poetics; The Avant-Garde in France; Latin American Modernismo; Caribbean Diaspora; 19-20th Century Women Writers; Spanish Baroque

Photo of Alex Thomas

Alex Thomas

Graduate student

Photo of Mehdi Torabian

Mehdi Torabian

Graduate student

mehdi.torabian@utexas.edu

Interests: Early modern drama, Iranian contemporary drama, new historicism

Photo of Amy Vidor

Amy Vidor

Doctoral Candidate, Mellon Engaged Scholar Fellow

amyvidor@utexas.edu

Education: M.A in History and Literature (Columbia University), B.A.s in French, English (University of Southern California)

Interests: Human rights; Memory, trauma, and gender studies; twentieth-century intellectual history; francophone and anglophone literature

Photo of Xinyao Xiao

Xinyao Xiao

Graduate student

xiao.xinyao@utexas.edu

Interests: British and Italian Renaissance; classical reception in late medieval and early modern Europe; reception of Roman literature in China; translation.