Program in Comparative Literature
Search for people

Tia Butler

Graduate student

tia.butler@utexas.edu

Education: B.A Foreign Languages and Literatures, Spanish, Whitman College

Photo of Kimberly Canuette Grimaldi

Kimberly Canuette Grimaldi

Graduate student

kcgrimaldi@utexas.edu

Interests: Arabic Literature, Persian Literature, Disability Studies, Digital Humanities

Oscar Chaidez

Graduate student

ogchaidez@utexas.edu

Interests: Border studies, identity; displacement and trauma/immigrant literature; graphic violence in contemporary literature and culture; queer theory.

Photo of Marlena Cravens

Marlena Cravens

Graduate student

marlena.cravens@utexas.edu

Interests: Early Modern and Medieval Iberia; Transatlantic Encounters; Travel Writing; Ethnography; Translation Studies; ELL and ELE (Español como lengua extranjera); Language Pedagogies; Medieval and Early Modern Food

Photo of Jamila Davey

Jamila Davey

Graduate student

jdavey@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D. in Comparative Literature, University of Texas

Interests: early Arabic poetry, Arab literary history, classical Islamic studies, narratives of Islam, gender studies, Francophone literature in Islamic contexts.

Photo of Claudio Eduardo

Claudio Eduardo

Graduate student

claudioeduardo@utexas.edu

Education: MA Comparative Literature, University College London

Interests: Cultural Rhetorics; Spanish Inquisition; Archival Studies, semiotics; post-structuralism; education; rhetoric studies; Medieval Iberian Peninsula; Women and Gender Studies

Kathleen Field

Graduate student

Liza Goodstein

Graduate student

lizagoodstein@gmail.com

Interests: contemporary North African literature, gender and sexuality, "in-betweenness," memory, the fantastic

Hamza Iqbal

Graduate student

hmi4@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Honours Philosophy, University of St Andrews, UK

Caroline Kraft

Graduate student

Photo of Boya Lin

Boya Lin

Graduate student

boyalin@utexas.edu

Photo of Reinhard Mueller

Reinhard Mueller

PhD Candidate, University Graduate Continuing Fellow 2018-2019

rgmueller@utexas.edu |
CAL 423 A

Education: Master of Arts and "Staatsexamen", University of Alabama / Ernst-Moritz-Arndt Universität Greifswald

Interests: Literary theory, connections between literature and philosophy, English and German Modernity, Friedrich Nietzsche, James Joyce, Niklas Luhmann, Jacques Derrida, and the Philosophy of Orientation

Bianca Quintanilla

Graduate student

Photo of Michael Reyes Salas

Michael Reyes Salas

Doctor of Philosophy

michael.reyes@utexas.edu

Education: Postdoctoral Fellow, Andrew W. Mellon Engaged Scholar Initiative

Interests: Critical Carceral Studies; African-American, French, Latin American and Caribbean literatures; Black/Afro-Latinx Diasporas; Black Existentialism; Narrative and Memory; and Postcolonial Theory.

Sarah Ropp

Graduate student

sarah.ropp@utexas.edu

Interests: 20th and 21st century Hispanophone, Dutch and multi-ethnic United States literature; children and childhood; memory and trauma; pedagogy; translation

Photo of Thais Rutledge

Thais Rutledge

Ph.D. Candidate, University of Texas at Austin

thais.rutledge@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in British Literature, Texas State University

Interests: British and Brazilian Modern literature, narrative form, space and place, trauma, memory.

Photo of Ipek Sahinler

Ipek Sahinler

Graduate student

ipeksahinler@utexas.edu

Interests: Modern Turkish Literature; Latin American Literature; Queer Theori(es); Gender Studies; Middle Eastern Studies; The Latin-East; Memory of the City – Istanbul; Translation Studies; Teaching of Turkish as a Second Language

Silvana Scott

Graduate student

Photo of Diana Silveira Leite

Diana Silveira Leite

Graduate Student

dianaleite@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in British Studies, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Interests: Romanticism; 19th century Poetry and Prose; Critical Race Studies, Post-Colonial Studies, Cognitive Studies and Theory of Mind

Photo of Nina Sport

Nina Sport

Graduate student

nina.sport@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Comparative Literature, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Nineteenth-century French literature and print culture, Latin American Modernismo, Twentieth-century hispanophone narratives of Magical Realism and lo real maravilloso, Animal Studies

Amber Taylor

Graduate student

Photo of Xinyao Xiao

Xinyao Xiao

Graduate student

xiao.xinyao@utexas.edu

Interests: English and Italian Renaissance; classical reception in late medieval and early modern Europe; reception of Roman literature in China; translation.

Nanjun Zhou

Graduate student

nanjun.zhou@utexas.edu

Education: BA in English; Master in Comparative Literature, The Chinese University of Hong Kong; Free University of Berlin