Program in Comparative Literature
Search for people

Tia Butler

Graduate student

tia.butler@utexas.edu

Education: B.A Foreign Languages and Literatures, Spanish, Whitman College

Oscar Chaidez

Graduate student

ogchaidez@utexas.edu

Interests: Border studies, identity; displacement and trauma/immigrant literature; graphic violence in contemporary literature and culture; queer theory.

Photo of Marlena Cravens

Marlena Cravens

Graduate student

marlena.cravens@utexas.edu

Interests: Early Modern and Medieval Iberia; Transatlantic Encounters; Travel Writing; Ethnography; Translation Studies; ELL and ELE (Español como lengua extranjera); Language Pedagogies; Medieval and Early Modern Food

Photo of Claudio Eduardo

Claudio Eduardo

Graduate student

claudioeduardo@utexas.edu

Education: MA Comparative Literature, University College London

Interests: Cultural Rhetorics; Spanish Inquisition; Archival Studies, semiotics; post-structuralism; education; rhetoric studies; Medieval Iberian Peninsula; Women and Gender Studies

Kathleen Field

Graduate student

Liza Goodstein

Graduate student

lizagoodstein@gmail.com

Interests: contemporary North African literature, gender and sexuality, "in-betweenness," memory, the fantastic

Hamza Iqbal

Graduate student

hmi4@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Comparative Literature, University of Texas at Austin, and MA, Honours Philosophy, University of St Andrews, UK

Caroline Kraft

Graduate student

Photo of Boya Lin

Boya Lin

Graduate student

boyalin@utexas.edu

Bianca Quintanilla

Graduate student

Photo of Thais Rutledge

Thais Rutledge

Ph.D. Candidate, University of Texas at Austin

thais.rutledge@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in British Literature, Texas State University

Interests: British and Brazilian Modern literature, narrative form, space and place, trauma, memory.

Photo of Ipek Sahinler

Ipek Sahinler

Graduate student

ipeksahinler@utexas.edu

Interests: Modern Turkish Literature; Latin American Literature; Queer Theori(es); Gender Studies; Middle Eastern Studies; The Latin-East; Memory of the City – Istanbul; Translation Studies; Teaching of Turkish as a Second Language

Silvana Scott

Graduate student

Photo of Diana Silveira Leite

Diana Silveira Leite

Graduate Student

dianaleite@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in British Studies, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Interests: Romanticism; 19th century Poetry and Prose; Critical Race Studies, Post-Colonial Studies, Cognitive Studies and Theory of Mind

Photo of Nina Sport

Nina Sport

Graduate student

nina.sport@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Comparative Literature, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Nineteenth-century French literature and print culture, Latin American Modernismo, Twentieth-century hispanophone narratives of Magical Realism and lo real maravilloso, Animal Studies

Poorna Swami

Graduate student

poorna.s@utexas.edu

Education: BA English and Dance-Theatre, Mount Holyoke College

Amber Taylor

Graduate student

Anna Vilner

Graduate student

asvilner@utexas.edu

Photo of Keith Wagner

Keith Wagner

Graduate student

keith.wagner@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in French Studies, The University of Texas at Austin

Nanjun Zhou

Graduate student

nanjun.zhou@utexas.edu

Education: BA in English; Master in Comparative Literature, The Chinese University of Hong Kong; Free University of Berlin