The Thomas Jefferson Center for the Study of Core Texts and Ideas
Search for people
Photo of Jeffrey Abramson

Jeffrey Abramson

Professor of Government

jabramson@austin.utexas.edu |
512 232 6224 |
JON 6.264 and by appt. in MEZ 3.148

Education: Ph.D., J.D., Harvard University

Interests: constitutional law, civil liberties, the jury, and political theory

Michael W Adams

Associate Professor of English

adameve@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4991 |
CAL 316

Education: Ph.D., 1973, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Legal writing; history of Western thought; the Bible as literature; the modern short story; the modern American novel

Photo of Ari Adut

Ari Adut

Associate Professor of Sociology

ariadut@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-4284 |
BUR 468

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Hina Azam

Hina Azam

Associate Professor of Islamic Studies

hina.azam@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-8393 (no voicemail) |
CAL 506

Education: Ph.D., 2007, Duke University, Department of Religion

Interests: Islamic jurisprudence, theology, exegesis, hadith studies; Women/sexuality and Islam; Sexual Violence in Islamic Law

Photo of Douglas G. Biow

Douglas G. Biow

Professor of French and Italian; Director, Center for European Studies

biow@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7267 |
HRH 2.110B

Interests: Comparative Literature, French and Italian, Medieval Studies, Plan II Honors, Renaissance Italy: strategies for being conspicuous, professionalism, propriety, visual and verbal art

Photo of Marc Bizer

Marc Bizer

Professor, French Studies

mbizer@utexas.edu |
512-471-7780 |
HRH 3.112B

Education: PhD, Princeton University

Interests: Nascent French identities: national, social, religious, authorial, gendered; tragedy and the tragic

Photo of Daniel A Bonevac

Daniel A Bonevac

Professor of Philosophy

bonevac@austin.utexas.edu |
232-4333 |
WAG 403

Education: PhD, University of Pittsburgh

Interests: Philosophy; Logic; Moral Issues; Ethics; Philosophy in Popular Culture; Christian Philosophy.

Photo of Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Professor; Alice Drysdale Sheffield Professor of History

canizares-esguerra@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7694 |
GAR 2.108

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Interests: Early Modern Atlantic History; History of Science and Colonialism; History of Knowledge; Colonial Spanish and British America.

Photo of Julie C Casey

Julie C Casey

Lecturer, Humanities Honors Program

jcasey@austin.utexas.edu |
512-652-8495 |
GEB 1.206

Photo of Lesley A Dean-Jones

Lesley A Dean-Jones

Department Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Classics

ldjones@austin.utexas.edu |
512 471 2352 |
WAG 117, WAG 123

Education: Ph.D., Stanford

Photo of Erik Dempsey

Erik Dempsey

Lecturer and Assistant Director of the Thomas Jefferson Center for the Study of Core Texts and Ideas

ed6335@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-6649 |
WAG 401

Photo of George B. Forgie

George B. Forgie

Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor of History

forgie@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7231 |
GAR 3.212

Education: Ph.D., 1972, Stanford University

Interests: U.S. political and constitutional history, 1763-1877; northern political writing during the Civil War; Abraham Lincoln

Photo of Karl Galinsky

Karl Galinsky

Floyd A. Cailloux Centennial Professor, Department of Classics; University Dist. Teaching Prof.

galinsky@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8504 |
WAG 215

Education: Ph.D., Princeton

Interests: Greco-Roman antiquity; classical heritage of America; memory studies

Photo of Benjamin Gregg

Benjamin Gregg

Associate Professor in Government

bgregg@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7274 |
MEZ 3.138

Education: Ph.D., Politics, Princeton University; Ph.D., Philosophy, Freie Universitaet Berlin

Interests: Political, social, legal, and sociological theory of complex modern societies

Photo of Elizabeth A Hedrick

Elizabeth A Hedrick

Associate Professor of English

eahedrick@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1986, Columbia University

Interests: Feminist theory since 1970; gender and science; eighteenth-century novel and drama; Samuel Johnson; history of charity and philanthropy.

Photo of Ann Johns

Ann Johns

Distinguished Senior Lecturer, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts

acjohns@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Jonathan Kaplan (on leave Spring 2020)

Jonathan Kaplan (on leave Spring 2020)

Associate Professor, Department of Middle Eastern Studies

jonathan.kaplan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9453 |
Calhoun (CAL) 413

Education: Ph.D. 2010, Harvard University

Interests: Hebrew Bible(with specific interest in Song of Songs, Daniel, and Jonah), Second Temple Judaism, Dead Sea Scrolls, Rabbinic Judaism, Midrash, Literary Theory, History of Biblical Interpretation, Utopian Studies

Photo of David Kornhaber

David Kornhaber

Associate Professor

david.kornhaber@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2009, Columbia University

Photo of Brent Landau

Brent Landau

Lecturer, Religious Studies

bclandau@utexas.edu

Education: Th.D., Harvard Divinity School

Photo of Elon Lang

Elon Lang

Lecturer, Humanities Honors Program

emlang@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3458 or 512-471-6649 |
WAG 401c

Education: PhD, Washington University in St. Louis

Interests: Medieval Studies, English Literature, Textual Studies, Digital Humanities

Photo of David L. Leal

David L. Leal

Professor of Government

dleal@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471.1343 |
BAT 3.140

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Latino Politics and Policy

Photo of Stephen H. Marshall

Stephen H. Marshall

Associate Professor of American Studies

stephenmarshall@austin.utexas.edu |
471-4361 |
JES A232

Education: Ph.D., 2002, Government, Harvard University

Interests: ancient and modern political theory, the history of political thought, 20th century political and social thought, African American political thought; current research focuses on political evil, democratic theory, and race and social justice

Photo of Alberto A. Martínez

Alberto A. Martínez

Professor of History

almartinez@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9426 |
GAR 0.138

Education: Ph.D., University of Minnesota, M.A. NYU

Interests: History of physics, Einstein, special relativity, history of math, scientific creativity.

Photo of Tracie M. Matysik

Tracie M. Matysik

Associate Professor of History

matysik@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2001, Cornell University

Photo of Steven Mintz

Steven Mintz

Professor of History

smintz@utexas.edu |
512-475-7257 |
3.312 Garrison Hall

Education: Ph.D., Yale University, 1979

Shyamal Mitra

Senior Lecturer, Computer Science

mitra@cs.utexas.edu

Luisa Nardini

Associate Professor of Musicology

nardini@mail.utexas.edu

Photo of Patrick Olivelle

Patrick Olivelle

Jacob and Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities #1, Professor Emeritus Department of Asian Studies

jpo@uts.cc.utexas.edu |
512-475-6032 |
WCH 4.112

Education: PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Photo of Robert A. Olwell

Robert A. Olwell

Associate Professor of History

rolwell@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7226 |
GAR 3.108

Education: Ph.D., 1991, Johns Hopkins University

Interests: Early Modern British-Atlantic World; American Revolution; Early American South; Slavery and Abolition

Photo of Thomas G Palaima

Thomas G Palaima

Professor: Robert M. Armstrong Centennial Professor and Director, Program in Aegean Scripts and Prehistory (PASP)

tpalaima@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5742 or 512-471-8837 |
WAG 14AA WAG 123B

Education: Ph.D. 1980, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Aegean scripts & prehistory, Greek language, war & violence studies, public intellectual writing, music as social criticism, Dylanology

Photo of Lorraine Pangle

Lorraine Pangle

Professor of Government; Co-Director, Jefferson Center

lorrainepangle@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1447 |
MEZ 3.134

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Thomas Pangle

Thomas Pangle

Joe R. Long Endowed Chair In Democratic Studies, Department of Government; Co-Director, Jefferson Center

tpangle@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1529 |
MEZ 3.154

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Classical political philosophy; the eighteenth century theoretical foundations of modern and especially American constitutionalism and political culture; nineteenth and twentieth century German political philosophy; post-modern political theory; the moral-philosophic basis of international relations; the dialogue between political theology and political philosophy

James Patterson

Faculty

james_patterson@utexas.edu |
WAG 205

Education: Ph.D. 2015, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Greek and Latin Literature, Intellectual History, Religion and Early Christianity, North Africa

Photo of David Prindle

David Prindle

Professor of Government

dprindle@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7214 |
BAT 4.104

Education: Ph.D., MIT

Photo of Adam T Rabinowitz

Adam T Rabinowitz

Associate Professor of Classics; Assistant Director, Institute of Classical Archaeology

arabinow@utexas.edu |
512-232-9319, 512-471-0197 |
WAG 17

Education: PhD 2004, University of Michigan

Interests: Greek colonization, cultural interaction, ancient food and drink, archaeology of daily life, digital approaches to archaeology

Photo of Wayne A Rebhorn

Wayne A Rebhorn

Mildred Hayek Vacek and John Roman Vacek Chair of English

warebhorn@austin.utexas.edu |
471-8759 |
PAR 328

Education: Ph.D., 1968, Yale University

Interests: English, Italian, French, Spanish, and Neo-Latin Renaissance literature; seminal texts in Renaissance rhetoric

Photo of Mark Regnerus

Mark Regnerus

Professor of Sociology

regnerus@prc.utexas.edu |
512-232-6307 |
CLA 3.524

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Penne L. Restad

Distinguished Senior Lecturer, History

restad@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1994, University of Texas at Austin

Photo of John P Rumrich

John P Rumrich

Arthur J. Thaman and Wilhelmina Dore' Thaman Endowed Professor in English #1

rumrich@austin.utexas.edu |
512 471 8115 |
PAR 315

Education: Ph.D., 1981, University of Virginia

Alan M Sager

Lecturer, Department of Government

amsag@mail.utexas.edu |
232-7233 |
MEZ 3.232

Photo of Dima Shamoun

Dima Shamoun

Faculty

dshamoun@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., George Mason University

Photo of Dana Stauffer

Dana Stauffer

Senior Lecturer, Department of Government

danastauffer@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1448 |
MEZ 3.136

Education: Ph.D., University of Toronto

Interests: political thought, and women in political thought

Photo of Devin Stauffer

Devin Stauffer

Professor of Government

dstauffer@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1462 |
MEZ 3.144

Education: Ph.D., Boston College

Interests: classical and early modern political thought

Photo of Paul V Sullivan

Paul V Sullivan

Lecturer, English

sullivan@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2005, University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Jeffrey Tulis

Jeffrey Tulis

Professor of Government

tulis@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7244 |
MEZ 3.152

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Political Theory, and American Politics

Photo of James M. Vaughn

James M. Vaughn

Assistant Professor of History

jmvaughn@austin.utexas.edu

Education: PhD, University of Chicago

Photo of Maurizio Viroli

Maurizio Viroli

Professor of Government

maurizio.viroli@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7256 |
MEZ 3.150

Education: Ph.D., European University Institute in Florence

Interests: History of political thought; classical republicanism and neo-republicanism; Niccolò Machiavelli; Jean Jacques Rousseau; republican iconography; the relationship between religion and politics; patriotism; constitutionalism, classical rhetoric; political communication; citizenship and civic education

Photo of Paul B Woodruff

Paul B Woodruff

Professor of Philosophy; Dean, School of Undergraduate Studies

paul.woodruff@austin.utexas.edu |
475-7000 |
FAC 406

Education: PhD, Princeton

Interests: Ancient philosophy, early Greek philosophy, aesthetics, democracy, virtue ethics, Socrates, Plato

Photo of David S Yeager

David S Yeager

Associate Professor of Psychology

dyeager@utexas.edu |
512-471-1846 |
SEA 5.104

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Photo of Philip Yoo

Philip Yoo

Post-Doctoral Fellow

philip.yoo@austin.utexas.edu |
WAG 401D