center for women and gender studies
logo for center for women and gender studies

Lucia, John and Melissa Gilbert Teaching Excellence Award in Women’s and Gender Studies

2020 Call for Nominations: Tenured Faculty
The Lucia, John, and Melissa Gilbert Teaching Excellence Award honors faculty members with an outstanding record of undergraduate and/or graduate teaching in Women's & Gender Studies courses. One award is given each year, alternating between non-tenured faculty members (Assistant Professor, Senior Lecturer, and Lecturer) and tenured faculty members (Associate Professor and Full Professor). This award includes a cash honorarium and is presented to the recipient at the Center for Women's & Gender Studies Annual Spring Awards Reception.
Nominations due: date May 15, 2020. Email to Jackie Salcedo, CWGS:

The Center for Women's & Gender Studies will accept names of tenured faculty (Associate Professor and Professor) from the CWGS Core Faculty through date May 15, 2020. The Center will then contact the individuals to inform them that they have been nominated. Faculty members being considered for this award should hold regular, on-going faculty positions at UT Austin, should be actively engaged in the instruction of undergraduate and graduate students in Women’s & Gender Studies courses, be completing at least their third year of teaching at UT, and demonstrate active involvement in Women’s & Gender Studies. Individuals may also self-nominate.
Supporting materials due: June 15, 2020
Recommendation letters accepted through: June 15, 2020

Download Gilbert Teaching Award Application (pdf), also available as a Word file (docx)

CWGS Core Faculty can be sorted by title/rank here

Previous Gilbert Teaching Award Recipients

2019-2020 - Megan Alrutz, Department of Theatre and Dance, Women's & Gender Studies

2018-2019 Curran Nault, Women's & Gender Studies, LGBTQ Studies, Department of Radio Television Film

2017-2018 Omise’eke Tinsley, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies, Women's & Gender Studies

2016-2017 Julie Minich, Department of English, Department of Mexican American and Latina/o Studies, Women's & Gender Studies

2015-2016 Matt Richardson, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies, Department of English, Women's & Gender Studies

2014-2015 Sofian Merabet, Department of Anthropology

2013-2014 Hector Dominguez-Ruvalcaba, Department of Spanish and Portuguese

2012-2013 Rebecca Rossen, Department of Theater and Dance

2011-2012 Gloria Gonzalez-Lopez, Department of Sociology

2010-2011 Germine Awad, Department of Educational Psychology

2009-2010 Ann Reynolds, Department of Art and Art History

2008-2009 Juliet Hooker, Department of Government

2007-2008 Noel Busch-Armendariz, School of Social Work

2006-2007 Mary Kearney, Department of Radio Television Film

2005-2006 Lynn Miller, Department of Theatre and Dance

2004-2005 Joanna Brooks, Department of English

2003-2004 Katherine Arens, Department of Germanic Studies

2003-2004 Ann Cvetkovich, Department of English

2002-2003 Sharmila Rudrappa, Department of Sociology

2001-2002 Carol H. Mackay, Department of English

2000-2001 Sabrina Barton, Department of English

1999-2000 Janet Staiger, Department of Radio Television Film

1998-1999 Pauline T. Strong. Department of Anthropology

1997-1998 Desley A. Deacon, Department of History

1996-1997 Lisa L. Moore, Department of English

  •   Map
  • Center for Women's & Gender Studies

    The University of Texas at Austin
    Burdine Hall 536
    2505 University Avenue, A4900
    Austin, Texas 78712