east asian center wordmark
Search for people

Center for Asian American Studies


Photo of Susan Mays

Susan Mays

Lecturer

smays@utexas.edu |
BEL 220

Education: PhD and MA, Columbia and Harvard

Interests: East Asia and China; economic & technological development; global economic history

Department of Anthropology


Photo of Ward Keeler

Ward Keeler

Associate Professor

ward.keeler@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8520 |
SAC 4.128

Education: PhD, University of Chicago

Interests: Anthropology and expressive culture, including music, theatre, and literature; language and culture; postcoloniality; Java and Bali (Indonesia), and Burma.

Department of American Studies


Photo of Lina Chhun

Lina Chhun

Assistant Professor

lina.chhun@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7277 |
BUR 437

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)

Interests: Southeast Asian/American Studies, Critical Refugee Studies, Memory Studies, Historical Violence and Trauma

College of Education


Photo of Xiaofen Keating

Xiaofen Keating

Associate Professor

xk93@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-3565 |
SZB 428N

Photo of Grace MyHyun Kim

Grace MyHyun Kim

Assistant Professor

grace@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-4861 |
SZB 334B

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Department of Asian Studies


Photo of Yukie Aida

Yukie Aida

Senior Lecturer of Japanese

aiday@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6049 |
WCH 5.110

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Japanese language pedagogy / students beliefs about their own language performances

Photo of Kirsten Cather

Kirsten Cather

Associate Professor, Director of Center for East Asian Studies

kcather@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-0031 |
WCH 4.112

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: modern Japanese literature and film; censorship, suicide, and death in modern Japan; adaptations; translation theory and practice

Photo of Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Lecturer of Chinese

elsa.chang@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6041 |
WCH 5.116

Education: MA, Univeristy of Texas at Austin

Interests: Chinese language

Photo of Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Professor

yvonne@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6036 |
WCH 4.124

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Chinese Area IV and Literature

Photo of Jeanette C Chen

Jeanette C Chen

Lecturer of Chinese

jeanettechen@utexas.edu |
512-475-6041 |
WCH 5.116

Interests: Languages

Photo of Chikako H Cooke

Chikako H Cooke

Lecturer of Japanese

hirayama_cooke@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6035 |
WCH 5.104A

Interests: Japanese language pedagogy

Photo of Kaori Duffey

Kaori Duffey

Lecturer of Japanese

kaorid@utexas.edu |
512-471-1843 |
WCH 5.136

Photo of Junko Hatanaka

Junko Hatanaka

Lecturer of Japanese

jhatanaka@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6042 |
WCH 5.124

Education: MA in Japanese, MS in Rhetoric and Technical Communications, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Michigan Technological University

Photo of Heather Hindman

Heather Hindman

Associate Professor

h.hindman@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-1667 |
WCH 4.104C

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Critical development, entrepreneurialism, expatriate communities, social theory, global labor and gender

Photo of Camilla H Hsieh

Camilla H Hsieh

Senior Lecturer of Chinese

camilla@utexas.edu |
512-475-6046 |
WCH 5.132

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas

Interests: Chinese language pedagogy

Photo of Brian Hurley

Brian Hurley

Assistant Professor

brian.hurley@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6048 |
WCH 4.104E

Education: PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Akemi Katayama

Lecturer of Japanese

akataya@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8497 |
WCH 5.105

Education: MA, 2012, MA, 1996, The University of Alberta, Portland State University

Interests: Second language acquisition and language pedagogy

Photo of Eun Joo Kim

Eun Joo Kim

Lecturer of Korean

kim.eunjoo@austin.utexas.edu |
WCH 5.104B

Education: BA, Ewha Womans University, Seoul, Korea

Photo of Mina Kim

Mina Kim

Lecturer of Korean

mina.kim@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6045 |
WCH 5.130

Education: M.A, Ewha Womans University, Seoul, Korea

Interests: Korean language and lingustics, Korean language pedagogy

Photo of Chiu-Mi Lai

Chiu-Mi Lai

Distinguished Senior Lecturer

cmlai@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5811 (main) |
WCH 4.114

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Photo of Yi-Chun Lin

Yi-Chun Lin

Lecturer of Chinese

yichunlin@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6042 |
WCH 5.124

Education: M.A., Graduate Institute of Teaching Chinese as a Second Language, National Taiwan Normal University.

Photo of Yongfeng Liu

Yongfeng Liu

Lecturer of Chinese

yongfengliu@utexas.edu |
512-475-6043 |
5.126

Photo of Alice McCoy-Bae

Alice McCoy-Bae

Lecturer of Korean

mccoy-bae@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1843 |
WCH 5.136

Education: M.S., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Korean Language, Korean language pedagogy, film representations of a social reality in Korea, women and gender issues in Korea, Korean food culture, and social media and its impact on learning Korean

Photo of Youjeong Oh

Youjeong Oh

Associate Professor

youjeong@utexas.edu |
512-475-6032 |
WCH 5.114

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Urban processes in Korea and East Asia; Development and Social Movement; Media, Tourism and Place; Korean Popular Culture

Photo of Robert M Oppenheim

Robert M Oppenheim

Professor

rmo@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7279 |
WCH 5.134

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Korean anthropology and history; science/tech/society; heritage; objects/materiality; history of anthropology

Shelby Oxenford

Lecturer

shelby.oxenford@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6011 |
WCH 4.116

Joseph Schaub

 
(on leave)
Lecturer

joseph.schaub@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6048 |
WCH 5.103

Education: Ph.D, University of Maryland, College Park

Photo of Naoko Suito

Naoko Suito

Senior Lecturer of Japanese

n.suito@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8497 |
WCH 4.110

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas

Interests: Japanese language; Curriculum and Instruction, Instructional Technology

Photo of Saori Suto

Saori Suto

Lecturer of Japanese

saori.suto@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6042 |
WCH 5.124

Education: MA, California State University, Long Beach

Photo of Midori Tanaka

Midori Tanaka

Lecturer of Japanese

midori@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7104 |
WCH 5.138

Education: MA, University of Oregon

Interests: Japanese language and lingustics; pedagogy

Photo of Wen-Hua Teng

Wen-Hua Teng

Senior Lecturer of Chinese

whteng@utexas.edu |
512-475-6047 |
WCH 5.128

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Pedagogical grammar of Chinese; curriculum design; technology-enhanced CFL pedagogy

Photo of Luke Waring

Luke Waring

Assistant Professor

luke.waring@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6024 |
WCH 4.122

Education: Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests: Early Chinese literature and cultural history (1250 BCE-220 CE).

Photo of Shohko Yanagisawa

Shohko Yanagisawa

Lecturer of Japanese

syanagisawa@utexas.edu |
512-475-6045 |
WCH 5.130

Education: M.A., Purdue University

Department of Art and Art History


Beili Liu

Leslie Waggener Professorship in the College of Fine Arts

beili@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-6071 |
Art 3.326

Education: MFA, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Interests: Visual art, installation and sculpture, migration, culture narratives, contemporary Asian art, contemporary visual art, craft, women's labor, identity, racial, cultural and social topics

Department of English


Cathy J. Schlund-Vials

Professor

cathy.schlundvials@austin.utexas.edu |
CAL 2019

Education: Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Interests: Critical refugee studies, transpacific studies, Asian American studies, U.S. cultural studies, 20th and 21st-century U.S. literature, human rights, disability studies

Department of Government


Photo of Tse-min Lin

Tse-min Lin

Associate Professor

tml@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7248 |
BAT 4.144

Education: Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Photo of Amy Liu

Amy Liu

Assistant Professor

amy.liu@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Emory University

Interests: ethnic politics, language policies, migration politics, Southeast Asia, Eastern Europe

Photo of Xuecheng Liu

Xuecheng Liu

Visiting Associate Professor

xcliu814@yahoo.com |
512-471-5121 |
BATTS 2.116

Education: Ph.D, University of Texas at Austin, 1993

Interests: Asian Politics and Security, Asia's Regional Cooperation, and China's Asia Policy

Photo of Xiaobo Lü

Xiaobo Lü

Associate Professor

xiaobolu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7257 |
BAT 3.152

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Distributive politics of development; Chinese politics; comparative and international political economy

Photo of Patricia Maclachlan

Patricia Maclachlan

Professor of Government and Asian Studies; Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Professor of Japanese Studies

pmaclachlan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1724 |
BAT 3.150

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Comparative Politics; Politics of Japan and East Asia

Photo of Scott Wolford

Scott Wolford

Professor

swolford@austin.utexas.edu |
BAT 4.152

Education: Ph.D., Emory University

Interests: International Conflict, International Institutions, Game Theory

Department of History


Photo of Adam Clulow

Adam Clulow

Associate Professor

adam.clulow@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7267 |
GAR 2.202

Interests: Early Modern Japanese History, Maritime History, Southeast Asian History, Transnational History, European overseas expansion, Digital Humanities

Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Professor; Department of History

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9303 |
GAR 3.404

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Asian American studies, Cold War, migration, transnationalism, and ethnic studies

Photo of Huaiyin Li

Huaiyin Li

Professor

hli@utexas.edu |
512-475-7910 |
GAR 3.202

Education: PhD, UCLA, Department of History

Interests: Modern Chinese history; Contemporary Chinese economy, society, and politics; Imperial China; Chinese culture and religion; Gender and family; Agrarian studieS; Comparative studies of development and globalization

Photo of Mark Ravina

Mark Ravina

Professor

mark.ravina@austin.utexas.edu |
GAR 3.502

Education: Ph.D. Stanford University, 1991, A.B. Columbia University, 1983

Interests: early modern and modern Japan, digital humanities, transnational history

Department of Human Development and Family Science


Photo of Su Yeong Kim

Su Yeong Kim

Professor in the Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences

su.yeong.kim@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-5524 |
SEA 2.322G

Education: Ph.D. Human Development and Family Sciences, University of California, Davis

Interests: Mexican American and Chinese American families and immigration, acculturation, language brokering, parenting, depressive symptoms, school achievement, measurement invariance

Department of Middle Eastern Studies


Mikiya Koyagi

Assistant Professor

mikiya.koyagi@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-6605 |
CAL406

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: modern Iranian history, mobility, travel, infrastructure, transnational history, pan-Asianism, intra-Asian connections

Department of Radio-Television-Film


Lalitha Gopalan

Associate Professor

lalitha.gopalan@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4071 |
CMA 6.118

Education: PhD, University of Rochester

Interests: areas of Film Theory, Feminist Film Theory, Contemporary World Cinemas, Indian Cinema, Genre Films, and Experimental Film and Video

Department of Religious Studies


Photo of John W. Traphagan

John W. Traphagan

Professor

jtrap@utexas.edu |
512-232-0874 |
BUR 520

Education: Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Interests: Astrobiology | Japanese religion & society | ritual | medical anthropology | science, technology, and culture | ruralities in Japan

Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs


Sheena Greitens

Associate Professor

sheena.greitens@austin.utexas.edu |
SRH

Education: PhD in Government, Harvard University; MPhil in International Relations, Oxford University; B.A. in Political Science (Honors in Security Studies), Stanford University

Interests: East Asia, China, Korea, Taiwan, security, authoritarianism, democracy

Photo of Ji Ma

Ji Ma

Assistant Professor

maji@utexas.edu |
512-232-4240 |
SRH 3.324

Education: PhD, Indiana University

Interests: state-society relationship and knowledge production in nonprofit and philanthropy sectors; computational social science methodology

School of Journalism and Media


Photo of Wenhong Chen

Wenhong Chen

Assistant Professor

wenhong.chen@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4952 |
CMA 5.142

Education: Ph.D., University of Toronto

Photo of Hsiang Chyi

Hsiang Chyi

Associate Professor

chyi@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-0553 |
BMC 3.374

Education: Ph.D., (University of Texas at Austin), M.A. (Stanford University), B.A. (National Taiwan University)

Interests: economics and management of news media in the digital age; audience demand for multi-platform newspapers and the managerial challenges facing news organizations in the U.S. and in the East

Photo of Tracy Dahlby

Tracy Dahlby

Professor, Frank A. Bennack, Jr. Chair in Journalism

tracy.dahlby@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-6272 |
CMA 5.150F

Education: MA, Harvard University

Visiting Scholars


Malgorzata Citko

Visiting Researcher

mcitko@gmail.com

Education: PhD, East Asian Languages and Literatures (Japanese), University of Hawaii at Manoa

Interests: instability of knowledge and various mechanisms of stabilizing lines of knowledge transmission; reception of premodern Japanese literary texts throughout history; depictions of premodern Japan in popular culture; Japan’s intellectual history; history of women in Japan; non-Western digital humanities

Hannah Roh

Visiting Scholar

hannah.amaris.roh@gmail.com

Education: PhD, University of Chicago

Interests: religion; colonialism and postcolonialism; deconstruction; modern Korean history; Korean popular culture, including film and music

Retired Faculty


Rowena Fong

Ruby Lee Piester Centennial Professor Emerita in Services to Children and Families, Steve Hicks School of Social Work

rfong@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-1393 |
School of Social Work: 3.122G

Education: Ed.D., Harvard University

Interests: Asian American Studies; Chinese American children and families; ethnic identity formation and socialization; childrearing practices; international adoptions; immigrants and refugees; human trafficking; Title IVE child welfare training, child neglect, family preservation, culturally competent practice

Gerlinde Leiding

Professor Emeritus, School of Architecture

ger@mail.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-5665 |
GOL 3.104

Education: Architektin, Werkkunstschule Krefeld (Germany)

Interests: Design; History of Asian Architecture; Modern Japanese Architecture