The Economics Department

Changseok Ma Wins 2nd Year Paper Award

Wed, October 23, 2019
Changseok Ma Wins 2nd Year Paper Award
Changseok Ma (R) and Professor Dan Ackerberg (L)

Doctoral student Changseok Ma was chosen as this year’s recipient of the Best Second Year Paper Award. He received this honor and a $2,500 scholarship at a Happy Hour at Scholz Garten on October 17. The award was presented by the Graduate Studies Committee Chairman, Dan Ackerberg. The event was well attended by faculty and graduate students.

As part of the doctoral requirements, all 2nd-year students must submit a single-authored research paper during their spring semester. After the submission process has been completed, the Graduate Research Committee selects one student to receive The Second Year Paper Award. This honor is given annually.

Changseok's paper, " Early Refinancing and Transmission of Monetary Policy”, highlights the role of early renancing as an investment channel for the transmission of monetary policy on the firm side.

Based on the Mergent Fixed Income Securities Database, he conducted two regression analyses.

  • He documented heterogeneous early renancing responses to monetary policy shock.
  • He showed that given monetary policy shock, early refinancing stimulates investment.

Changseok is a 3rd-year Ph.D. student from South Korea. His field of research is Macro Economics. When he is not doing research, he enjoys traveling and watching sports.

Bookmark and Share

  •   Map
  • Department of Economics

    The University of Texas at Austin
    2225 Speedway
    BRB 1.116, C3100
    Austin, Texas 78712
    512-471-3211 (main) & 512-471-2973 (advising)