Department of English

Professor James Loehlin selected for the Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Thu, April 30, 2009

The Department of English congratulates Professor James Loehlin, Director of Shakespeare at Winedale, who will be inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Teachers next fall.  Past English Department members include professors Michael Adams, James Ayres, Mia Carter, Elizabeth Cullingford, James Garrison, Betty Sue Flowers, Ernest Kaulbach, Carol MacKay, Elizabeth Richmond-Garza,  Charles Rossman, and John Trimble.

Established in February 1995, the Academy of Distinguished Teachers was one of the first associations of its kind in the nation. Each year, new members of the Academy are selected through a rigorous evaluation process. Deans of colleges and schools annually nominate faculty for membership, and a committee that includes members of the Academy, students, and other faculty review the nominations and recommend a slate of honorees to the provost, who makes the final selections. Honorees are awarded the title University Distinguished Teaching Professor and serve for the duration of their tenure at The University of Texas at Austin.

The Academy of Distinguished Teachers is emblematic of the university’s commitment to excellence in teaching. Comprising approximately 5% of the tenured faculty in the university, the Academy provides leadership in improving the quality and depth of the undergraduate experience. Members of the Academy advise the president and provost on matters related to the university’s instructional mission; participate in seminars, colloquia, and workshops on teaching effectiveness; and serve as mentors to new faculty. 

Congratulations once again to Professor Loehlin for earning this remarkable honor! 

Bookmark and Share