Department of English

The Department of English Congratulates Students Elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Tue, November 20, 2007

The English Department congratulates the twelve English majors who were recently elected to Phi Beta Kappa at its Fall meeting. Upon joining, they will be inducted into the national honor society at the UT chapter's Fall reception on Sunday, December 9, in the Texas Union Ballroom.

Founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest honor society in the United States; its three Greek letters translate to ''love of learning is the guide of life.''

The newly-elected English majors are as follows:
Roxanne Colleen Anthony, Elizabeth Claire Ashmore, James Scott Brownlee, Ishan Chakrabarti, Robin Marie Choban, Ellen Marie Cole, Nicholas Shea Davis, Leslie Arrin Flynn, Caroline Julia Hornsby, Samuel Lloyd-Hughes, Lindsay Rene Ray, and Cody Elizabeth Robbins.
Bookmark and Share