The Department of French and Italian
Search for people

French Studies Grad Faculty and Affiliates


Mary J Baker

Professor Emeritus, French Studies

mfjordan@mail.utexas.edu

Education: PhD, Harvard University

Photo of Marc Bizer

Marc Bizer

Professor, French Studies

mbizer@utexas.edu |
512-471-7780 |
HRH 3.112B

Education: PhD, Princeton University

Interests: Early Modern French identities: national, social, religious, authorial, gendered; tragedy and the tragic; history of emotions

Photo of Benjamin Claude Brower

Benjamin Claude Brower

Associate Professor, Department of History

benbrower@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2005, Cornell University

Interests: France and its colonies with a focus on Algeria, European imperialism, questions of secularism and Islam, understanding violence in history

Photo of Jean-Pierre B Cauvin

Jean-Pierre B Cauvin

Professor Emeritus, French Studies

jpcauvin@utexas.edu

Education: Ph. D., Princeton University

Interests: Poetry of the 19th and 20th centuries; Surrealism; The Arts in France; 19th-20th C. French history

Photo of Mounira M. Charrad

Mounira M. Charrad

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology

charrad@utexas.edu |
512 2326311 |
CLA 3.526

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests: Gender and women's rights, political sociology, social theory, colonialism, comparative-historical sociology, globalization, Middle East and North Africa

Photo of Judith G. Coffin

Judith G. Coffin

Associate Professor, Department of History

jcoffin@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1985, Yale University

Interests: European social and cultural history, especially 20th-century France; gender, sexuality and history of feminism; history of radio; private and public; the "sexual revolution" in post-war France

Photo of Julie Hardwick

Julie Hardwick

Professor, Department of History

jhardwick@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1991, Johns Hopkins University

Interests: Early modern social and economic history, legal history, women's and family history

William W Kibler

Professor Emeritus, French Studies

wkibler@utexas.edu |
HRH 308C

Education: PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Photo of David Kornhaber

David Kornhaber

Associate Professor, Department of English and Program in Comparative Literature

david.kornhaber@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8712 |
CAL 209

Education: Ph.D., 2009, Columbia University

Interests: Modern and contemporary drama, intersections of theatre and philosophy, critical theory, modernism and the avant-garde

Photo of Patricia Kyle

Patricia Kyle

Director of Online Instruction, French

patricia.kyle@austin.utexas.edu |
512 471 2200 |
HRH 3.108C

Education: PHD French Linguistics, Indiana University Bloomington

Interests: Language Learning and Instruction, Second Language Acquisition, Teaching Languages with Technology, Digital Instructional Design

François P Lagarde

Associate Professor Emeritus, French Studies

lagarde@austin.utexas.edu

Education: PhD, Stanford

Photo of Jane N Lippmann

Jane N Lippmann

Professor Emeritus, French Studies

j.lippmann@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Interests: Pedagogy; Teaching with Technology; Developing Online Course Materials, Foreign Language Disabilities

Photo of Sofian Merabet

Sofian Merabet

Associate Professor of Anthropology

sofian.merabet@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-0057 |
SAC 5.156

Education: Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests: Arab Diaspora; socio-cultural theory; urban studies; gender studies; queer theory; Muslim world, Europe, and South America

Photo of Martha G. Newman

Martha G. Newman

Associate Professor in the Departments of History and Religious Studies, College of Liberal Arts

newman@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1988, Stanford University

Interests: Medieval Christian monasticism, monastic miracle collections, monastic attitudes toward women & the poor

Photo of Hervé Picherit

Hervé Picherit

Associate Professor, French Studies

picherit@utexas.edu |
512-471-6874 |
HRH 3.104B

Education: PhD, Stanford

Interests: 20th century French literature, French cinema, the novel, the avant-garde, philosophies of fiction

Dina M Sherzer

Professor Emeritus, French Studies

dsherzer@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph. D., University of Pennsylvania

Photo of Alexandra K Wettlaufer

Alexandra K Wettlaufer

Professor, French and Comparative Literature; Director of Plan II

akw@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1442 |
HRH 3.104C

Education: PhD, Columbia University

Interests: 19th-century literature, visual arts, culture, and gender studies in France and Britain

Photo of Lynn R Wilkinson

Lynn R Wilkinson

Associate Professor, Department of Germanic Studies

lrw@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D. Comparative Literature, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Nineteenth- and early-twentieth-century European literature, culture, and film; women writers and women's and gender studies; literary and cultural theory; Scandinavian film.

Photo of Seth Wolitz

Seth Wolitz

Professor Emeritus, French Studies

slwolitz@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Slavic, Jewish Literature and Art


  • Department of French and Italian

    University of Texas at Austin
    201 W 21st Street STOP B7600
    HRH 2.114A
    Austin, TX 78712-1800
    512-471-5531