Department of Geography and the Environment
Search for people
Photo of Paul C. Adams

Paul C. Adams

Professor

paul.adams@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1599 |
CLA 3.704

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Place Images in the Media, Technologically-Mediated Gathering, Topologies of Communication, Geopolitical Discourses, Formation of Subjectivity

Photo of Erick Akins

Erick Akins

Lecturer

eakins@alamo.edu |
471-5116

Interests: Non-Profit Management; Grant Research, Development and Writing; Grant Management; Policy Development and Community Development

Photo of Eugenio Arima

Eugenio Arima

Associate Professor

arima@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-0714 |
RLP 3.416 (formerly CLA)

Education: Ph.D., Michigan State University

Interests: Human-environment interactions, land change science, GIS/Science, applied quantitative methods, Latin America.

Photo of Timothy Beach

Timothy Beach

Professor - C. B. Smith, Sr., Centennial Chair

beacht@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-2064 |
CLA 3.306

Education: Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Interests: Geoarchaeology, Soil Geomorphology, and Paleoenvironments of the Maya World and Mediterranean

Photo of Elisabeth K Butzer

Elisabeth K Butzer

Research Fellow

Photo of Kelley A. Crews

Kelley A. Crews

Associate Professor & Graduate Advisor

kelley@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.424

Education: Ph.D., University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Interests: Muddy Boots Remote Sensing, Land Change Science, & Healthy Socio-ecological Systems in Developing States

Photo of William E. Doolittle

William E. Doolittle

Professor - Erich W. Zimmermann Regents Professor in Geography

dolitl@austin.utexas.edu |
RLP 3.718

Education: Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, Ph.D. H.C. Stockholms Universitet

Photo of Kalli Doubleday

Kalli Doubleday

Lecturer

kdoubleday@utexas.edu |
RLP 3.708

Education: Ph.D., UT Austin

Interests: human geography, animal geographies, large carnivores, human-wildlife interactions/conflict, and park-people relationships

Photo of Robin Doughty

Robin Doughty

Professor Emeritus

rdoughty@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 3.502

Education: Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Interests: Cultural Geography; Environmental Resource Management; Landscape Ecology and Biogeography

Photo of David Eaton

David Eaton

Faculty

eaton@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471.8972 |
SRH 3.204

Education: PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Jules R. Elkins

Jules R. Elkins

Lecturer

jules@austin.utexas.edu |
n/a

Education: Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Photo of Caroline Faria

Caroline Faria

Assistant Professor

cvfaria@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 3.414

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington, WA

Interests: Feminist political and economic geographies; feminist methodologies; Africa and the African diaspora

Photo of David Guillet

David Guillet

Research Fellow

Education: Ph.D. Anthropolgy, University of Texas

Photo of Rich Heyman

Rich Heyman

Lecturer

heyman@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 3.404

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Interests: Cultural Geography, Urban Geography, Critical Theory and Marxism, History of Geography, Pedagogy, Public Space

Photo of Steven D Hoelscher

Steven D Hoelscher

Affiliated Faculty

hoelscher@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-2567 |
BUR 430

Education: Ph.D., Geography, 1995, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Photo of Robert Holz

Robert Holz

Professor Emeritus

Education: Ph.D., 1963, Geography, Michigan State University

Photo of Donald J. Huebner

Donald J. Huebner

Lecturer

djhuebner@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: American Southwest, Desert and Mountain Environments, Coastal Environments, Surveying, GIS

Photo of Naya Jones

Naya Jones

Community-Based Researcher and Educator

geonaya@gmail.com

Education: PhD, Geography and the Environment, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Critical food studies; children/youth geographies; black geographies; geographies of healing and trauma; environmental knowledge; community-based scholarship; critical pedagogy; arts-based methods; Black, Xicana, and indigenous feminisms; Black Diaspora (North and Latin America)

Photo of Bella B. Jordan

Bella B. Jordan

Lecturer

belka@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9127 |
Department of Slavic Languages and Literature, BUR 470

Education: Ph.D., UT Austin

Photo of Troy M. Kimmel Jr.

Troy M. Kimmel Jr.

Senior Lecturer

tkimmel@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1590 |
RPL 3.412

Education: B.S., Texas A&M University

Interests: Broadcast meteorology; Severe/inclement weather forecasting; Aviation meteorology

Photo of Gregory W. Knapp

Gregory W. Knapp

Associate Professor and Director, Sustainability Studies

gwk@utexas.edu |
512.232.1588 |
RLP (CLA) 3.712

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison

Interests: Adaptive dynamics, cultural landscapes, archaeology, and sustainability of Andean agriculture; regional identities, ethnogeography, linguistic geography and ethnic territoriality; mapping; modernization as contextualized in historical cultural ecology and feminist political ecology; history of geographic thought; Latin America.

Photo of Samantha Krause

Samantha Krause

Faculty

sam.m.krause@gmail.com |
RLP

Education: Ph.D., UT Austin

Interests: Geoarchaeology, paleoclimatology, soil morphology of Central America and the southwestern US

Photo of Robert Lemon

Robert Lemon

Urban and Social Researcher

rdlemon@gmail.com

Education: MCRP, The Ohio State University; MLA, The University of California, Berkeley;, PhD, University of Texas at Austin (Geography)

Interests: Social Practices; Urban Landscape Representation; Streetscapes (Public and Semi-Public Spaces); Culinary Practices and the food system; Latino spaces

Photo of Blanca León

Blanca León

Research Fellow

leon@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6159 |
Plant Resources Center, Main Building Rm 127, 110 Inner Campus Drive Stop F0404

Education: Ph.D., Aarhus University, Denmark

Interests: biogeography, plant conservation

Photo of Sheryl Luzzadder-Beach

Sheryl Luzzadder-Beach

Professor and Fellow of the C.B. Smith, Sr. Centennial Chair in United States - Mexico Relations #2; Founding Director of the Water Quality and Environmental Hydrology Lab

slbeach@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1583 |
CLA 3.702

Education: Ph.D., University of Minnesota-Minneapolis

Interests: Geoarchaeology; Hydrology and Water Quality; Geomorphology; Spatial Statistics; Gender, Science, and Human Rights; Mesoamerica; Mediterranean and Near East; Iceland.

Photo of Ian Manners

Ian Manners

Professor Emeritus

imanners@uts.cc.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Oxford University

Photo of Thoralf Meyer

Thoralf Meyer

Lecturer

meyer@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 3.402, also SAC 4.160

Education: Ph.D., University of Virginia

Photo of Jennifer A. Miller

Jennifer A. Miller

Associate Professor, Honors Advisor, Director of GIScience Center, Associated Faculty, Department of Statistics and Data Sciences

jennifer.miller@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1587 (prefer contact through email) |
CLA 3.428

Education: Ph.D., San Diego State University/UC-Santa Barbara

Interests: GIScience, Movement pattern analysis, Spatial statistics, Biogeography

Photo of Molly Polk

Molly Polk

Associate Director of Sustainability Studies and Lecturer

mollypolk@utexas.edu |
512-232-6892 |
CLA 3.430

Education: Ph.D. in Geography, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Land Change Science, Sustainability, Mountain Geography, Human Dimensions of Global Change, Landscape Ecology, Conservation

Photo of Francisco L. Pérez

Francisco L. Pérez

Professor Emeritus, Soils Lab Director Emeritus

makena@austin.utexas.edu |
512.232.1582 |
CLA 3.708

Education: Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley

Interests: Mountain Geoecology, Geomorphology, Vegetation Ecology, Soils

Photo of Carlos E. Ramos Scharrón

Carlos E. Ramos Scharrón

Assistant Professor

cramos@austin.utexas.edu |
512/232-2067 |
CLA 3.406

Education: Ph.D., Colorado State University

Interests: Hydro-geomorphology; terrestrial carbon and sediment budgets; watershed analyses; land use change

Photo of Bjorn Sletto

Bjorn Sletto

Faculty

bjorn@utexas.edu |
512.471.5153 |
SUT 3.124B

Education: Ph.D., Cornell University

Interests: Geographic Information Systems, Latin American planning and development, participatory planning, environmental and social justice, social theory

Photo of Rebecca M. Torres

Rebecca M. Torres

Associate Professor, Department of Geography and the Environment

rebecca.torres@austin.utexas.edu |
RLP (formerly CLA) 3.426

Education: Ph.D., University of California at Davis

Interests: (Im)migration, Children/Youth Geographies, Gender, Feminist Geography, Activist/Engaged Scholarship, Mexico, Latin America

Photo of Pavithra Vasudevan

Pavithra Vasudevan

Faculty

pavithra@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2018, Geography, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Photo of Jayme Walenta

Jayme Walenta

Lecturer

jwalenta@utexas.edu |
CLA 3.422

Education: Ph.D., University of British Columbia

Interests: Economic Geography, Feminist Geography, Environment and Business Relations

Photo of Peter Ward

Peter Ward

Professor, Dept. of Sociology, LBJ School; C.B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair # 1 in US-Mexico Relations

peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu |
512.471-6302 |
RLP 3.730, SRH 3.228

Education: Ph.D., University of Liverpool

Photo of Kenneth R. Young

Kenneth R. Young

Professor

kryoung@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-8311 |
CLA 3.706

Education: Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder

Interests: Biogeography; Landscape Ecology; Climate Change; Sustainability; Tropical Environments


  • Department of Geography and the Environment

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E. 23rd Street, A3100
    RLP 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712
    512-471-5116