Department of Germanic Studies

2010 Austin Nordic Film Fest

Feature films and short films from Denmark, Iceland, Finland, and Sweden

Sat, February 27, 2010 | Bob Bullock Texas History Museum

3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Nordic Film Fest
Nordic Film Fest

You are invited to this Saturday’s  2010 Austin Nordic Film Fest:

Saturday, February 27, 2010 at the Bob Bullock Texas History Museum
3 pm to 10 pm, with an after-party.
Feature films and short films from Denmark, Iceland, Finland, and Sweden.

Click here for a full schedule and film descriptions: 2010 Austin Nordic Film Fest

Some highlights:

Everlasting Moments (Sweden):

- Award synopsis: ‘Sweden’s 2009 Academy Award Nominee for Best Foreign Language Film and nominated for Golden Globe’
- 8 festival wins & 7 nominations
- David Edelstein (Film Critic for ‘Fresh Air’, New Yorker, and CBS Sunday Morning) ranks ‘Everlasting Moments’ at #2 for his top 10 films of the year.
- “A movie like Everlasting Moments comes along maybe once in a decade.”  Carrie Rickey, Philadelphia Inquirer

Flame and Citron (Denmark):

- Award synopsis:  9 festival wins & 15 nominations
- A slick noir feel with the thrills of an action blockbuster’ –, Indie Film Magazine
- One of the most expensive films ever made in Denmark

The Schedule:

Block I:

3:00 pm : First set of shorts-

  • The Lake (Järvi) – Finland: 8 min, Comedy
  • The Last Farm (Síðasti bærinn) – Iceland: 15 min, Drama
  • The Magician – Iceland: 16 min, Drama

3:45 pm : First Feature-

  • Flame & Citron (Flammen & Citronen) – Denmark: 130 min, Action/Adventure

Break (with FREE Shorts): 6:00 pm

  • Family Reunion (Iceland)
  • Wrestling (Iceland)
  • Hanasaari A (Finland)

Block II:

6:45 pm :  Second set of shorts-

  • Misty Mountain – Iceland: 31 min, Drama
  • Harvest Time (Elonkorjuu) – Finland: 15 min, Comedy

7:45 pm : Second Feature-

  • Everlasting Moments (Maria Larssons eviga ögonblick) – Sweden / Denmark: 131 min, Drama

See our Facebook page (must have a Facebook account and be logged on to view): Austin Nordic Film Fest on Facebook
We hope to see you there!

ASFTA Steering Committee: Emily Erickson, Daniel Jessen Greenfield, Taryn Hall, Jette Uglebjerg Hicks, Kristen Luke, Klaus Madsen, Stine Nielsen, Maja Nipper, John Olsson, Sigfinnur Sigurdsson, Tiina Tapia, Nikolas White


Sponsored by: Department of Germanic Studies, The University of Texas Swedish Excellence Endowment, and many more - See

Bookmark and Share