The Department of Government
The Department of Government


The Government Department's mission is to offer a nationally acclaimed program of teaching and research in political science. This has four principal components and constituencies:

  1. A mandate from the Texas Legislature to provide six credit hours of instruction in American and Texas government for all University undergraduates;

  2. An undergraduate major that educates leaders and informed citizens, equips them with knowledge and critical skills appropriate for a variety of careers inside and outside the public sector, and enables graduates to gain admission to professional schools in law, public affairs, and other fields;

  3. An undergraduate track, including an Honors program, appropriate for students interested in graduate study leading to a Ph.D. in political science;

  4. A Ph.D. program designed to educate scholars for political science teaching and research, in which the discipline's major fields, and the principal approaches in them, are taught by a diverse and expert faculty.

  •   Map
  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704