The Department of Government
The Department of Government

Texas Politics Speaker Series

Senator Judith Zaffirini (D-Laredo) represents the 21st Senatorial District. First elected in 1986, she will begin her 20th year in the Texas Senate in 2007. In 2004 she was re-elected with 79 percent of the districtwide vote, her sixth landslide victory in which she carried all counties in the large and diverse district-something no one else ever has accomplished.

Wed, November 8, 2006 | GEB 3.312

3:30 PM

Senator Zaffirini is the first Hispanic woman senator in Texas and to serve as President Pro Tempore of the Texas Senate and as Governor for a Day. The senior senator from the border and for Bexar County, she has served three consecutive terms as Chair of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee, six terms on the Appropriations Conference Committee, seven terms on the Senate Committee on Finance, and nine consecutive terms on the Senate Committee on Education. Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst appointed her Chair of the Subcommittee on Capital Funding for Higher Education, Vice Chair of the Senate Finance Committee and to the Legislative Budget Board, and the Senate Committees on Education, Health and Human Services, International Relations and Trade, and Subcommittee on Higher Education.


Bookmark and Share

  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704