The Department of Government
The Department of Government

Stauffer Wins President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award

Tue, September 29, 2009

Devin Stauffer











Devin Stauffer, associate professor of government, has been named a 2009-10 recipient of the President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award. Stauffer is a political philosopher who specializes in classical and early modern political thought. His most recent book is The Unity of Plato's 'Gorgias': Rhetoric, Justice, and the Philosophic Life, published originally in 2006 by Cambridge University Press, and released this year in paperback.

College of Liberal Arts Dean Randy Diehl commented that, "Devin Stauffer is a stellar example of the excellent teachers in Government, and college exit poll surveys indicate that he's among the leaders in the department in terms of the number of students who list him as one of the best professors they had at UT."

This continues a strong tradition of Department of Government faculty winning this university-wide teaching award. Stauffer joins the following pedigree:

Daron Shaw, 2007-08
Sean Theriault, 2005-06
Robert Moser, 2001-02
Jeffrey Tulis, 1995-96
Peter Trubowitz, 1994-95
Henry Dietz, 1992-93
Melissa Collie, 1989-90
Bruce Buchanan, 1986-87
Robert Hardgrave, 1984-85
Janice May, 1983-84
Henry Dietz, 1982-83

Bookmark and Share

  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704