The Department of Government
The Department of Government

2011 William Jennings Bryan Prize Winners Announced

Wed, May 18, 2011

Winners of the 2011 William Jennings Bryan Prize in Government were announced this week and recipients will be recognized at Friday's department commencement. Established in 1898 with $250, the Jennings Prize is the university’s very first endowment. The Department of Government uses the prize money to recognize the top theses in each year’s Honors class. The three 2011 winners are:

Joshua R. EmenegerChoosing Genocide: Demographics, The Commitment Problem, and Ethnic War in Bosnia.
Thesis Supervisor: Patrick McDonald.

Katherine A. LongThe Cost of Political Instability: Why Gabon’s Development Has Outpaced Congo-Brazzaville’s.
Thesis Supervisor: Catherine Boone.

Michael Dalton RodriguezThe Fourth Amendment: Property, the Right to Exclude, and Developing Technologies.
Thesis Supervisor: H.W. Perry.

Congratulations to this year’s entire class of Government Honors students! The students, their theses and faculty advisors are:

Chelsea Adler — Female Leadership and the Rwandan Parliament.
Thesis Supervisor: Dana Stauffer.

Elizabeth Blumberg — Voter Identification Requirements: The Creation of the Semisovereign People.
Thesis Supervisor: Gary Jacobsohn.

Samuel W. Calvert — Explaining Farm Subsidies: Agribusiness Organization and Congressional Mobilization.
Thesis Supervisor: Brian Roberts.

Lily N. Chowdhury — Medicaid Costs are Big and Bright Deep in the Heart of Texas.
Thesis Supervisor: Bryan Jones.

Miles Gilmour — Buying Democracy: An Analysis of the Legislative, Judicial and Empirical History of Campaign Finance Reform.
Thesis Supervisor: H.W. Perry.

Henry Kopia Keculah Jr. — The Battle of Opportunity and Grievance in Liberia.
Thesis Supervisor: Catherine Boone.

Saram Mallams — The Problem for Democracy: Teachings from Tocqueville and Nietzsche.
Thesis Supervisor: Devin Stauffer.

Brian Steinacker — Federalism's Last Stand: What the Health Care Bill Means for the Future of Limited Government.
Thesis Supervisor: Alan Sager.

Michael Townsley — Glaucus Resurrected: Freedom and Rationality in the Modern World.
Thesis Supervisor: Benjamin Gregg.

William Truong — Double Standard: How Modern Jurisprudence Perverts Substantive Due Process.
Thesis Supervisor: Jay Budziszewski.

Brian C. Wilson — Legislating Exclusion: Why Arizona is More Anti-Immigrant than Other Border States.
Thesis Supervisor: Gary Freeman.

Yijiao Zhuang — The Role of Social Entrepreneurship and Government as Vehicles for Social Change.
Thesis Supervisor: Bethany Albertson.


Bookmark and Share

  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704