The Department of Government
The Department of Government

Prof. Catherine Boone Is Appointed to Selection Committee for the Social Science Research Council

Tue, September 4, 2007

Boone is just completing a three-year term on the elected Council of the American Political Science Association, the discipline's main professional organization. She has also been appointed to a three-year term on the 16-person selection committee for the Social Science Research Council's International Dissertation Research Fellowships. The Fellowships are among the most prestigious sources of external funding for political science dissertations. Boone was also recently elected to a two- year term on the Executive Committee of the Comparative Politics Section of the American Political Science Association. She continues to serve as Vice-Chair of the Comparative Democratization Section of the Association.

Boone is one of the country's leading students of African politics and comparative political economy. Her most recent book, Political Topographies of the African State: Rural Authority and Institutional Choice (Cambridge, 2003), was a finalist for the Herskovitz award in 2004, a runner-up for the Leubbert Award in 2004, and winner of the Society for Comparative Research Mattei Dogan Award in 2005. Boone has held Fulbright Visiting Professor appointments in the People's Republic of China and in Mexico, and Fulbright Visiting Scholar appointments in various West African countries.

Bookmark and Share

  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704