The Department of Government
The Department of Government

Two Government Students Win Best Undergraduate Student Paper Awards

Tue, April 3, 2007

Prior to the conference, both UT students were nominated by Professor Jeffrey Tulis, and each received undergraduate research fellowships to attend the annual event in Illinois. Arun Venkataraman received Second Place for his paper, Islam and Democracy: A Tocquevillian Approach. He is a double major in Business Honors and Government. Anjali Mohan received Third Place for her paper, Liberating Women in Tocqueville's Democracy in America. She is a triple major in Plan II Honors, Government, and Business Honors.

As part of their awards, both students will receive $100 and a certificate from Pi Sigma Alpha, and publication in the spring issue of Critique: A Worldwide Student Journal of Politics. Congratulations to these students for a job well done!

Bookmark and Share

  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704