The Department of Government
The Department of Government

Department Raking in 2013 APSA Awards

Tue, August 27, 2013

Several government faculty members are being recognized by the American Political Science Association at this week’s annual meeting in Chicago.

  • Rachel Wellhausen is the recipient of the Mancur Olson Best Dissertation Award, given for the best dissertation in political economy completed in the previous two years.
  • Michael Findley’s paper, "Causes of Non-Compliance with International Law: Evidence from a Field Experiment on Financial Transparency” (with Daniel Nielson and Jason Sharman), is receiving the McGillivray Best Paper Award, given for the best paper in Political Economy presented at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting, as well as the Experimental Research Best Paper Award.
  • Bryan Jones is the recipient of the Norton Long Career Achievement Award “presented annually to a scholar who has made distinguished contributions to the study of urban politics over the course of a career through scholarly publication, the mentoring of students, and public service.”
  • Chris Wlezien is the recipient of the Seymour Martin Lipset Book Award in Canadian Politics, for his book (with Stuart Soroka), Degrees of Democracy: Politics, Public Opinion and Policy.
  • Zach Elkins is the recipient of the Lijphart/Przeworski/Verba Data Set Award, recognizing a publicly available data set that has made an important contribution to the field of comparative politics, for the work he has done on the Comparative Constitutions Project with Tom Ginsburg and James Melton.
  • Kurt Weyland’s two articles, “Diffusion Waves and European Democratization: The Impact of Organizational Development” and “The Arab Spring: Why the Surprising Similarities with the Revolutionary Wave of 1848?” are receiving the Mary Parker Follett Prize of APSA’s Politics and History Section. The award committee wrote: “The ability to draw on such diverse intellectual traditions and offer a framework for analysis that can travel beyond its geographic origins sets these works apart in their theoretical and methodological contributions and represents important advances in the study of politics and history.”

Additionally, Timothy Werner, as assistant professor of Business, Government and Society in the McCombs School of Business, is the recipient of the Emerging Scholars Award from APSA’s Political Organizations and Parties section.

Finally, a distinguished alumna of the government Ph.D. program, Janet Box-Steffensmeier, the Vernal Riffe Professor of Political Science at The Ohio State University, is the recipient of the Political Methodology Career Achievement Award, honoring an outstanding career of intellectual accomplishment and service to the profession in the Political Methodology field.

Bookmark and Share

  • Department of Government

    The University of Texas at Austin
    158 W 21st ST STOP A1800
    Batts Hall 2.116
    Austin, TX 78712-1704