Institute of Historical Studies
Institute of Historical Studies

Steering Committee, 2017-18


Miriam Bodian, Professor of History and Director of the Institute for Historical Studies at UT Austin, is the author of Dying in the Law of Moses: Crypto-Jewish Martyrdom in the Iberian World (Indiana University Press, 2007) and Hebrews of the Portuguese Nation: Conversos and Community in Early Modern Amsterdam (Indiana University Press, 1997). Her research interests include the Spanish and Portuguese Inquisitions, post-Expulsion Sephardic Jewry, and Jews and the Reformation. Professor Bodian's faculty web page.

Program Coordinator

Madeline Y. Hsu, Professor of History and Faculty Program Coordinator of the Institute for Historical Studies at UT Austin in 2017-2018, is the author of The Good Immigrants: How the Yellow Peril Became the Model Minority (Princeton University Press, 2015), Dreaming of Gold, Dreaming of Home: Transnationalism and Migration Between the United States and South China, 1882-1943 (Stanford University Press, 2000), and Asian American History: A Very Short Introduction (Oxford University Press, 2016). Professor Hsu is the vice-president for the Immigration and Ethnic History Society and the International Society for the Study of Chinese Overseas. Professor Hsu's faculty web page.

Steering Committee

Daina Ramey Berry is Associate Professor of History and African and African Diaspora Studies at UT Austin. She is the author of The Price for Their Pound of Flesh: The Value of the Enslaved from Womb to Grave in the Building of a Nation (Beacon Press, 2017), Swing the Sickle for the Harvest is Ripe: Gender and Slavery in Antebellum Georgia (University of Illinois Press, 2007), as wells as Editor-in-chief of Enslaved Women in America: An Encyclopedia (ABC-Clio, 2012) and co-editor of Slavery and Freedom in Savannah (University of Georgia Press, 2014). Professor Berry's faculty profile, and home page.

Benjamin Claude Brower is Associate Professor of History, UT Austin, and the author of A Desert Named Peace: The Violence of France's Empire in the Algerian Sahara, 1844-1902 (Columbia University Press, 2009). A Faculty Fellow at IHS in 2017-2018, he is currently working on two book length projects, one titled “Algeria in Other’s Names: Symbolic Violence and the Colonization of Algeria” and the other “The North African Hajj under French Rule, 1798-1962.” Professor Brower's faculty web page.

Neil D. Kamil, Associate Professor of History at UT Austin, is the author of Fortress of the Soul: Violence, Metaphysics, and Material Life in the Huguenots’ New World, 1517-1751 (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005). He teaches the history and culture of the Atlantic and Mediterranean worlds from the fifteenth through the eighteenth century, with special emphasis on art and material culture, artisans, and the history of science. A 2017-2018 Faculty Fellow at IHS, he is currently working on a book titled “Artisans of ‘Inventive Genius’: Atlantic Refugees, Niche Economies, and Portable Devices in the Manufacture of Polite Matter, 1640-1789.” Professor Kamil's faculty web page.

Tracie Matysik, Associate Professor of History at UT Austin, is the author of Reforming the Moral Subject: Ethics and Sexuality in Central Europe, 1890-1930 (Cornell University Press, 2008) and co-editor of German Modernities from Wilhelm to Weimar: A Contest of Futures (Bloomsbury Press, 2016). At present she is working on a book manuscript entitled "When Spinoza Met Marx: Experiments in Democratic Activity, 1830-Present," an exploration of alternative ways thinkers have approached the idea of meaningful action in the material, sensual world. Professor Matysik's faculty web page.

Downloadable list of past steering committees (PDF, 25K)