History Department
History Department
Search for people

Borderlands


Photo of C. J. Alvarez

C. J. Alvarez

Associate Professor

cjalvarez@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: history of the U.S.-Mexico border; environmental history

Photo of Erika M. Bsumek

Erika M. Bsumek

Associate Professor

embsumek@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7253 |
GAR 2.104C

Education: Ph.D., 2000, Rutgers University

Photo of Walter L. Buenger

Walter L. Buenger

Summerlee Foundation Chair in Texas History and Barbara Stuart Centennial Professor in Texas History; Chief Historian, Texas State Historical Association

w-buenger@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-7214 |
GAR 3.118

Education: Ph.D., 1979, Rice University

Photo of Tatjana Lichtenstein

Tatjana Lichtenstein

Associate Professor

lichtens@austin.utexas.edu |
737-701-0600 |
GAR 2.138

Education: Ph.D. 2009, University of Toronto, Canada

Photo of Monica M. Martinez

Monica M. Martinez

Associate Professor

monica.martinez1@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2012, American Studies, Yale University

Interests: US History, US-Mexico border, Texas, Latinxs in the United States, civil and human rights, race and memory, racial violence, public history

Photo of Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

 
(on leave)
Associate Professor

osseo@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D. History of Science, Harvard University

Interests: History and sociology of science, technology, and medicine, global health, Africa: Ghana, Madagascar, South Africa, nuclear energy, medical isotopes, biotechnology, healthcare textiles, plants and society, drugs, pharmaceuticals, dyes, textiles

Annette M. Rodriguez

Assistant Professor

annette.rodriguez@austin.utexas.edu |
512–471–3261 |
GAR 3.214

Education: Ph.D., 2016, Brown University

Photo of Alan Tully

Alan Tully

Professor; Eugene C. Barker Centennial Professorship in American History

tully@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-6320 |
GAR 3.504

Education: Ph.D., 1973, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Emilio Zamora

Emilio Zamora

Professor; Fellow of George W. Littlefield Professorship in American History; and former President, Texas State Historical Association, 2019-20

e.zamora@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-8706 |
GAR 2.104B

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin