History Department
History Department
Search for people

Science, Technology and Medicine


Photo of Robert H. Abzug

Robert H. Abzug

Professor; Audre & Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair of Jewish Studies

zug@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7240 |
GAR 3.310

Education: Ph.D., History, 1977, University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Rodolfo John Alaniz

Rodolfo John Alaniz

Lecturer; Ritter Memorial Fellow, National Academies Fellow in Science Education

rodolfo.alaniz@austin.utexas.edu |
GAR 0.108

Education: Ph.D., History, 2014, University of California, San Diego

Interests: History of biology, Anglo-American Atlantic World

Photo of Erika M. Bsumek

Erika M. Bsumek

Associate Professor

embsumek@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7253 |
GAR 2.104C

Education: Ph.D., 2000, Rutgers University

Photo of Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Professor; Alice Drysdale Sheffield Professor of History

canizares-esguerra@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7694 |
GAR 2.108

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Photo of Laurie B. Green

Laurie B. Green

Associate Professor

lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7245 |
GAR 2.116

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Van A. Herd

Van A. Herd

Lecturer

herd@austin.utexas.edu |
512-692-9310

Interests: Neurophysiology, Baroque Science, and Jacob Boehme

Photo of Bruce J. Hunt

Bruce J. Hunt

Associate Professor

bjhunt@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6109 |
GAR 2.106

Education: Ph.D., 1984, Johns Hopkins University

Interests: History of science and technology

Photo of Neil D. Kamil

Neil D. Kamil

Associate Professor

kamil@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6110 |
GAR 2.146

Education: Ph.D., 1989, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Philippa Levine

Philippa Levine

Professor; Walter Prescott Webb Chair in History and Ideas; Co-Director, Program in British Studies

philippa@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-1236 |
HRC 3.202B

Education: DPhil, Oxford University

Photo of Alberto A. Martínez

Alberto A. Martínez

Professor

almartinez@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9426 |
GAR 0.138

Education: Ph.D., University of Minnesota, M.A. NYU

Interests: History of science and mathematics, Einstein, historical myths in science, notions of race, political news media.

Photo of Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Associate Professor

osseo@utexas.edu |
GAR 3.106

Education: Ph.D. History of Science, Harvard University

Interests: History and sociology of science, technology, and medicine, global health, Africa: Ghana, Madagascar, South Africa, nuclear energy, medical isotopes, biotechnology, plants and society, drugs, pharmaceuticals

Photo of Megan Raby

Megan Raby

Associate Professor

meganraby@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7925 |
GAR 0.114

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: History of Science, Environmental History, US and Caribbean, 19th and 20th c.

Photo of Christopher Rose

Christopher Rose

Postdoctoral Fellow and Lecturer

csrose@utexas.edu |
512-475-9515 |
GAR 4.118

Education: PhD, History, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: 19th and 20th century Egypt & Eastern Mediterranean; social history of public health & disease; history and development of Cairo; food history.