History Department
History Department
Search for people

Intellectual History


Photo of Robert H. Abzug

Robert H. Abzug

Professor; Audre & Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair of Jewish Studies

zug@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7240 |
GAR 3.310

Education: Ph.D., History, 1977, University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Kamran Scot Aghaie (on leave Spring 2020)

Kamran Scot Aghaie (on leave Spring 2020)

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Middle Eastern Studies

kamranaghaie@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6400 |
WMB 6.102

Education: Ph.D., 1999, University of California at Los Angeles

Photo of Douglas G. Biow

Douglas G. Biow

Professor, Superior Oil Company-Linward Shivers Cenntenial Professor of Medieval and Renaissance Studies, and Director of the Center for European Studies

biow@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7267; 512-232-3470 |
HRH 2.110B

Photo of Miriam Bodian

Miriam Bodian

Professor; Director, Institute for Historical Studies

bodian@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4358 |
GAR 2.104A

Education: Ph.D., 1988, Hebrew University

Photo of Benjamin Claude Brower

Benjamin Claude Brower

Associate Professor

benbrower@utexas.edu |
512-475-6813 |
GAR 3.204

Education: Ph.D., 2005, Cornell University

Photo of Yoav Di-Capua

Yoav Di-Capua

Professor

ydi@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7850 |
GAR 3.222

Education: Ph.D., 2004, Princeton University

Photo of Toyin Falola

Toyin Falola

Professor; Jacob & Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities; University Distinguished Teaching Prof.

toyinfalola@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7224 |
GAR 2.142

Education: Ph.D., 1981, History, University of Ife

Photo of Alison K. Frazier

Alison K. Frazier

Associate Professor

akfrazier@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6375 |
GAR 2.109

Education: Ph.D., 1997, Columbia University

Photo of Sumit Guha

Sumit Guha

Professor; Frances Higginbotham Nalle Centennial Professorship in History

sguha@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7236 |
GAR 2.140

Education: PhD, University of Cambridge

Photo of Van A. Herd

Van A. Herd

Lecturer

herd@austin.utexas.edu |
512-692-9310

Interests: Neurophysiology, Baroque Science, and Jacob Boehme

Photo of Brian P. Levack

Brian P. Levack

John E. Green Regents Professor Emeritus in History; Distinguished Teaching Professor

levack@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7204 |
GAR 3.502

Education: Ph.D., 1970, Yale University

Photo of Huaiyin Li

Huaiyin Li

Professor

hli@utexas.edu |
512-475-7910 |
GAR 3.202

Education: PhD, UCLA, Department of History

Interests: Modern Chinese history; Contemporary Chinese economy, society, and politics; imperial China; gender and family; agrarian studies; Chinese culture and religions; and comparative studies of development and globalization.

Photo of Alberto A. Martínez

Alberto A. Martínez

Professor

almartinez@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9426 |
GAR 0.138

Education: Ph.D., University of Minnesota, M.A. NYU

Interests: History of science and mathematics, Einstein, historical myths in science, notions of race, political news media.

Photo of Al Martinich

Al Martinich

Professor; Roy Allison Vaughan Centennial Professorship in Philosophy

martinich@austin.utexas.edu |
512-484-8186 |
WAG 416A

Education: PhD, University of California at San Diego

Photo of Tracie M. Matysik

Tracie M. Matysik

 
(on leave)
Associate Professor

matysik@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7251 |
GAR 3.402

Education: Ph.D., 2001, Cornell University

Photo of Joan Neuberger

Joan Neuberger

Professor

neuberger@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7219 |
GAR 2.102

Education: Ph.D., 1985, Stanford University

Photo of Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Associate Professor

osseo@utexas.edu |
GAR 3.106

Education: Ph.D. History of Science, Harvard University

Interests: History and sociology of science, technology, and medicine, global health, Africa: Ghana, Madagascar, South Africa, nuclear energy, medical isotopes, biotechnology, plants and society, drugs, pharmaceuticals

Photo of Rachel Ozanne

Rachel Ozanne

Lecturer

rachel.ozanne@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6870 |
GAR 3.226

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas

Interests: 19th century religion in the United States; theory of religion and religious experiences; intellectual history; history of psychology; ethics of Sainthood; Texas history

Photo of Richard H. Pells

Richard H. Pells

Professor Emeritus

richard.pells@gmail.com

Education: Ph.D., 1969, Harvard University

Photo of Megan Raby

Megan Raby

Associate Professor

meganraby@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7925 |
GAR 0.114

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: History of Science, Environmental History, US and Caribbean, 19th and 20th c.