History Department
History Department
Search for people

International Relations


Photo of B. Alex Beasley

B. Alex Beasley

Faculty

beasley@austin.utexas.edu |
BUR 402

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of Henry W. Brands

Henry W. Brands

Professor; Jack S. Blanton Sr. Chair in History

hwbrands@austin.utexas.edu |
GAR 3.306

Education: Ph.D., 1985, University of Texas at Austin

Photo of Jonathan C. Brown

Jonathan C. Brown

Professor

j.brown@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7218 |
GAR 1.114

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: raising horses, tennis

Photo of Toyin Falola

Toyin Falola

Professor; Jacob & Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities; University Distinguished Teaching Prof.

toyinfalola@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7224 |
GAR 2.142

Education: Ph.D., 1981, History, University of Ife

Photo of Sumit Guha

Sumit Guha

Professor; Frances Higginbotham Nalle Centennial Professorship in History

sguha@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7236 |
GAR 2.140

Education: PhD, University of Cambridge

Photo of Antony G. Hopkins

Antony G. Hopkins

Walter Prescott Webb Chair Emeritus of History

tony.hopkins@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1964, University of London

Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Professor

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9303 |
GAR 3.404

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Photo of Mark Atwood Lawrence

Mark Atwood Lawrence

Associate Professor

malawrence@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-9304 |
GAR 3.220

Education: Ph.D., 1999, Yale University

Photo of Huaiyin Li

Huaiyin Li

Professor

hli@utexas.edu |
512-475-7910 |
GAR 3.202

Education: PhD, UCLA, Department of History

Interests: Modern Chinese history; Contemporary Chinese economy, society, and politics; imperial China; gender and family; agrarian studies; Chinese culture and religions; and comparative studies of development and globalization.

Photo of Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Associate Professor

osseo@utexas.edu |
GAR 3.106

Education: Ph.D. History of Science, Harvard University

Interests: History and sociology of science, technology, and medicine, global health, Africa: Ghana, Madagascar, South Africa, nuclear energy, medical isotopes, biotechnology, plants and society, drugs, pharmaceuticals

Photo of Richard H. Pells

Richard H. Pells

Professor Emeritus

richard.pells@gmail.com

Education: Ph.D., 1969, Harvard University

Photo of Mark Ravina

Mark Ravina

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Chair in Japanese Studies

mark.ravina@austin.utexas.edu |
Garrison 3.502

Education: Ph.D. Stanford University, 1991, A.B. Columbia University, 1983

Photo of Michael B. Stoff

Michael B. Stoff

Associate Professor; Distinguished University Teaching Associate Professor

mbstoff@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7217 |
GAR 2.138

Education: Ph.D., 1977, Yale University

Interests: U. S. Political Culture and Public Policy; U.S. Foreign Relations; Second World War; Atomic Bomb

Photo of Jeremi Suri

Jeremi Suri

Professor; Mack Brown Distinguished Chair for Leadership in Global Affairs

suri@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7242 |
GAR 2.122/ SRH 3.378

Education: Ph.D. in History, 2001, Yale University