History Department
History Department
Search for people

Visual and Material Cultures


Photo of Robert H. Abzug

Robert H. Abzug

Professor; Audre & Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair of Jewish Studies

zug@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7240 |
GAR 3.310

Education: Ph.D., History, 1977, University of California, Berkeley

Photo of Daina Ramey Berry

Daina Ramey Berry

Professor; Oliver H. Radkey Regents Professorship in History; Fellow of Walter Prescott Webb Chair in History; Fellow of George W. Littlefield Professorship in American History

drb@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3261 |
GAR 1.104

Education: Ph.D., 1998, United States History, University of California, Los Angeles

Photo of Douglas G. Biow

Douglas G. Biow

Professor, Superior Oil Company-Linward Shivers Cenntenial Professor of Medieval and Renaissance Studies, and Director of the Center for European Studies

biow@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7267; 512-232-3470 |
HRH 2.110B

Photo of Erika M. Bsumek

Erika M. Bsumek

Associate Professor

embsumek@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7253 |
GAR 2.104C

Education: Ph.D., 2000, Rutgers University

Photo of Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra

Professor; Alice Drysdale Sheffield Professor of History

canizares-esguerra@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7694 |
GAR 2.108

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Photo of David Crew

David Crew

Professor; Distinguished Teaching Professor

dfcrew@austin.utexas.edu |
512-694-6673 |
GAR 2.126

Education: Ph.D., 1975, Cornell University

Photo of Susan Deans-Smith

Susan Deans-Smith

Associate Professor

sdsmith@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7205 |
GAR 3.302

Education: Ph.D., Cambridge University

Photo of Alison K. Frazier

Alison K. Frazier

Associate Professor

akfrazier@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-6375 |
GAR 2.109

Education: Ph.D., 1997, Columbia University

Photo of Laurie B. Green

Laurie B. Green

Associate Professor

lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7245 |
GAR 2.116

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Photo of Neil D. Kamil

Neil D. Kamil

Associate Professor

kamil@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6110 |
GAR 2.146

Education: Ph.D., 1989, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Abraham Marcus

Abraham Marcus

Associate Professor Emeritus

amarcus@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1979, Columbia University

Photo of G. Howard Miller

G. Howard Miller

Associate Professor Emeritus; Distinguished Teaching Professor

hmiller@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1970, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Photo of Steven Mintz

Steven Mintz

Professor

smintz@utexas.edu |
512-475-7257 |
GAR 3.312

Education: Ph.D., Yale University, 1979

Photo of Joan Neuberger

Joan Neuberger

Professor

neuberger@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7219 |
GAR 2.102

Education: Ph.D., 1985, Stanford University

Photo of Martha G. Newman

Martha G. Newman

Associate Professor in the Departments of History and Religious Studies

newman@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-2264 |
GAR 3.408, BUR 530

Education: Ph.D., 1988, Stanford University

Photo of Robert A. Olwell

Robert A. Olwell

Associate Professor

rolwell@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7226 |
GAR 3.108

Education: Ph.D., 1991, Johns Hopkins University

Photo of Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Abena Dove Osseo-Asare

Associate Professor

osseo@utexas.edu |
GAR 3.106

Education: Ph.D. History of Science, Harvard University

Interests: History and sociology of science, technology, and medicine, global health, Africa: Ghana, Madagascar, South Africa, nuclear energy, medical isotopes, biotechnology, plants and society, drugs, pharmaceuticals

Photo of Richard H. Pells

Richard H. Pells

Professor Emeritus

richard.pells@gmail.com

Education: Ph.D., 1969, Harvard University