History Department
History Department

Prof. Hardwick recipient of teaching fellowship award

Thu, April 28, 2011
Prof. Hardwick recipient of teaching fellowship award
Prof. Julie Hardwick

"This award recognizes the consistent level of excellence that you have achieved in teaching students within the Department of History,” wrote Randy Diehl, dean of the College of Liberal Arts, in his notification letter. “Your commitment and outstanding performance, as well as your high academic standards not only instruct but also inspire.”

The College of Liberal Arts established the Raymond Dickson Centennial Endowed Teaching Fellowship in 1989 to recognize faculty demonstrating outstanding commitment to teaching undergraduate and graduate students. All full-time faculty in the College of Liberal Arts are eligible for this award, which carries a one year fellowship appointment and a $3,000 salary supplement.

One of the main criteria to be selected is "teaching excellence and outstanding ability to attract and hold the interest of students." Professors must also be exceptional scholars.

Besides being a professor in the Department of History, Julie Hardwick is the director of the department's Institute for Historical Studies.

Previous History Dept. recipients:
Dr. Susan Deans-Smith, 2009

Dr. Charters Wynn, 2008
Dr. David M. Oshinsky, 2006

Dr. Caroline F. Castiglione, 2003

Dr. David L. Howell, 1989

Dr. Brian P. Levack, 1989
Dr. Abraham Marcus, 1989

Bookmark and Share