History Department
History Department

Professor David Crew named to Academy of Distinguished Teachers and recipient of Liberal Arts Council's Teaching Award

Fri, May 8, 2009

The honorees were named to the academy based on recommendations from an ad hoc faculty/student committee that reviewed nominations of outstanding faculty members.

"The faculty members have earned the respect of peers, students and administrators for their outstanding teaching," said Executive Vice President and Provost Steven Leslie.

Two other faculty members named to the academy are Jayadev Misra, Department of Computer Science, and Jeffrey Hellmer, the Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music.

The academy induction ceremony and special dinner in honor of the new members will be in October. This makes the ninth History Department professor to be selected for membership into the academy.

Members of the academy will receive a permanent academic salary increase of $7,000 and will be designated as a Distinguished Teaching Professor. They will work with the Office of the Provost in providing institutional leadership and guidance for the distinctive undergraduate experience available in the research university environment. The academy members also are asked to serve as teaching mentors for new faculty when possible and to assist with other initiatives to enhance the teaching mission of the university.

Established in February 1995, the Academy of Distinguished Teachers was one of the first associations of its kind in the nation. New members of the academy are selected each year through a rigorous evaluation process. Deans of colleges and schools annually nominate faculty for membership, and a committee that includes members of the academy, students and other faculty review the nominations and recommend a slate of honorees to the provost, who makes the final selections. Honorees are awarded the title University Distinguished Teaching Professor and serve for the duration of their tenure at The University of Texas at Austin.

For the LAC award, students submitted nominations for extraordinary professors and lecturers in the college, which were then reviewed and voted on by the Academic Affairs Committee. Professors selected for the awards demonstrated an outstanding commitment to their students both within and beyond the classroom, often taking extra time to work individually with students.

In 2009, the LAC proudly reinstated this teaching award, which has been dormant for several years.

"As the Liberal Arts Council, our job is to serve as a link between students and faculty," said Tressa Westerman, chair of Academic Affairs during the selection process. "We generally fulfill that role by trying to voice students' needs and concerns to the administration, so we didn't hesitate when we found out we had an opportunity to recognize and thank some of the professors who have already impacted our lives. It's truly been an honor to present these awards."

The LAC is a student organization that represents the interests of students in the college--serving as a link between students and the college administration, faculty and professional world. Through programs, lectures and many other events, the council works to build community and diversity within the college and to create a smaller college experience at a large university.

Jessica Sinn for Academy Distinguished Teachers story; Michelle Bryant for LAC Teaching Award
Public Affairs Specialists
College of Liberal Arts
512-471-2404; 512-471-2404
sinnjessica@austin.utexas.edu; mbryant@austin.utexas.edu

Related Links:
Professor David F. Crew
Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Previous recipients of Academy of Distinguished Teachers award:
David M. Oshinsky, 2008
Toyin Falola, 2004
Brian Levack, 2004
Michael B. Stoff, 2002
Patricia S. Kruppa, 2000
Howard Miller, 1999
Wm. Roger Louis, 1998
George B. Forgie, 1995

Bookmark and Share