History Department
History Department

Prof. Louis named Kluge Chair at the Library of Congress for spring 2010

Thu, May 14, 2009

The Librarian of Congress in consultation with a Scholars Council selects people for the Kluge Chairs. Members are chosen for their scholarly accomplishment and excellent communication skills. The Chairs are given full access to the vast resources of the Library of Congress for the duration of their appointment.

Responsibilities of the Kluge Chairs are primarily to participate in meetings and conversations that are open to Members of Congress and their staff. They must also present several lectures to the general public policy community of Washington, D.C.

Kluge Chairs are defined into five general categories:

  • American Law and Governance
  • Countries and Cultures of the North
  • Countries and Cultures of the South
  • Technology and Society
  • Modern Culture
Together, these Chair categories create an exceptional group of the world's foremost thinkers. Their availability gives political leaders access to a scholarly atmosphere for dialog that is imperative in creating public policies that serve people best--drawing on the tremendous expertise these scholars provide.

Prof. Wm. Roger Louis
John W. Kluge Center at the Library of Congress

Bookmark and Share