History Department
History Department

Prof. Louis recipient of Professor of Year award

Mon, March 2, 2009

The Senate’s Professor of the Year is an award given to one tenure or tenure-track professor at the University. The Professor of the Year is someone who has demonstrated outstanding teaching ability and a commitment to their students and the University.

After accepting nominations from every college's student council, Professor Wm. Roger Louis was chosen as this year's recipient by members of the Senate.

President of the Senate of College Councils Scott Fulford and Vice-President of the Liberal Arts Council Mykel Estes presented the award to Louis at the weekly Faculty Seminar on British Studies meeting.

The $1,000 award, nominated by students in the Senate of College Councils, recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated exceptional and effective classroom instruction methods. As the Professor of the Year, Louis will be honored at the Men's Basketball game on March 2, 2009.

"Professor Louis cares about students and about his field of study," Pranav Merchant, history senior and member of the Senate of College Councils, said. "He excels in teaching and has contributed immensely to British studies. He creates a unique academic and social experience that enriches everyone who comes into contact with him."

Louis joined the history faculty at the university in 1970, where he has directed British studies since 1975. He was named a Distinguished Teaching Professor in 1998. He serves as chairman of the U.S. Historical Advisory Committee and director of the American Historical Association's National History Center.

Louis's books include Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands Since the First World War, Burnt Orange Britannia, Churchill and The Oxford History of Twentieth Century.

For more info, contact:
Chelsea Adler
Senate of College Councils Member

Related Links:
More info on Prof. Wm. Roger Louis
Senate of College Councils

Bookmark and Share