History Department
History Department

Spring 2008 Doctorate and Master of History Degrees Awarded

Fri, June 20, 2008

Master's degrees were earned by Brett Bennett, Katherine Boone, Michelle Brock, Cyrus Cousins, Chris Dietrich, Jennifer Eckel, Thomas Josephson, Storm Miller, Kelli Mosteller, Alberto Ortiz, Angela Smith, and Dan Wold.

The Department awarded nine Ph.Ds. We proudly introduce Dr. Cornelius Conover V, Dr. Sara Fanning, Dr. Timothy Forest, Dr. Matthew Heaton, Dr. Chris Hill, Dr. Adrian Howkins, Dr. Laresh Jayasanker, Dr. Roger Martinez, and Dr. Juan Romero.

Current and recent graduates have accepted teaching and research positions across North America. Matthew Heaton joins Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Va., as Assistant Professor of History. Shereen Ilahi will be Assistant Professor of History, at North Central College in Chicago. Adrian Howkins will teach at Colorado State University in Fort Collins as Assistant Professor of History. Roger Martinez will hold the Burton Post-doctoral Fellowship at St. Joseph’s University in Philadelphia. Andrew Paxman joins Millsaps College in Jackson, Miss., as Assistant Professor of History. Rais Rahman will be Assistant Professor of South Asian History at Wake Forest University, Winston- Salem, N.C. Juan Romero will hold a Post- doctoral position in Arabic Studies at Georgetown University. Jeff Rutherford will teach as Assistant Professor in History at Wheeling Jesuit University in West Virginia. Inna Shtakser will be Visiting Professor in Russian History at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia. We congratulate these scholars and look forward to news of their continued excellence far from the Forty Acres.

Spring 2008 Graduate Student Awards Recipients

The Graduate Program would like to recognize and congratulate the following departmental honors, prizes, awards, and fellowship recipients:

Lathrop Prize for Best Dissertation: Karl Brown

Perry Prize for Best Master’s Thesis: Creighton Chandler

Perry Prize Honorable Mention: Jesse Cromwell

Estep Prize for Best Seminar Paper in Latin American History: Cyrus Cousins

Casteñeda Scholarships:
Takkara Brunson
Stephen Dove
Jennifer Hoyt

Full-year History Department Fellowships for the 2008-09 Academic Year:
Amber Abbas
Jesse Cromwell
Hanan Hammad
Rob Holmes
Christelle Le Faucheur
Cheasty Miller
Zach Montz
Cristina Salinas
Sarah Steinbock-Pratt

One-semester History Department Fellowships for the 2008-09 Academic Year:
Emily Hillhouse
Jen Hoyt
Brandon Marsh
Pablo Mijangos
William Morgan
Heather Peterson
Evan Ross
Matt Tribbe
Linlin Wang
Jackie Zahn

Mary Helen Quinn Pre-Dissertation Summer Fellowships:
Cyrus Cousins
Brett Bennett
Shannon Nagy
Sundara Vadlamudi

Liberal Arts Graduate Research Grants:
Juandrea Bates
Brett Bennett
Chris Dietrich
Renata Keller
Cheasty Miller
Shannon Nagy
Claudia Rueda
Michael Schmidt
Angela Smith
Robert Whitaker

We also congratulate the following students who received awards from outside the department:

Christine Baker: Summer FLAS for Persian at UCLA; full-year FLAS for Persian at UT

Lissa Bollettino: P.E.O. Scholar Award

Anthony Bonville: NSEP David L. Boren Fellowship

Roy Doron: Lumumba Research Fellowship (CAAAS)

Jeff Parker: Fulbright-Hays (Panama)

Claudia Rueda: Ford Pre-Dissertation Fellowship

Cristina Salinas: Texas State University Summer Predoctoral Fellowship

By Kerri Lyons Neimeyer

Bookmark and Share