History Department
History Department

Academy of Distinguished Teachers selects Professor Oshinsky

Mon, June 9, 2008

The academy was established to recognize and enhance teaching at the university by selecting tenured faculty members whose years of teaching experience have made continuing and significant contributions to education, especially at the undergraduate level.

Members of the academy are chosen for their personal attention to their students and dedicated teaching. The university sees this distinction as a way to recognize professors for their contribution to an important part of its mission of continuing excellence in educating undergraduates.

As a member of the academy, Oshinsky will be designated as a Distinguished Teaching Professor. He will also work with the Provost’s office in providing institutional leadership and guidance for UT’s mission of improving the educational experience of undergraduates. Oshinsky will participate in seminars and workshops on teaching effectiveness and act as a mentor for new faculty.

His books include:
Polio: An American Story, which won the 2006 Pulitzer Prize “for a distinguished book on the history of the United States;” A Conspiracy So Immense: The World of Joe McCarthy, which won the Hardeman Prize as the best book about the U.S. Congress; Worse Than Slavery: Parchman Farm and the Ordeal of Jim Crow Justice, which won the Robert Kennedy Prize for its contribution to human rights.

He is a co-author of American Passages: A History of the United States, and a co-editor of The Oxford Companion to United States History. His articles and reviews appear regularly in the New York Times, Washington Post, and Chronicle of Higher Education.

The academy was established in February 1995 and was one of the first associations in the nation to recognize outstanding university teaching. This makes the eighth History Dept. professor to be selected for membership into the academy.

By Martha-Gail Moore

Bookmark and Share