History Department
History Department

Normandy Scholar Program holds orientation and reception

Thu, December 7, 2006

Approximately 70 NSP scholars, alumni, faculty, and patrons mingled at the Campus Club in Walter Webb Hall on Friday, November 10.

First the 2007 scholars received information about the NSP and the courses they will be taking in the spring. The reception followed, where the new scholars had hors d'oeuvres and met NSP alumni and professors.

At 6:30 the program began with a short speech from Professor Alan Tully, chair of the history department, which administers the program. Dr. Tully acknowledged the contributions of the faculty to the program, as well as the donors who support the program financially. He then introduced the new scholars to the guests.

Professor David Crew, program director, thanked the outgoing director, Professor Jean-Pierre Cauvin (of the French and Italian Department) for his many years of leadership. He also recognized the history department staff's contributions and acknowledged the NSP alumni in attendance.

He pointed to the many and varied achievements of former Normandy Scholars; one NSP alumnus is now a judge, another is a member of the State House of Representatives, and yet another is an editor on "60 Minutes" in New York. A member of the class of 2005 recently won this year's Austin City Limits 64-second film contest. Another former Normandy Scholar is now a professor at UT.

The current scholars will study World War II intensively during the spring semester, after which they will do a three-week tour of related sites in Europe, including London, Paris, Normandy, and Berlin.

Related links:
ACL 64-Second Film ContestOffsite Link

Bookmark and Share