History Department
History Department

UT President Lauds History Department

Fri, October 6, 2006

The University of Texas’s 123rd anniversary celebration on September 29 featured President Powers's installation as the university's new president.

Praising the department’s strong faculty, which includes the 2006 Pulitzer Prize recipient, Dr. David Oshinsky, Powers lauded the faculty members’ “vision of excellence and . . . harmonious professional environment.”

The new funds will go towards “six new faculty members, nationally competitive graduate stipends, and a departmental excellence fund for speakers, symposia, and visiting scholars,” Powers said. He added, “We expect great things from the Department of History” – an expectation that will no doubt be fulfilled.

"It's a great privilege to be singled out from so many fine departments and wonderful scholars," said History Department Chair Prof. Alan Tully. "But the History Department has accomplished much in the recent past, setting a pace of change and development that we intend to sustain in future years," he added. "Our faculty recognizes the trust President Powers has placed in us and, in keeping with that, we will work very hard to practice the excellence he expects and that we embrace."

Read complete inaugural addressOffsite Link
University of Texas's 123rd anniversary celebrationOffsite Link
Professor David Oshinsky

Bookmark and Share